هولندا

لدى مؤسسة برنارد فان لير، المتمركزة في هولندا، تاريخ ناصع من العمل في البلاد في مناهج التعليم المبكر، المنالية للرعاية الصحية للاطفال ومنع الإساءة للأطفال. منذ تبني الاستراتيجية الجديدة في 2015، انتقل تركيزنا من رد الفعل على الأحداث الى منع هذه الأحداث للوقاية والتدخل لأجل الأطفال الصغار (من الحمل حتى سن الثالثة). نحن نؤمن أن التدخلات في هذه المرحلة الحيوية والبرامج قد يكون لها أثر مستديم على صحة وسعادة الأطفال. لتحقيق أهدافنا، نعمل مع مؤسسات المجتمع المدني، والحكومات على المستويين المحلي والقومي، والقطاع الخاص.

برنامجنا “الآباء+” Parents+ يدعم بعض المبادرات التي ثبتت نجاعتها في الوصول وتدريب الوالدين، وهي جاهزة لتوسيع نطاقها. في امستردام، على سبيل المثال، نعمل عن كثب مع البلدية لتوسيع نطاق والاستمرار بتطوير استراتيجية “الأيام الألف الأولى” من قبل مبادرة الوزن الصحيّ، وهي توجّه مدمج لمحاربة الوزن الزائد في الطفولة، كما أننا نبحث توسيع نطاق هذا التوّجه خارج أمستردام.

بدءًا منذ 2018، سنركّز على تحويل الخدمات القائمة الداعمة للوالدين من الحمل عبر الأيام الألف الأولى. نحن ندعم العديد من البلديات في تطوير وتطبيق وترسيخ، سياسة متكاملة للأيام الألف الأولى، تربط بين الصحة والمجال العام والمجال الاجتماعي بدلاً من مجرد دعم البلديات لتوسيع نطاق تدخل محدد. التعلم المتبادل بين البلديات هنا هو المفتاح. علاوة على ذلك، نحن مستمرون في دعمنا لمبادرة جديدة تركز على تحسين جودة دعم الأبوة والأمومة للاجئين مع الأطفال الصغار.

يبحث مشروعنا أوربان 95، في الدعمن للعائلات الشابة من منظور تخطيطي حضري، مع التركيز ليس على الأمان وحسب، بل أيضًا – على سبيل المثال – حول كيف بوسع تخطيط المدينة أن يساهم في تطوير شبكات اجتماعية غير منهجية. بالتعاون مع جامعة أيندهوفن للتكنولوجيا، صممنا دورة تدريبية للخريجين حول التخطيط الحضري وتنمية الطفولة المبكّرة.

في الختام، نقوم ضمن مشروعنا “لبنات البناء”، بمشاركة قصتنا حول الأسباب لايلاء هولندا أهمية كبرى للاستثمار في الأيام الألف الأولى للطفل. الهدف الأسمى هو ضمان المزيد من الاستثمارات القومية والمزيد من القيادة من البلديات في ظل مسؤولياتهم المتزايدة، يشمل المنع. بدءًا من 2015، عملنا مع نساء م.ض. WomenINC، مؤسسة روتجرز Rutgers foundation، والمجلس حول الأبوّة في جامعة أمستردام على موضوع توسيع الإجازة مدفوعة الأجر للآباء وزيادة تدخلهم وانخراطهم في حياة أطفالهم. نتيجة ذلك، أعلنت حكومة هولندا تمديد إجازة الأبوّة في 2017، لتمدد إجازة أبوّة مدفوعة الاجر 100% من يومين الى خمسة أيام في 2019. بدءًا من تموز/ يوليو 2020، سيحصل الآباء/ الشركاء، على 5 أسابيع إضافية بنسبة مدفوعة الأجر 70%، لتستغل في الأشهر الست الأولى من ولادة الطفل.

سوف ينصب تركيزنا هذا العام على التطبيق الصحيح لهذا الملحق للقانون والإضافات المحتملة لتشمل التركيز على الرعاية الفردية (عائلات أحادية الوالدين)، والأجر الكامل للأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض، والإجازة للمقاولين المستقلين. ثانيًا، هناك حاجة للتغيير الثقافي لدى الرجال/ الشركاء كي يأخذوا الإجازة، خصوصًا في سوق العمل.

Netherlands

Headquartered in the Netherlands, the Bernard van Leer Foundation has a long history of working in the country on early learning methodologies, access to childcare and preventing child abuse. Since the adoption of our new strategy in 2015, our focus has shifted from reactive to more preventive care and interventions for young children (pregnancy until the age of three). We believe it is in this crucial period that interventions and programmes can have the largest impact on the health and happiness of children. To achieve our goals, we work together with civil society organisations, governments on the local and national level, and the private sector.

Our Parents+ programme supports several initiatives that have proved their effectiveness in reaching and coaching parents, and are ready to be taken to scale. In Amsterdam, for example, we work closely with the municipality to scale and further develop the “first 1000 days” strategy of the Amsterdam Healthy Weight Initiative, an integrative approach focused on childhood obesity, and we are exploring scaling the approach outside of Amsterdam.

From 2018, our main focus is to transform existing services supporting parents from pregnancy through the first 1000 days. We support diverse municipalities to develop, implement and anchor an integrated first 1000 days policy that connects the medical, public health and social domain rather than just supporting municipalities scaling a specific intervention. Cross-learning between municipalities here is key. Furthermore, we are continuing our support for a new initiative focused on improving the quality of parenting support for refugees with young children.

Our Urban95 programme looks at support for young families from an urban planning point of view, focusing not only on safety but also – for example – on how city design can contribute to the development of informal social networks. Together with the Eindhoven University of Technology, we have designed a course for graduates on urban planning and early childhood development.

Finally, within our Building Blocks programme, we share the story of why investing in children’s first 1000 days is so important for the Netherlands. The ultimate objective is to secure more national investment and more leadership from municipalities in light of their increased responsibilities, including prevention. Starting in 2015, we worked with WomenINC, the Rutgers foundation and the Chair on Fatherhood at the University of Amsterdam on the topic of expanding paid leave for fathers and increasing their involvement in their children’s lives. As a result, the Dutch government announced an extension of paid paternity leave in 2017, extending 100% paid paternity leave from 2 to 5 days from 2019. As of July 2020, fathers/partners will receive another 5 weeks at 70% pay, to be taken in the first 6 months after birth.

Our focus this year will be the proper implementation of the extension into law and potential additions to include a focus on solo-care, full pay for low-income families, and leave for independent contractors. Secondly, a cultural change is needed for men/partners to take up the leave, especially in the workforce.