عن مؤسسة برنارد فان لير

من نحن

نؤمن في مؤسسة برنارد فان لير، أن إعطاء جميع الأطفال بداية جيدة في الحياة على حد سواء هو الصواب الذي ينبغي القيام به، ومنحهم أفضل الأدوات لبناء مجتمعات صحية ومزدهرة وابداعية.

إننا مؤسسة خاصة تعتمد على تطوير وتبادل المعرفة حول الناجع وما يمكن فعله في مجال تنمية الطفولة المبكرة. نقدم الدعم المالي والخبرة للشركاء في الحكومة والمجتمع المدني وقطاع الأعمال للمساعدة في اختبار وتوسيع نطاق خدمات فعالة للأطفال الصغار وأسرهم.

على مدى السنوات الـ 50 الماضية، استثمرنا أكثر من نصف مليار دولار، وعملنا في جميع مناطق العالم. وقد أغنت شراكاتنا السياسات العامة في أكثر من 25 بلدا، وأدت إلى الابتكارات في مجال تقديم الخدمات والتدريب التي تم اعتمادها على نطاق واسع من قبل الحكومات والمنظمات غير الهادفة للربح، وولّدت الأفكار الرائدة التي غيّرت أسلوب تعامل وطريقة تفكير أصحاب المصلحة من الآباء إلى صناع القرار حول السنوات الأولى من حياة الطفل.

تاريخ

كان برنارد فان لير رائدا ومبادرا و بنى شركة عالمية كبيرة للتعبئة والتغليف. بعد أن شهد ما خلفته الحرب العالمية الثانية من دمار، استلهم برنارد للاستثمار في تحسين المجتمع وبنى المؤسسة في عام 1949 مع مجموعة واسعة من الأنشطة الخيرية. بعد أن توفي برنارد في عام 1958، تولى ابنه أوسكار إدارة شركة التعبئة والتغليف والمؤسسة.

لماذا الاستثمار في تنمية الطفولة المبكرة؟

قرر ابن برنارد، أوسكار، تركيز نشاط المؤسسة على الأطفال الصغار في منتصف الستينيات من القرن الماضي. واستلهم واستوحى الفكرة من أن إجراء تغييرات صغيرة في وقت مبكر على حياة شخص ما يمكن أن تُحدث تغييرا هائلا في مستقبله. كرجل أعمال، شعر أوسكار أن الاستثمار في الأطفال الصغار هو مقترح قيّم ومقنع – واحد من شأنه تحسين حالة العالم.

مذ ذاك الحين، توافرت أدلة متزايدة من مجالات الصحة العامة، علم الأعصاب، وعلم الاقتصاد أن الاستثمار في تنمية الطفولة المبكرة يمكن أن يُترجم إلى صحة أفضل، قدرة أكبر على التعلم والعمل مع الآخرين، ودخل أعلى في مرحلة البلوغ. تضع هذه الاستثمارات أسسا حاسمة من خلال:

  • ضمان أن النساء الحوامل والرضع والأطفال الصغار يحصلون على التغذية والرعاية الصحية السليمة
  • حماية الأطفال الصغار من الإهمال، والعنف الأسري والمجتمعي
  • إعطاء الرضع والأطفال الصغار فرصا كبيرة للتحفيز والرعاية والتعلم المبكرين

وعلى الرغم من توافر الأدلة الدامغة والنماذج الفعالة لتقديم الخدمات، تقدر مجلة الصحة العالمية “لانسيت” أن نحو 250 مليون طفل تحت سن الخامسة لا يحصلون على الرعاية التي يحتاجونها لتحقيق إمكاناتهم وطاقتهم الكاملة.

