شؤون الطفولة المبكرة 2018

تغيير النظام الإنساني للأطفال الصغار الذين يعيشون في النزاعات والأزمات

دايفد ميليباند-الرئيس والمدير التنفيذي، سارة سميث-المديرة الأولى للتعليم، كايتي ميرفي-المستشارة التقنية الاولى لتنمية الطفولة المبكرة، اللجنة الدولية للإغاثة، نيويورك، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

يحتاج النظام الإنساني إلى تغييرات جذرية لمواجهة الاحتياجات العاجلة التي لم تتم تلبيتها لملايين الأطفال الصغار الذين يعيشون في النزاعات والأزمات. أولاً، يجب الاعتراف بتنمية الطفولة المبكرة كأولوية “منقذة للحياة” في كل استجابة انسانية. ثانياً، يجب على المنظمات الإنسانية توفير أدلة مُعبرة على نجاح العمل ولماذا ولمن وما هي تكلفة البرامج الأكثر تأثيراً. ثالثاً، يجب على المنظمات الخيرية الاستمرار في تمويل ملف تنمية الطفولة المبكرة والاستثمار فيه، لضمان تلقي الاهتمام والدعم الذي يحتاجه لأجل تغيير دائم.

86.7 مليون طفل تحت سن السابعة حول العالم، يعيشون وسط الحرب والفوضى (يونيسيف، 2016). من سوريا إلى بنغلادش، جنوب السودان إلى النيجر، شَهِد هؤلاء الأطفال أو جربوا العنف المروِّع والكوارث والفقدان. أُجبر الكثيرين على ترك منازلهم ومدارسهم ومجتمعاتهم لإيجاد مأوى في مستوطنات مؤقتة أو مباني مهجورة أو في المخيمات. تشير مجموعة متزايدة من الأبحاث إلى المسار المحتمل لهؤلاء الأطفال. تُهدد المِحن المُضاعفة الملازمة لظروف الحرب والكوارث والنزوح التطور الصحي ويمكن أن تُغيّير أسلوب بناء العقل والعملية الجينية وجوهر النُظُم الفيسيولوجية بشكل نهائي (بلاك وأخرون.، 2017). تشمل العواقب على سوء نواتج التعلُّم وانخفاض المكاسب الاقتصادية وزيادة انتشار الأمراض والوفاة المبكرة، مما لا يؤثر على حياة الأطفال فقط ، بل على ازدهار ورفاه واستقرار الأجيال القادمة عموماً.

العِلم واضح: دون العناية بالرعاية بما في ذلك العلاقات الثابتة والمُستجيبة بين البالغين وفرص التعلم والاستكشاف، فإن مستقبل الأطفال الذين يعيشون الصراعات والأزمات سيكون كئيباً. قامت سلسة لانسليت المعنية بأمور تنمية الطفولة المبكرة عام 2016 بتسليط الضوء على التدخلات ذات التكلفة المؤثرة والقائمة على الأدلة التي بإمكانها تحسين مسار حياة الأطفال المحرومين في عدة محيطات معقدة وقليلة الموارد (بريتو وآخرون.، 2017). لعل الأهم، قيام السلسلة بعرض نداء صارم للعمل لمواجهة الاحتياجات المُلحّة التي لم تتم تلبيتها للأطفال الصغار في المحن، مستفيدة من التقدم الغير عادي الذي حققه علم تنمية الطفولة المبكرة على مدى عقود من البحث الدقيق.

