أول مدينة ذكية وودية للطفل في الهند

عندما أعلنت بعثة “المدن الذكية” في الهند ترتيبها للمتقدمين للحصول على الدعم في عام 2016، تصدرت بهوبانيشوار – عاصمة الولاية الهندية أوديشا – القائمة. وفي النهاية تم اختيار بهوبانيشوار بإحدى المرشحين النهائيين في حفل توزيع جوائز المدن الذكية بالعالم. تعمل المؤسسة مع حكومة المدينة والمعهد الوطني للشؤون الحضرية في الهند لبناء قدرات مخططي المدن على أن تعكس احتياجات الأطفال الصغار كلما تتجدد المدينة وتنمو.

المنشأ في هند حضرية

وفقا لتعداد عام 2011، يعيش 75237 طفل تحت سن 6 أعوام في بهوبانيشوار – ولكن المدينة تنمو بسرعة، مثل الكثيرين في الهند، مما أدى إلى نمو فوضوي تركز في المستوطنات العشوائية غير الرسمية مع بنى تحتية غير لائقة.

وتشمل المشاكل التي يواجهها الأطفال الصغار في مدينة بهوبانيشوار التغوط في العراء. صعوبة الوصول الى الحدائق. عدم وجود ممرات المشاة، إنارة الشوارع، ومسارات آمنة لعبور الطرقات. كما أن أطفال في بعض الأحياء بحاجة إلى استخدام وسائل النقل العامة ، غير الودية بالأطفال، بغرض الوصول الى أقرب مدرسة.

التخطيط لجعل المدن أفضل للأطفال

تستثمر المؤسسة 790,000 يورو على مدار ثلاث سنوات، بالتعاون مع هيئة تنمية بهوبانيشوار – وهي المسؤولة عن تطوير المدينة – وقد التزمت باستثمار 5,1 ملايين يورو إضافية.

في تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر 2016 تم الإطلاق الرسمي لمركز المدينة الذكية الصديقة للطفل لأجل مساعدة السلطة على وضع إطار التخطيط والإدارة الفعالة التي تأخذ وجهات نظر الأطفال بعين الاعتبار. وسوف تشبك وتربط الدفيئة الوطنية للمدينة الذكية الصديقة للطفل في نيودلهي، التي أنشئت أيضا من قبل المعهد الوطني للشؤون الحضرية بدعم من المؤسسة.

تدريب 100 من مخططي المدن

يقدم المركز حاليا الدعم الفني والدعم لبناء قدرات المصممين المعماريين في المناطق الحضرية العاملين على وضع خطط أحياء وخطط تطوير وتنمية إقليمية. إنه يعمل على وضع مبادئ توجيهية ومعايير لأفضل الممارسات من أجل إعلام عمليات التخطيط والموافقة بالمشاريع الجديدة، من قبل الوكالات الحكومية والمطورين من القطاع الخاص.

يساهم العمل على تحويل الأحياء الفقيرة في المدن إلى مستوطنات مع المرافق العامة اللازمة لتكون ملاءمة للعيش وصحية للأطفال: تحسين السكن؛ ملاعب آمنة، حدائق ومساحات عامة مفتوحة، مدارس ومرافق الرعاية الصحية المحلية، منالية وسهولة الوصول إلى وسائل النقل العام، والأحكام الملائمة للأطفال لإدارة حركة المرور والسلامة، مع أحقية واضحة لهم وتحسين المعابر في مفترقات الطرق، خاصة أمام المدارس.

India’s first smart and child friendly city

When India’s “smart cities” mission announced its ranking of applicants for support in 2016, Bhubaneswar – the capital of the Indian state of Odisha – topped the list. Bhubaneshwar was later named a finalist in the World Smart City Awards. The Foundation has been working with the city government and India’s National Institute of Urban Affairs to build the capacity of urban planners to reflect young children’s needs as the city regenerates and grows.

Growing up in an urban India

According to the 2011 census, 75,237 children aged under 6 lived in Bhubaneswar – but the city is growing quickly, like many in India, leading to chaotic growth concentrated on informal, slum settlements with inadequate infrastructure.

Problems faced by young children in the city of Bhubaneswar include open defecation; parks not being accessible; lack of footpaths, streetlights, and safe places to cross roads; and children in some neighbourhoods needing to use public transport, which is not child-friendly, to get to the nearest school.

Planning to make better cities for kids

The Foundation is investing 790,000 euros over three years, with the Bhubaneswar Development Authority – which is responsible for the city’s development – committing a further 5.1 million euros.

November 2016 saw the formal launch of the Child-Friendly Smart City Centre to help the authority develop an effective planning and management framework that takes children’s perspectives into account. It will link the national Child-Friendly Smart City Hub in New Delhi, also created by the National Institute of Urban Affairs with the Foundation’s support.

Training for 100 city planners

The centre is now providing technical and capacity building support to urban designers working on neighbourhood and zonal development plans. It is working to create guidelines, regulations and best practices to inform the processes of planning and approving of new projects, by government agencies and private developers.

The work will help to transform urban slums into planned settlements with the necessary public facilities to be liveable and healthy for children: improved housing; safe playgrounds, parks and open public spaces; local school and healthcare facilities; convenient access to public transport; and child-friendly provisions for traffic management and safety, with clear rights of way and improved traffic crossings, especially in front of schools.