استراتيجيتنا لأعوام 2016-2020: الانتقال إلى نطاق واسع

بعد خمسة عقود من الاستثمار في تنمية الطفولة المبكرة، تدخل مؤسسة برنارد فان لير مرحلة جديدة، إذ أننا نؤمن أن التحدي الرئيسي هو التحول الى نطاق واسع. هناك الكثير من الأفكار لتحسين صحة الأطفال اليافعين وتغذيتهم وحمايتهم وظروف تعليمهم، والتي أثبتت جدارتها في المشاريع الصغيرة – ولكن كيف يمكننا الوصول بشكل فعّال الى مئات الآلاف أو الملايين من الأطفال؟

سوف تساعد استراتيجيتنا بالإجابة على هذا السؤال من خلال بناء شراكات في ثلاثة مجالات:

جغرافيا، ستركز استثماراتنا خلال هذه الفترة على مجموعة من الدول الأساسية المختارة لتعكس التنوع العالمي من الناحية الاقتصادية والجغرافية والثقافية. وتشمل هذه الدول البرازيل، الهند، إسرائيل، ساحل العاج (كوت ديفوار)، هولندا، البيرو، وتركيا. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإننا نطلق مبادرة إقليمية لدعم الأسر السورية النازحة قسرا في مختلف أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأوروبا.

كما نخطط لإنشاء عدد قليل من الشراكات خارج هذه المناطق الجغرافية الأساسية، حيث نرى فرصا للتعلم، تقاسم المعرفة، وإمكانية أن يكون لها تأثير تحوليّ على نطاق واسع.

حقائق عن مؤسسة برنارد فان لير

تأسست
1949

تركز على الأطفال الصغار منذ
1965

المهمة
تحسين فرص الأطفال من الولادة وحتى سن 8 الناشئين في ظروف الحرمان الاجتماعي والاقتصادي

متوسط الميزانية التشغيلية السنوية
19 مليون يورو

موقع
مقرها في لاهاي، هولندا . بالإضافة لوجود أعضاء من طاقم العاملين في البلدان الأساسية كلندن وواشنطن العاصمة.

دخلنا

في البداية، جاء دخلنا من إيرادات الشركة الملكية لصناعات التعبئة والتغليف فان لير ن. ف. بعد أن بيعت الشركة في عام 1999، تم استخدام العائدات لإنشاء الوقف، الذي يُدار من قبل مؤسسة مجموعة فان لير والتي نحصل على دخلنا منها.

مجلس الأمناء

تقع المسؤولية الائتمانية لتحقيق رؤية وهدف (مهمة) المؤسسة، كما تعبّر عنها وثائق الجمعية، على مجلس الأمناء. يشمل دور المجلس الرقابي تعيين مدير تنفيذي، تقييم أداءه، والمصادقة على الخطط الاستراتيجية والمخططات العمليّة والماليّة السنوية. يلتقي المجلس على الأقل أربع مرات بالسنة.

يتشكّل مجلس الأمناء الحاليّ من ثمانية أعضاء. يعيّن المجلس أعضاءه، والذين يخدمون لمدّة أقصاها 3 دورات من أربعة أعوام. أعضاء مجلس إدارة مؤسسة برنارد فان لير هم أيضا أعضاء مجلس إدارة مؤسسة مجموعة فان لير.

المدير التنفيذي

أمضى مايكل فيغلسون (@mfeigelson1) السنوات الخمس عشرة الأخيرة مُركزاً اهتمامه على العمل مع الحكومات والمجتمع المدني والأعمال لتحسين فرص الأطفال والشباب. انضم إلى المؤسسة كموظف برنامج عام 2007. ثم شغل مناصب مدير برنامج ثم مسؤول برنامج والمدير التنفيذي المؤقت قبل توليه منصبه الحالي.

قبل الانضمام إلى المؤسسة، عمل مايكل في مجموعة متنوعة من المناصب بما في ذلك العمل بشكل مباشر مع الأطفال والأسر المشردة في ثلاثة بلدان وكمحلل أعمال في شركة McKinsey & Co حيث ركز على وسائل الإعلام والصناعات الدوائية. حصل على درجات علمية من جامعتي Wesleyan وPrinceton، وقد تم تكريمه كزميل Thomas J. Watson، وهو عضو في مجلس البرنامج العالمي المعني بالسلوك للمنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي. والأكثر أهمية من ذلك، إنه أب لفتاة جميلة تذّكره كل يوم بالأهمية والتحديات والفرح الذي يأتي مع سنوات الطفل المبكرة.