استجاب المجتمع الإنساني الدولي في السنوات القليلة الماضية دعوة إلى العمل، مشيراً إلى الحاجة لتدخلات تنمية الطفولة المبكرة لكسر حلقة الفقر وعدم المساواة والعوائق. قال جيم يونغ كيم رئيس البنك الدولي: “من الواضح بأننا لن نستطيع أن نصل لأهدافنا من إنهاء الفقر المدقع ودعم الازدهار المشترك إلا إذا ساعدنا كل طفل للوصول إلى إمكانياته/إمكانياتها الكاملة” (كيم، 2017: 16). الشراكات الرئيسية والشبكات العالمية مثل شبكة عمل تنمية الطفولة المبكرة، وتحسين مستوى التغذية، والشراكة العالمية من أجل العنف ضد الأطفال، ومنظمة الصحة العالمية، تعمل على تنمية نطاق العناية بالرعاية وكلها تلعب دوراً مهماَ. ومع ذلك، وعلى الرغم من زيادة الاهتمام بأهمية تنمية الطفولة المبكرة في حالات الحرمان فإن احتياجات الأطفال الصغار الذين يعيشون في أقسى ظروف الأزمات والصراعات لا تزال مهملة.

كان قرار مؤسسة جون دي وكاثرين تي ماك-آرثر مؤخراً بمكافأة ورشة سمسم واللجنة الدولية للإغاثة ب100 مليون دولار لإنشاء أكبر مبادرة في تاريخ الاستجابة الإنسانية لتنمية الطفولة المبكرة في الشرق الأوسط، بمثابة نقلة هائلة. هذا الاستثمار الهام مبني على التمويل المبكر المقدم من مؤسسة بيرنارد فان لير ومؤسسات المجتمع المفتوح، وسوف يصل هذا الدعم إلى 9.4 مليون طفل في سوريا والعراق والأردن ولبنان على مدى 5 سنوات، حيث يحتوي على وسائط متعددة جذّابة صُممت لتعكس واقع الأطفال الصغار في شتى أنحاء المنطقة. سيصل البرنامج إلى 1.5 مليون من أكثر الأطفال تأثراً عبر الخدمات المباشرة التي تتماشى مع توصيات سلسلة مجلة لانسيت عام 2016 حول تنمية الطفولة المبكرة، ويتضمن ذلك أيضاً تقديم الدعم لمُقدمي الرعاية، عبر الزيارات المنزلية وجلسات المجموعات والهواتف المحمولة، لمساعدتهم على توفير العناية بالرعاية وحثهم على التخفيف من آثار التوتر والعنف والتشرد خلال أول 1000 يوم من حياة الطفل، وإنشاء مراكز التعليم المبكر الرسمية وغير الرسمية لتوفير تعليم عالي الجودة مبني على اللعب لثاني 1000 يوم. ستقوم شراكتنا بهذا الاستثمار الرائع بتحويل اللغة والقراءة المبكرة والرياضيات والمهارات الاجتماعية العاطفية لجيل من الأطفال المتضررين من الحرب السورية.

لكن لتحقيق تأثير دائم للأطفال الصغار الذين يعيشون في مناطق الأزمات حول العالم، يجب أن يُقابل استثمار مؤسسة ماك-آرثر بتغييرات جذرية في النظام الإنساني. أولاً، يجب الاعتراف بتنمية الطفولة المبكرة كأولوية “منقذة للحياة” في أي استجابة انسانية. ثانياً، يجب فرض برامج وتمويلها لتوليد أدلة مُعبرة على ماهية العمل الناجح ولماذا وكيف وبأي سياق وبأي تكلفة. ثالثاً، يجب أن يستمر عمل الخير كمثال يُحتذى به لقيادة استثمار واسع النطاق من المؤسسات الحكومية والمؤسسات متعددة الأطراف.

