استجابة للاجئين

ضغط أن تتحوّل وأن تكون لاجئًا قد تكون له تداعيات وآثار مزمنة على تنمية الأطفال الصغار – وليس فقط في اختبار حياة العنف، ولكن أيضًا بالتالي، بعدم اليقين أو الاستمرار بحياة في مخيم أو دولة جديدة. تشير الأدلة الى أن الأهالي ومقدمي الرعاية يستطيعون التخفيف من الآثار السلبية وتعزيز قدرة أطفالهم على الصمود – ولكن الكبار أنفسهم يحتاجون في كثير من الأحيان إلى الدعم. باشرنا بمبادرة اللاجئين في عام 2016، بغية استكشاف كيفية بالإمكان تطبيق عمل برنامج الآباء+ +Parents في دمج التدريب بالخدمات القائمة على اللاجئين، مع التركيز في بادئ الأمر على الأردن، لبنان، وهولندا.

Photo: IRC / Katelin Wilton

شراكتنا المبكرة تشمل بلان انترناشيونال الأردن Plan International Jordan، مع برامج تجريبية لتدريب الوالدين في مخيم الأزرق للاجئين، ومراكز الطفل والأم في المجتمعات المضيفة، و “وور تشايلد” هولندا War Child Holland، التي تختبر برامج الصحة النفسية المطوّرة حديثًا للوالدين في لبنان. كما أننا ندعم ورشة سمسم Sesame Workshopوالصليب الأحمر الدوليّ IRC لتجريب شراكة جديدة لتطوير مضامين تعليمية بالصوت والصورة للأطفال اللاجئين، ونعمل على الانتقال الى توسيع نطاق برنامج الزيارات المنزلية للعائلات من قبل الصليب الأحمر الدوليّ، ليشمل خدمات قائمة بمجالات الصحة، الحماية والتربية والتعليم. في أواخر العام 2017، فازت ورشة سمسم والصليب الأحمر على منحة بقيمة 100 مليون دولار أمريكي من مؤسسة ماكأرثور، لتوسيع نطاق الزيارات المنزلية، ومضامين تربوية تركّز على الطفل في أنحاء سوريا، العراق، الأردن، ولبنان، لتصل الى ما مجموعه 9,4 مليون طفل في السنوات الخمس المقبلة.

Photo: Sesame Workshop / Ryan Heffernan

كما أننا ساعدنا في تأسيس ائتلاف “العقول المحرّكة” (Moving Minds)، بهدف تحفيز جودة أفضل، المزيد من التمويل وجودة أعلى لخدمات الطفولة المبكرة المقدمة للعائلات المتأثرة من الأزمات. يعمل الائتلاف على تنسيق، مشاركة المعرفة المكتسبة في صفوف الوكالات المطبقة والمقدمة خدمات الطفولة المبكرة وبناء قدراتها في سياقات الأزمات. كما أنها تترافع لأجل تسليط الضوء على أصغر اللاجئين امام ناظري كبار المتبرعين وصانعي السياسات، لإدماجهم في الجهود الانسانية وسياسات ومعايير التكامل. أعضاء هذا الائتلاف هم: مؤسسات المجتمع المفتوح OSF، إيلما ريليف Elma Relief، مؤسسة فيتول Vitol Foundation، كوميك ريليف Comic Relief ، ومؤسسة جاكوبس Jacobs Foundation.

Refugee response

The stress of both becoming and being a refugee can have long-lasting impacts on young children’s development – not only the experience of violence, but also the subsequent uncertainty of life in a camp or a new country. Evidence suggests that parents and caregivers can mitigate the negative effects and promote their children’s resilience – but the adults themselves often need support. We began our refugee initiative in 2016, to explore how our Parents+ work – integrating parent coaching into existing services – could apply to refugee populations, with an initial focus on Jordan, Lebanon and the Netherlands.

Photo: IRC / Katelin Wilton

Our early partnerships include Plan International Jordan, with pilots on parent coaching in Azraq refugee camp and in Mother and Child health centres in the host community, and War Child Holland, testing a newly developed mental health programme for parents in Lebanon. We supported Sesame Workshop and the IRC to pilot a new partnership to develop educational multimedia content for refugee children, and are working on the transition to scale of IRC home visits for families into existing health, protection and education services. Late in 2017, Sesame Workshop and IRC won a USD100 million grant from the MacArthur Foundation to scale up home visits, centre-based childcare and educational content across Syria, Iraq, Jordan and Lebanon, reaching a total of 9.4 million children in the next 5 years.

Photo: Sesame Workshop / Ryan Heffernan

We also helped to set up the Moving Minds Alliance, with the aim of catalysing greater coverage, quality and financing for early childhood services for families affected by crisis. It works to coordinate, share learning among and build the capacity of agencies implementing early childhood services in crisis contexts. And it advocates to put the youngest refugees on the radar of major donors and policymakers, and incorporate them into humanitarian and integration policies and standards. Members of the alliance include OSF, Elma Relief, Vitol Foundation, Comic Relief and Jacobs Foundation.