إقرأ السيرة الذاتية الكاملة لمايكل فيغلسون

فريقنا

فريق
39 شخصا

جنسيات ممثلة
البرازيل، الإكوادور، فرنسا، الهند، إسرائيل، هولندا، بيرو، سنغافورة، اسبانيا، تايلاند، تركيا، المملكة المتحدة، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، فنزويلا.

اللغات المتحدث بها
اللغة الإنجليزية هي لغة العمل المشترك، الى جانب الهولندية والإسبانية أيضا المستخدمة يوميا في مكاتبنا في لاهاي. اللغات الأخرى المستخدمة في عملنا تشمل العبرية، الهندية، الفرنسية، الصينية الماندرينية، البرتغالية، والتركية.

في هذه الصفحة، يمكنك التعرف على فريق مؤسسة برنارد فان لير. العديد منهم يعملون من مكتبنا الرئيسي في لاهاي، هولندا، في حين يعمل آخرون حول العالم في البلدان التي نركز عملنا فيها.

الوظائف الشاغرة

للاطلاع على الوظائف الشاغرة في في مؤسسة برنارد فان لير يمكن تصفح موقعنا باللغة الإنكليزية
الوظائف الشاغرة.

مبادئ الممارسة المثلى

كعضو في اتحاد المؤسسات الأوروبية نحن ندعم ونتبنى مبادئ الممارسة المثلى لاتحاد المؤسسات الأوروبية.

مؤرقات؟

بين الفينة والأخرى قد تطفو بعض الأمورالمقلقة حول المنح، الطاقم والشركاء. اذا كانت لديك أي شكوك او مؤرقات حول مؤسسة برنارد فان لير أو أي من شركائنا وأفراد طاقمنا، يرجى التواصل مع أغنيس باوس.

سيتم التعامل مع كافة الهموم والمؤرقات بشكل سريّ. بالإمكان مشاركة الشؤون القضائية التي قد تعلو خلال أي تحقيق مع السلطات الهولندية المسؤولة أو تحويلها للسلطات المحلية في الدولة المعنيّة.

About Us

Who we are

At the Bernard van Leer Foundation, we believe that giving all children a good start in life is both the right thing to do and the best way to build healthy, prosperous and creative societies.

We are a private foundation focused on developing and sharing knowledge about what works in early childhood development. We provide financial support and expertise to partners in government, civil society and business to help test and scale effective services for young children and families.

Over the last 50 years, we have invested more than half a billion dollars and worked in all regions of the world. Our partnerships have informed public policies in more than 25 countries, led to innovations in service delivery and training that have been widely adopted by governments and non-profit organisations, and generated breakthrough ideas that have changed the way stakeholders from parents to policymakers think about the earliest years of a child’s life.

History

Bernard van Leer was an entrepreneur who built a large global packaging company. After witnessing the destruction of World War II, Bernard was inspired to invest in improving society and started the Foundation in 1949 with a wide range of philanthropic activities. After Bernard passed away in 1958, his son Oscar took over the packaging company and the Foundation.

Why invest in early childhood development?

Bernard’s son Oscar decided to focus the Foundation on young children in the mid-1960s. He was inspired by the idea that making small changes early in someone’s life could dramatically change their future. As a businessman, Oscar felt investing in young children was a compelling value proposition – one that could improve the state of the world.

Since that time, there has been increasing evidence from the fields of public health, neuroscience and economics that investing in early childhood development can translate to better health, greater ability to learn and work with others, and higher incomes in adulthood. Such investments lay a crucial foundation by:

  • Ensuring that pregnant women, babies and toddlers have access to proper nutrition and healthcare
  • Protecting young children from neglect, family and community violence
  • Giving babies and toddlers ample opportunities for early stimulation, care and learning

Despite the compelling evidence and the availability of effective models of service delivery, The Lancet global public health journal estimates 250 million children under 5 do not receive the care they need to reach their full potential.