الصورة: ميرتو كوتوليا/ اللجنة الدولية للإغاثة

تنمية الطفولة المبكرة كتدخل منقذ للحياة

يقوم صندوق الأمم المتحدة للاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ بتعريف البرامج الإنسانية المنقذة للحياة والبرامج الرئيسية بأنها “الإجراءات التي تقوم خلال فترة زمنية قصيرة بعلاج أو تخفيف أو تجنب الخسائر المباشرة في الأرواح أو الأذى الجسدي والنفسي أو التهديد للتعداد السكاني أو جزء كبير منه و/أو حماية كرامتهم” (صندوق الأمم المتحدة للاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ، 2010). أثبت المجتمع العلمي مراراً وتكراراً بأن الدماغ يكون في أعلى دراجات الحساسية للمحن خلال السنوات الأولى من الحياة؛ لأن هذه المحن تهدد الصحة بشكل فوري وطويل الأجل، كما تهدد التأهيل الأكاديمي والرفاه الاقتصادي، وأن تقديم هذه الخدمات القائمة على الأدلة للأطفال الصغار يمكن أن تخفف من آثار المحن. ويمكن اتخاذ هذه الإجراءات المنقذة للحياة لحماية وتخفيف وتجنب الضرر الجسدي والنفسي للأطفال الصغار. وعلى الرغم من ذلك، النظام الإنساني لا يعطي الأولوية لبرامج الطفولة المبكرة في الاستجابة الإنسانية. التمويل هو إحدى المؤشرات، حيث أنه من إجمالي التمويل الإنساني الذي تم تلقيه عام 2016، ما نسبته أقل من 2% تم تخصيصها للتعليم، والتي تم تخصيص جزء صغير منها فقط للطفولة المبكرة (خدمة التتبُّع المالي الأمم المتحدة – مكتب تنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية، 2018ب).

الأزمة الحالية في ميانمار وبنغلادش هي مثال حي على هذا. منذ آب 2017 لاذ ما يقارب 670 ألف لاجئ من الروهينغا، منهم 60% من الأطفال، بالفرار إلى بنغلادش من ميانمار (مجموعة التنسيق بين القطاعات، 2018). لقد عاث النزوح الجماعي والعنف والمرض والدمار خراباً على حياة هؤلاء الأطفال. وتشمل خطة الاستجابة الإنسانية بالالتزام بتوفير المأوى والغذاء والخدمات الصحية الأساسية – وهي الخدمات الأساسية لضمان بقاء هؤلاء الأطفال على المدى القصير، وتشمل أيضاً التزامات واستراتيجيات للاتصالات الطارئة والتنسيق والدعم اللوجستي. مع ذلك وعلى الرغم مما نعلمه عن آثار تجاهل الأطفال الصغار المُهَدِدة للحياة، فإن خطة الاستجابة الإنسانية لا تُقدّم إي التزام صريح بتنمية الطفولة المبكرة. اعتباراً من شباط 2018، تلقى قطاع التعليم أقل من 6% من التمويل الذي طلبه (خدمة التتبُّع المالي الأمم المتحدة – مكتب تنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية، 2018أ). 332,650 طفل، عدد صاعق من الأطفال لا تصلهم خدمة التعليم، أي ما يقارب 75% من الأطفال المحتاجين (مجموعة التنسيق بين القطاعات، 2018). تنمية الطفولة المبكرة تنقذ الحياة وتقدم فوائد طويلة المدى، وعلى الرغم من ذلك فإن قصة أطفال الروهينغا تُثبت بأن المجتمع الإنساني ومموليه ينظرون إلى تنمية الطفولة المبكرة وخدمات التعليم على أنها برامج ذات أولوية منخفضة في الاستجابة الإنسانية. هذا يمكن تغييره ويجب علينا ذلك.

أدلة لتنمية الطفولة المبكرة في حالات الطوارئ

يحتاج تعزيز الاستثمار في تنمية الطفولة المبكرة في المراحل الخطرة لمجموعة أدلة أكثر إقناعاً في هذه السياقات، مما يبرهن بأن هذه البرامج ممكنة فعلاً ومؤثرة. حددت المراجعة الحديثة للدراسات التقييمية التي أُجريت خلال السنوات السبع عشرة الماضية أربع دراسات فقط عن تقييمات أثر الطفولة المبكرة وغياب تام لأبحاث التنفيذ في السياقات الإنسانية (مورفي وآخرون.، في الصحافة). وهذا يسلّط الضوء على الفارق الكبير بين الاستثمارات في الأبحاث في السياقات المستقرة مقارنة بالأبحاث لبرامج الطفولة المبكرة في حالات الأزمات.

