برنامج تجريبي لللاجئين السوريين يحظى بمنحة 100 مليون دولار أمريكي

في نهاية العام 2017، منحت مؤسسة ماكأرثور منحة من 100 مليون دولار أمريكي لورشة سمسم، والصليب الأحمر الدوليّ، لأجل عمل مشترك في سوريا، العراق، الأردن، ولبنان. هذا الأمر خلق فرصة مثيرة لاستخدام برامج تجريبية للدراسة من المنزل عبر منصات الملتيميديا، والتي سبق أن موّلناها لأجل إبلاغ وتوسيع نطاق هذه المشاريع.

أخذ احتياجات الأطفال في الرد الإغاثي الانساني بعين الاعتبار

عادة ما يتم غض الطرف عن الأطفال الصغار خلال تقديم الرد الانساني والاغاثة في الأزمات. الملايين معرضون لخطر عدم إدراك إمكاناتهم التنموية، حيث أن التعرض الطويل للعنف والإجهاد والتوتر قد يكون له تأثيرات طويلة الأمد على صحتهم وتعلمهم ورفاهيتهم. ومع ذلك، يُعرف الكثير عن كيفية بناء قدرة هؤلاء الأطفال على الصمود وإعادتهم إلى المسار الصحيح.

يجد الآباء أنه يمكّنهم من معرفة ما يمكنهم فعله للحفاظ على نمو أطفالهم بشكل طبيعي قدر الإمكان. وقد ظهر ذلك من خلال قوة الاستجابة لاستبيان وزع مع نشرة من صفحة واحدة من خلال مخبز:

تكتب إحدى المستجيبات: “لقد كنت أنتظر شيئًا مفيدًا مثل هذا بعد عدم العثور على أي شخص للإجابة على أسئلتي”.

مرافعة تحالف "العقول المحرّكة" تُكمّل المشاريع التجريبية

عملنا على تأسيس تحالف “العقول المحرّكة” (Moving Minds) وهو تحالف من مؤسسات لتساهم في بناء القدرات لوكالات تطبيقية، بغية المساعدة في تطوير خدمات تنمية الطفولة المبكرّة على نطاق واسع، والمرافعة لأجل المزيد من التمويل والتركيز على ثنائية المتبرعين وتنوّع المتبرعين والحكومات في الدول المستضيفة. يشمل التحالف مؤسسات المجتمع المفتوح، مؤسسات “ايلما” الخيرية ELMA Philanthropies، كوميك ريليف Comic Relief، مؤسسة فيتول، ومؤسسة جاكوبس.

Photo: Reem AlZumi/Plan International Jordan

كما أننا قمنا بتمويل عدد من الشركاء – الى جانب الصليب الأحمر الدوليّ وورشة سمسم، يشمل برنامج “بلان انترناشيونال” Plan International و “وور تشايلد” War Child – لأجل تطوير واختبار طرق منخفضة التكاليف لدمج تدريب الوالدين في الخدمات الاغاثية. على مدار السنوات الخمس المقبلة، يهدف المشروع المموّل بـ100 مليون دولار أمريكي من منحة ماكأرثور أن يصل الى 9,4 مليون طفل عبر وسائل الإعلام العامة، و 1,5 مليون عبر خدمات منزلية ومركزية مباشرة. الهدف الأوسع هو خلق نموذج يمكن تبنيه للتطبيق في شتى الأزمات الانسانية في أنحاء العالم.

من جانبها، تقول كاتي مورفي – المستشارة التقنية الرفيعة للجنة الصليب الأحمر الدوليّ بشؤون تنمية الطفولة:

“كان للدعم من برنارد فان لير دورًا فعالًا في المرحلة الاستهلالية لشراكتنا مع ورشة سمسم Sesame وفي تجريب برامج الأبوة والأمومة في المنطقة – وهو العمل الذي خدم كأساس لاقتراحنا وساعدنا في النهاية على وضعنا بمكانة للفوز بمنحة ماكأرثور MacArthur “.

Pilot for Syrian refugees wins US$100m grant

At the end of 2017, the MacArthur Foundation awarded a USD 100 million grant to Sesame Workshop and the IRC for joint work in Syria, Iraq, Jordan and Lebanon. This has created an exciting opportunity to use the learning from home visiting and multimedia pilots we had already funded to inform the effort to take these programmes to scale.

Considering young children’s needs in humanitarian response

Young children are commonly overlooked in humanitarian responses to crisis situations. Millions are at risk of not realising their development potential, as prolonged exposure to violence and stress has potentially long-lasting impacts on their health, learning and well-being. Yet much is known about how to build the resilience of these children and get them back on track.

Parents find it empowering to know what they can do to keep their children’s development on as normal a path as possible. This was shown by the strength of response to a questionnaire, distributed along with a one-page leaflet via a bakery:

‘I have been waiting for something useful like this after not finding anyone to answer my questions,’ writes one respondent.’

Moving Minds Alliance advocacy complements pilot projects

We worked to set up the Moving Minds Alliance, a coalition of foundations to help build the capacity of implementing agencies to deliver early child development services at scale, and to advocate for more funding and focus from bilateral and multilateral donors and host country governments. The alliance includes Open Society Foundations, ELMA Philanthropies, Comic Relief, Vitol Foundation and Jacobs Foundation.

Photo: Reem AlZumi/Plan International Jordan

We have also funded several partners – alongside the IRC and Sesame, also including Plan International and War Child – to develop and test cost-effective ways of incorporating parent coaching into humanitarian services. Over the next five years, the programme funded by the US$100m MacArthur grant aims to reach 9.4 million children via mass media, and 1.5 million through home-based and centre-based direct services. The broader goal is to create a model that can be adapted for humanitarian crises throughout the world.

Katie Murphy, the IRC’s Senior Technical Advisor in Early Childhood Development, says:

‘Support from the Bernard van Leer Foundation was instrumental in the inception phase of our partnership with Sesame and in the piloting of parenting programmes within the region – work that served as the foundation of our proposal and ultimately helped position us to win the MacArthur grant.’