Our 2016-2020 strategy: transition to scale

After five decades of investing in early childhood development, the Bernard van Leer Foundation is entering a new phase where we believe the major challenge is the transition to scale. Plenty of ideas to improve the youngest children’s health, nutrition, protection and learning have proven their worth in small-scale projects – but how do we effectively reach hundreds of thousands or millions of children?

Our strategy will help answer this question by building partnerships in three areas:

Geographically, our investments during this period will focus on a set of core countries selected to reflect global diversity in economic, geographic and cultural terms. These countries include Brazil, India, Israel, Côte d’Ivoire, the Netherlands, Peru and Turkey. In addition, we are launching a regional initiative to support Syrian families forcibly displaced across the Middle East and Europe.

We also plan to establish a small number of partnerships outside of these core geographies, where we see opportunities to learn, to share knowledge and to have a transformative impact at scale.

Facts about the Bernard van Leer Foundation

Founded
1949

Focused on young children since
1965

Mission
To improve opportunities for children from birth to age 8 growing up in circumstances of social and economic disadvantage

Average annual operating budget
Euro 19 million

Location
Headquartered in The Hague, The Netherlands with team members also located in core countries, London and Washington DC.

Our Income

Initially, our income came from the revenues of the Royal Packaging Industries Van Leer N.V. After the company was sold in 1999, the proceeds were used to establish an endowment, which is managed by the Van Leer Group Foundation and from which our income is derived.

Board of Trustees

The fiduciary responsibility for fulfilling the vision and mission of the Foundation, as laid down in the Articles of Association, resides with the Board of Trustees. The Board’s oversight role includes appointing the Executive Director, evaluating his performance, and approving the strategic plans and the annual financial and operational plans. The Board meets at least four times per year.

The Board of Trustees is currently composed of eight members. The Board appoints its own members, who serve a maximum of three 4-year terms. The members of the Board of the Bernard van Leer Foundation are also on the Board of the Van Leer Group Foundation.

Executive Director

Michael Feigelson (@mfeigelson1) has spent the last 15 years focused on working with governments, civil society and business to improve opportunities for children and youth. He joined the Foundation as a Programme Officer in 2007. He then held the positions of Programme Manager, Programme Director and Interim Executive Director before taking on his current role.

Prior to joining the Foundation, Michael served in a variety of positions including working directly with homeless children and families in three countries and as Business Analyst at McKinsey & Co where he focused on the media and pharmaceutical industries. He has degrees from Wesleyan and Princeton Universities, was honoured as a Thomas J. Watson Fellow and is a member of the World Economic Forum Global Agenda Council on Behaviour. Most importantly, he is the father of a beautiful baby girl who reminds him every day of the importance, the challenges, and the joy that comes with a child’s early years.

Read Michael Feigelson’s complete biography

Our team

Team
39 people

Citizenships represented
Brazil, Ecuador, France, India, Israel, The Netherlands, Peru, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, UK, USA, Venezuela.

Languages spoken
English is our common working language, with Dutch and Spanish also used daily in our Hague office. Other languages used in our work include Hebrew, Hindi, French, Mandarin, Portuguese and Turkish.

On this page you can meet the Bernard van Leer Foundation team. Many are located at our head office in The Hague, the Netherlands, while others are based around the world in the countries where we focus our work.

Vacancies

There are currently no vacancies.

Principles of Good Practice

As an EFC member we support and adhere to the EFC Principles of Good Practice.

Concerns?

From time to time concerns might arise about grants, staff and partners. If you have a concern about the Bernard van Leer Foundation, any of our partners or staff, please contact Agnes Buis.

All concerns will be handled in a confidential manner. Legal matters which may arise during the course of investigation may be shared with the appropriate Dutch authorities or referred to local authorities in the country concerned.