بالرغم من التعقيدات الكبيرة في المناطق المتأثرة بالأزمات مثل بانغلادش والنيجر وجنوب السودان والشرق الأوسط، لقد أثبتت اللجنة الدولية للإغاثة بأن البحث الدقيق من هذا النوع هو أساسي وقابل للتنفيذ أيضاً.

لدى اللجنة الدولية للإغاثة حالياً 28 دراسة دقيقة لبرامجنا، وقمنا بأول تجربة عشوائية ومراقبة في العالم للبرامج الوالدية وبرامج التعلم الاجتماعي العاطفي في أوضاع ما بعد الصراع واللجوء (سيم وآخرون.، 2014؛ آبر وآخرون.، 2017). لقد تعلمنا من خلال هذه التجربة بأنه ليكون البحث مفيداً للبرامج ولصانعي السياسات يجب أن يُجيب عن أسئلة حول التأثير – هل نجح البرنامج- بالإضافة إلى كيف تكون البرامج مؤثرة، وعلى من تؤثّر وما التكلفة ليكون لها تأثيراً. يجب أن يبدأ البحث قبل بدء المشروع، لتقييم احتياجات وموارد الأطفال والعائلات والاختبار والتعديل السريع للاستراتيجيات الموجودة لتكون عملية وقابلة للتنفيذ ضمن ظروف إنسانية محددة. وبمجرد أن تكون نماذج البرامج ومحتواها ملائمة ومنقّحة، ستقوم البحوث التنفيذية بالتقاط ما إذا كان يتم تقديم البرنامج بجودة عالية وما هي تكلفته. يمكن لاحقاً لتقييمات التأثير الصارمة أن تحدد ما إذا كانت البرامج حقاً ذات تأثير. بالنسبة لتنمية الطفولة المبكرة في أوضاع الأزمات –وهو قطاع يفتقر للتنفيذ والأدلة العملية- فإن هذا المزيج من الاختبارات السريعة والتنفيذ الدقيق وتحليل التكاليف وتقييم الأثر هو أمر ضروري.

دور العمل الخيري

يمتلك صنّاع الخير فرصة مميزة ليكونوا قادة في الاستثمار وتأييد تنمية الطفولة المبكرة وإعادة تشكيل الاستجابة الإنسانية. إن الهدف بسيط: أن تكون تنمية الطفولة المبكرة ركيزة أساسية في كل استراتيجية استجابة في حالات الأزمات والنزاعات. أظهرت مؤسسة ماك-آرثر بأنه يمكن لعمل الخير أن يوفر استثمار ومدى هائلين، متجاوزاً مستوى أي برنامج طفولة مبكرة موجود في الاستجابة الإنسانية. لن يصل هذا الاستثمار إلى عدد غير مسبوق من الأطفال فحسب، بل سيحفز المؤسسات العامة على تحديد الأولويات واتخاذ الإجراءات بأنفسهم. في ذات الوقت، يجب على المنظمات الخيرية البناء على الزخم الحالي وتحديد استراتيجيات عملية تؤدي إلى تغيير منهجي. تتضمن الخطوات المهمة لتحقيق هذا الهدف اجتماعاً للقادة العالميين والخبراء في مجال تنمية الطفولة المبكرة ووضع البرامج الإنسانية: للدعم والاستثمار في البحوث المتعلقة بتنمية الطفولة المبكرة في حالات الأزمات والنزاعات، نشر الأبحاث وترجمة الأدلة لصانعي وممارسي السياسات، والضغط لتكرار وتوسيع نطاق تنمية الطفولة المبكرة في حالات الطوارئ و الظروف الإنسانية في جميع أرجاء العالم.

