توسيع نطاق الزيارات المنزلية في البرازيل

مع نهاية العام 2017، زار مقدمو الزيارات المنزلية في مشروع “فيليز كريانكا” القومي البرازيلي 167,454 طفلًا و 22,946 امرأة حامل. نحو 45% من البلديات – 2,547 من أصل 5,570 – قد انضمت للبرنامج. تم إنشاء مشروع “كريانكا فيليز” من قبل وزارة التطوير الإجتماعي وبدعم من مؤسسة برنارد فان لير، جالبًة خبرتنا في مشاريع الزيارات المنزلية الى البلاد. يهدف البرنامج الى الوصول الى أكثر من 3 مليون طفل بحلول العام 2020، ليجعل منه أكبر جهد لتوسيع النطاق من هذا النوع في العالم.

دعم الوالدين يعني العمل عبر حكومات محلية

إن توسيع نطاق برامج الزيارات المنزلية لهو تحدٍ في البرازيل. مبنى الحكومات في البلاد يجعل سلطة اتخاذ القرار بين يدي حكّام على مستوى المحافظة ورؤساء بلديات محلية، وكل محافظة وبلدية تقرر أن تعرض زيارات بيتية وفيما بعد تقوم بملاءمة النموذج ليناسب قدراتها المالية، الجغرافية، والمؤسساتية. التحديات في المناطق الريفية، شبه الحضرية، والمناطق الحضرية مختلفة جدًا.

تعلمت المؤسسة العديد من الدروس المهمة من عدة أعوام من الدعم لمشاريع الزيارات البيتية في حوض الأمازون عبر “يونايتد واي” (طريق مشترك) – منطقة ذات تحديات لوجستية جمّة، ومستويات عالية جدًا من الفقر وتنوّع ثقافي غنيّ. بالأخص، هذه التجارب اوضحت أنه من الممكن تدريب العمال الاجتماعيون المختصون بالصحة، والذين ينحصر دورهم الأساسي في منع الأوبئة والأمراض كالمالاريا من التفشي، على تدريب الوالدين في شؤون ومجالات كالتغذية، التعليم المبكر وتسجيل الميلاد.

طموحات لتغطية ملايين الأطفال في أنحاء البرازيل

يواجه حوالي نصف العائلات في البرازيل ظروف الضعف الاجتماعي التي ستجعلهم مؤهلين لبرنامج كريانكا فيليز Criança Feliz ، والتي تتضمن زيارات بيتية أسبوعية من مرحلة قبل الولادة حتى الأيام الألف الأولى للطفل، تليها زيارات أقل تكرراً حتى يبدأ الطفل مرحلة ما قبل المدرسة في سن 4 سنوات. تستند منهجية الزيارات المنزلية إلى برنامج رعاية الطفولة التابع لمنظمة الأمم المتحدة للطفولة (اليونيسيف) ومنظمة الصحة العالمية.

وقد علّق أوسمار تيرا – طبيب سابق قاد الجبهة البرلمانية للطفولة المبكّرة قبل أن يصبح وزيرًا للتنمية الإجتماعية، بالقول:

“كلما فهم الناس بشكل أفضل أهمية السنوات الأولى في حياة الطفل، فهو سيدعم بشكل أكبر المشروع وسيكون له تأثير أعظم. لا يوجد أي مشروع إجتماعي يملك منسوب فوائد مقابل تكاليف أفضل من هذا البرنامج. إنه لاستثمار للمدى البعيد والذي من شأنه أن يغيّر مستقبل العائلات، ويقدم سبلًا للخروج من حياة يلمؤها العنف والفقر”.

Home visiting services scale up in Brazil

By the end of 2017, home visitors from Brazil’s national Criança Feliz programme had visited 167,454 children and 22,946 pregnant women. Around 45% of municipalities – 2547, from a total of 5570 – had signed up to the programme. Criança Feliz was set up by the Ministry of Social Development with support from the Bernard van Leer Foundation, drawing on our experience of home visiting projects in the country. The programme is aiming to reach over 3 million children by 2020, making it one of the largest-scale efforts of its kind in the world.

Supporting parents means working through local-level government

Scaling up home visiting programmes is a challenge in Brazil. The country’s structure of government puts decision-making power with state-level governors and municipal-level mayors, and each state and municipality that decides to offer home visiting then needs to customise the model to fit their financial, geographical and institutional capacities. The challenges in rural, semi-urban and urban areas are all very different.

The Foundation has learned valuable lessons from several years of support for home visiting projects in the Amazon basin through United Way – a region with especially difficult logistics, high levels of poverty and rich cultural diversity. In particular, these experiences made clear that it is possible for community health workers, whose main role is to work on preventing diseases such as malaria, to be trained to coach parents in areas such as nutrition, early learning and birth registration.

Ambitions to cover millions of children across Brazil

Around half of all families in Brazil meet conditions of social vulnerability that will make them eligible for Criança Feliz, which involves weekly home visits from before birth for the child’s first thousand days, followed by less frequent visits until the child can start preschool at the age of 4 years. The methodology for the home visits is based on the UNICEF/WHO Care for Child Development programme.

Osmar Terra, a former physician who led the Parliamentary Early Childhood Front before becoming Minister of Social Development, commented:

‘The more the public understands the importance of the first years of a child’s life, the more support the programme will have and the greater its impact will be. There is no social programme with a better ratio of benefits to costs than this one. It is a long-term investment that will change the future of families, offering pathways out of lives marked by violence and poverty.’