خاتمة

قامت مؤسسة ماك-آرثر بعمل شيء استثنائي. خلال خمس سنوات، ستكون ورشة عمل سمسم واللجنة الدولية للإغاثة قد قدّمت خدمات تحويلية لمليون ونصف طفل متضرر من الأزمة السورية، وسيختبر 9.4 مليون طفل ومقدم رعاية برامج تعليمية متعددة الوسائط ذات مستوى عالمي. معاً وبالإضافة إلى مركز( تحويل وتدخل وفعاليّة وتوسُّع عالمي للأطفال) من جامعة نيويورك، سنقوم بتوفير دليلاً دامغاً على برمجة تنمية الطفولة المبكرة في الصراعات والأزمات، وسنستخدم هذا الدليل لإثراء التأقلم والتكرار لبرامج حالات الصراعات والأزمات حول العالم. ويجب أن تكون هذه هي البداية فقط. يكون النجاح عندما تُشمل برمجة تنمية الطفولة المبكرة في أول أيام للاستجابة في حالات طوارئ، وعندما يتم تنفيذ نماذج البرامج من حيث التكلفة والتأثير عبر مجموعة من الأزمات والصراعات وما بعد الصراعات والظروف الهشة، وعندما تكون مدة البرامج أطول من 18 شهر، وعندما تكون نتيجة الاستثمار في أبحاث البرنامج هي إنشاء قاعدة أدلة قوية ومتنامية باستمرار حول كيفية تغيير مسار الملايين من الأطفال الصغار الذين يعيشون في الصراعات والأزمات حول العالم. النجاح سيكون عندما يستطيع كل طفل صغير متضرر بصراع أو بأزمة الوصول إلى خدمات الطفولة المبكرة التي يحتاجها للبقاء والازدهار.

يمكن العثور على المراجع في نسخة الPDF من المقالة.

في هذا العدد من "شؤون الطفولة المبكرّة" تجدون أيضًا

Think Future – a gathering of unlike minds in support of early years innovation Innovation Edge is a grantmaking and investment platform focused on the early years. We source and support unconventional ideas that seek to positively transform foundational life experiences for the 4… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
IDELA: leveraging child-centred evidence to change policy, practice and investment As investments in young children increase, fundamental questions remain about which approaches will produce the best outcomes for the most children. Holistic and common metrics are needed to meaningfully compare… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Childcare from the perspective of women informal workers Women informal workers across the world have set out their demands for quality public childcare services through a campaign organised by the research-action-policy network WIEGO (Women in Informal Employment: Globalizing… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Moving the needle on employer- supported childcare: from business case research to action In both developed and developing countries, new parents facing the challenge of accessing reliable and quality childcare often have to make a difficult decision – whether to stay in the… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Why water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) are fundamental to early childhood development WaterAid is an international not-for-profit organisation fighting to make clean water, decent toilets and good hygiene normal for everyone, everywhere. We transform millions of lives every year. But why is… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Pollution and child development Pollution is the largest environmental cause of disease and death in the world today. Pollution is responsible for 9 million deaths per year – 16% of all deaths worldwide –… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Lifelong impact of nutrition in the first thousand days after conception Chronic non-communicable diseases such as Type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease and obesity are reaching epidemic proportions worldwide, accompanied by severe impairment of quality of life and huge cost of medical… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
It takes a city: making early childhood a strategic priority in Tel Aviv When our Urban95 programme began to work with the Municipality of Tel Aviv-Yafo, we initially thought about what programmes and activities the municipality might implement. We have since come to… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
É preciso o apoio de toda uma cidade: primeira infância é prioridade estratégica em Tel Aviv Quando nosso programa Urban95 começou a atuar em conjunto com o município de Tel Aviv-Yafo, primeiramente consideramos quais programas e atividades a administração municipal poderia implementar. Desde então, entendemos que… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Urban95: criando cidades para os mais jovens As cidades podem ser lugares maravilhosos para crescer, mas podem também apresentar sérios obstáculos para o desenvolvimento saudável das crianças. A iniciativa Urban95 da Fundação Bernard van Leer pretende promover… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"

Early Childhood Matters 2018

Changing the humanitarian system for young children living in conflict and crisis

David W. Miliband, President and CEO, Sarah Smith, Senior Director – Education, Katie Murphy, Senior Technical Advisor – Early Childhood Development, International Rescue Committee, New York, USA

Radical changes to the humanitarian system are needed to address the urgent, unmet needs of millions of young children living in conflict and crisis. First, early childhood development must be recognised as a ‘life-saving’ priority in every humanitarian response. Second, humanitarian organisations must generate meaningful evidence on what works as well as why, for whom and at what cost programmes are most effective. Third, philanthropic organisations must continue to raise the profile of and invest in early childhood development, ensuring it receives the attention and support needed for lasting change.

Around the world, 86.7 million children under the age of 7 have lived their entire lives amid war and chaos (UNICEF, 2016). From Syria to Bangladesh, South Sudan to Niger, these children have witnessed or experienced horrific violence, disaster and loss. Many have been forced to leave their homes, schools and communities to find shelter in temporary settlements, abandoned buildings or camps. A growing body of research points to the likely trajectory for these children. Compounding adversities inherent in conditions of war, disaster and displacement threaten healthy development and can permanently alter brain architecture, epigenetic processes and core physiological systems (Black et al., 2017). The consequences include poor learning outcomes, reduced economic earnings, increased morbidity and early mortality, which in turn affect not only the lives of individual children, but the prosperity, well-being and stability of future generations and societies at large.

The science is clear: without nurturing care, including consistent, responsive adult relationships and opportunities to learn and explore, the future for children living in conflict and crisis is bleak. The 2016 Lancet Series on Early Childhood Development highlights cost-effective, evidence-based interventions that can significantly improve the life course of disadvantaged children in a range of complex, low-resource settings (Britto et al., 2017). Perhaps most importantly, the Series presents a firm call for action to address the urgent, unmet needs of young children in adversity, drawing from the extraordinary advances that the science of early childhood development has achieved through decades of rigorous research.

In the past few years, the international humanitarian community has responded to this call to action, signalling the need for early childhood development interventions to break the cycle of poverty, inequality and disadvantage. As World Bank President Jim Yong Kim said, ‘It is clear that we can’t achieve our goals of ending extreme poverty and boosting shared prosperity unless we help every child reach his or her full potential’ (Kim, 2017: 16). Key partnerships and global networks, such as the Early Childhood Development Action Network, Scaling Up Nutrition, the Global Partnership to End Violence Against Children and the World Health Organization’s work to develop the Nurturing Care Framework all play important roles. Yet, despite the increased attention to the importance of early childhood development in disadvantaged settings, the needs of young children living in the most severe conditions of crisis and conflict continue to be neglected.

The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation’s recent decision to award Sesame Workshop and the International Rescue Committee USD 100 million to create in the Middle East the largest early childhood development initiative in the history of humanitarian response serves as a monumental shift. This landmark investment builds upon the early financing provided by the Bernard van Leer and Open Society Foundations and will reach 9.4 million children over five years in Syria, Iraq, Jordan and Lebanon with engaging, multimedia content designed to reflect the realities of young children throughout the region. The programme will reach 1.5 million of the most vulnerable children through direct services aligned with the recommendations of the 2016 Lancet Series on Early Childhood Development, including support for caregivers delivered through home visiting, group sessions and mobile devices to help them provide the nurturing care and stimulation to mitigate the impacts of stress, violence and displacement in the first 1000 days of the child’s life; and the establishment of early learning centres within formal and informal settings to provide high- quality, play-based learning for the second 1000 days. With this extraordinary investment, our partnership will transform the language, early reading, math, and social-emotional skills of a generation of children affected by the Syrian war.

But to achieve lasting impact for young children living in crisis settings around the world, the MacArthur Foundation’s investment must be matched by radical changes to the humanitarian system. First, early childhood development must be recognised as a life-saving priority for any humanitarian response. Second, programmes must be required and funded to generate meaningful evidence on what works, why, how, in which contexts and at what cost. And third, philanthropy must continue to lead by example to drive large-scale investment from governmental and multilateral institutions.

Photo: Myrto Koutoulia/IRC

Early childhood development as a life-saving intervention

The United Nations Central Emergency Response Fund (CERF) defines life-saving and core humanitarian programmes as ‘those actions that within a short time span remedy, mitigate or avert direct loss of life, physical and psychological harm or threats to a population or major portion thereof and/ or protect their dignity’ (UN CERF, 2010). The scientific community has proven time and again that the brain is most sensitive to adversity in the first years of life; that this adversity threatens immediate and long-term health, academic achievement and economic well-being; and that evidence-based services for young children can reduce the effects of adversity. These life-saving actions can be taken to protect, mitigate and avert physical and psychological harm to young children. Nonetheless, the humanitarian system does not prioritise early childhood programming in humanitarian response. One indication is funding: of the total humanitarian funding received in 2016, less than 2% was allocated to education, of which only a small fraction was dedicated to early childhood (UNOCHA Financial Tracking Service, 2018b).

The ongoing crisis in Myanmar and Bangladesh serves as a vivid example of this. Since August 2017, approximately 670,000 Rohingya refugees, 60% of whom are children, have fled to Bangladesh from Myanmar (Inter Sector Coordination Group, 2018). Massive displacement, violence, disease and destruction have wreaked havoc on the lives of these children. The humanitarian response plan includes commitments to shelter, food and basic health services – essential services to ensure the short-term survival of these children. It also includes commitments and strategies for emergency telecommunications, coordination and logistics. Yet, despite what we know about the life-threatening effects of neglecting young children, the humanitarian response plan makes no explicit commitment to early childhood development. As of February 2018, the education sector had received less than 6% of the funding it requested (UNOCHA Financial Tracking Service, 2018a). A staggering 332,650 children – nearly 75% of all children in need – are not being reached by education services (Inter Sector Coordination Group, 2018). Early childhood development is life-saving and delivers long-term benefits and yet the story of the Rohingya children proves that the humanitarian community and its donors view early childhood development and education services as low priority programmes in a humanitarian response. This can and must change.

Evidence for early childhood development in emergencies

Boosting investment in early childhood development in the acute stages of an emergency requires a much stronger body of evidence in these contexts, giving proof such programmes are indeed possible and effective. A recent review of evaluation studies conducted within the past 17 years identified only four studies of early childhood impact evaluations and a complete absence of implementation research in humanitarian contexts (Murphy et al., in press). This highlights the vast disparity between investments in research in stable contexts compared to research of early childhood programmes in crisis settings.

Despite significant complexities in crisis-affected places like Bangladesh, Niger, South Sudan and the Middle East, the International Rescue Committee (IRC) has proven that rigorous research of this kind is both essential and feasible.

The IRC currently has 28 rigorous studies of our programmes, and we carried out the world’s first randomised controlled trials of parenting programmes and social-emotional learning programmes in post-conflict and refugee settings (Sim et al., 2014; Aber et al., 2017). Through this experience we have learned that for research to be useful for programmes and policymakers it must answer questions about impact – did the programme work – as well as how programmes are effective, for whom they are effective and what it costs to have an impact. Research must start before a project begins, to assess the needs and resources of children and families and rapidly test and adjust existing strategies so they are practical and feasible within a specific humanitarian setting. Once programme models and content have been adapted and refined, implementation research will capture whether the programme is being delivered with high quality and at what cost. Rigorous impact evaluations can then determine whether programmes have indeed been effective. For early childhood development in crisis settings – a sector so lacking in actionable, policy-relevant evidence – this combination of rapid testing, rigorous implementation and cost analysis and impact evaluation is essential.

The role of philanthropy

Philanthropists have a unique opportunity to be leaders both in early childhood development investment and advocacy and in reshaping the humanitarian response. The goal is simple: early childhood development as a core pillar of every response strategy in conflict and crisis settings. The MacArthur Foundation has shown that philanthropy can provide massive investment and reach, surpassing the scale of any single existing early childhood programme in a humanitarian response. This investment will not only reach an unprecedented number of children, it will catalyse public institutions to prioritise and take action themselves. At the same time, philanthropic organisations must build upon current momentum and identify practical strategies that will lead to systemic change. Important steps to achieving this goal include the convening of global leaders and experts in early childhood development and humanitarian programming; advocating for and investing in research on early childhood development in crisis and conflict settings; disseminating research and translating evidence for policymakers and practitioners; and pushing for replication and scaling of early childhood development in emergency and humanitarian settings around the world.

Conclusion

The MacArthur Foundation has done something remarkable. In five years, Sesame Workshop and the International Rescue Committee will have delivered transformational services for 1.5 million children affected by the Syrian crisis and 9.4 million children and caregivers will experience world-class multimedia educational programming. Together with New York University’s Global TIES
for Children Center, we will generate actionable evidence on early childhood development programming in conflict and crisis; and we will use this evidence to inform the adaptation and replication of programmes for crisis and conflict settings throughout the world. This must be just the beginning. Success will be when early childhood development programming is included in the first days of an emergency response; when cost-effective programme models are implemented across a range of crisis, conflict, post-conflict and fragile settings; when programmes are longer than 18 months; and when investment in programme research results in the establishment of a robust and continually growing evidence base on how to change the trajectory for millions of young children living in conflict and crisis around the world. Success will be when every young child affected by conflict or crisis has access to the early childhood services they need to survive and thrive.

References can be found in the PDF version of the article.

Also in this edition of Early Childhood Matters

Think Future – a gathering of unlike minds in support of early years innovation Innovation Edge is a grantmaking and investment platform focused on the early years. We source and support unconventional ideas that seek to positively transform foundational life experiences for the 4… Read more Read full ECM article
IDELA: leveraging child-centred evidence to change policy, practice and investment As investments in young children increase, fundamental questions remain about which approaches will produce the best outcomes for the most children. Holistic and common metrics are needed to meaningfully compare… Read more Read full ECM article
Childcare from the perspective of women informal workers Women informal workers across the world have set out their demands for quality public childcare services through a campaign organised by the research-action-policy network WIEGO (Women in Informal Employment: Globalizing… Read more Read full ECM article
Moving the needle on employer- supported childcare: from business case research to action In both developed and developing countries, new parents facing the challenge of accessing reliable and quality childcare often have to make a difficult decision – whether to stay in the… Read more Read full ECM article
Why water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) are fundamental to early childhood development WaterAid is an international not-for-profit organisation fighting to make clean water, decent toilets and good hygiene normal for everyone, everywhere. We transform millions of lives every year. But why is… Read more Read full ECM article
Pollution and child development Pollution is the largest environmental cause of disease and death in the world today. Pollution is responsible for 9 million deaths per year – 16% of all deaths worldwide –… Read more Read full ECM article
Lifelong impact of nutrition in the first thousand days after conception Chronic non-communicable diseases such as Type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease and obesity are reaching epidemic proportions worldwide, accompanied by severe impairment of quality of life and huge cost of medical… Read more Read full ECM article
It takes a city: making early childhood a strategic priority in Tel Aviv When our Urban95 programme began to work with the Municipality of Tel Aviv-Yafo, we initially thought about what programmes and activities the municipality might implement. We have since come to… Read more Read full ECM article
Urban95: creating cities for the youngest people Cities can be wonderful places to grow up, but they can also pose serious challenges for healthy child development. The Bernard van Leer Foundation’s Urban95 initiative seeks to make lasting… Read more Read full ECM article
A Better Start: tackling inequity through community-wide action on early childhood development Developmental scientist Clyde Hertzman famously documented how ‘social environments and experiences get under the skin early in life in ways that affect the course of human development’ (Hertzman and Boyce,… Read more Read full ECM article