شؤون الطفولة المبكرة 2018

“Criança Feliz”: برنامج لكسر دائرة الفقر والحد من عدم المساواة في البرازيل

حليم أنطونيو غيرادي، الأمين الوطني للنهوض بالتنمية البشرية، وزارة التنمية الاجتماعية، برازيليا، البرازيل

هل من الممكن تنفيذ برنامج لتنمية الطفولة المبكرة في إطار زمني قصير، ولا سيما برنامج مُصمم لتنمية شاملة للطفل، في بلد قاري مثل البرازيل، فيه 27 ولاية و5570 بلدية؟ من خلال برنامج “Criança Feliz” (“الطفل السعيد”) ، كنا نتعلم تدريجياً أنه ممكناً.

يوجد في البرازيل أكثر من 207 مليون شخص ونحو 11٪ من هؤلاء هم أطفال صغار دون سن السادسة – وحوالي 42٪ منهم من أسر ذات دخل شهري تحت خط الفقر (معهد البرازيل للدراسات البيئية والاستراتيجية) (2017) . على مدى الثلاثين سنة الماضية، شهدت البلاد حركة متنامية نيابة عن الطفولة المبكرة. كان للسياسات الاجتماعية اللامركزية تأثير كبير في خفض معدل وفيات الأطفال. وقد ظهر إطار قانوني هام: الدستور الاتحادي لعام 1988، والنظام الأساسي للأطفال والمراهقين لعام 1990، والإطار القانوني لعام 2016 للطفولة المبكرة، بهدف ضمان حقوق الأطفال.

تم تأسيس “Criança Feliz” في 5 أكتوبر2016، من خلال مرسوم رئاسي، لتعزيز التنمية الشاملة للأطفال في سنواتهم الأولى. بعد تسعة أشهر، في 14 يوليو 2017، تم تسجيل أول زيارة منزلية للبرنامج في مدينة باكاتوبا في ولاية سيرغيبي.

ونظراً للحاجة إلى التغلب على أوجه عدم المساواة في البرازيل، اختارت وزارة التنمية الاجتماعية تحديد أولوياتها بالأسر الأكثر ضعفاً – تلك التي يخدمها برنامج تحويل الدخل ‘Bolsa Família’.

يحتوي Criança Feliz على دعامتين رئيسيتين:

  • تهدف الزيارات المنزلية إلى تعزيز المهارات الأسرية – لا سيما مهارات الأطفال الأكثر ضعفاً. يتم تدريب الزائرين المنزليين باستخدام مواد تقنية أساسها مبادئ رعاية تنمية الطفل التي طورتها اليونيسف ومنظمة الصحة العالمية ومنظمة الصحة للبلدان الأمريكية، مع كتيب إضافي لزيارة المنزل تم إعداده من قبل وزارة التنمية الاجتماعية. تحصل النساء الحوامل على زيارة واحدة في الشهر؛ والأطفال من سن الولادة إلى 3 سنوات، يحصلون على زيارة واحدة في الأسبوع؛ والأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 3 إلى 6 سنوات، يحصلون على زيارة واحدة كل 15 يومًا.
  • تسعى المبادرات المشتركة بين القطاعات إلى تعزيز السياسات الإقليمية المتعلقة بالمساعدة الاجتماعية والرعاية الصحية والتعليم والثقافة وحقوق الإنسان وحقوق الطفل. من المهم، على سبيل المثال، أن يكون جميع الأطفال لديهم Caderneta da Criança (كتيب الطفل) الذي يتم تحديثه من خلال المتابعة الغذائية وسجلات التطعيم.

بينما قامت الأمانة الوطنية لتعزيز التنمية البشرية، مع وزارة التنمية الاجتماعية، بتنسيق برنامج Criança Feliz لكن قامت الولايات والبلديات بتطوير تنفيذه. في كل مستوى من مستويات الحكومة الثلاث – الفيدرالية والولايات والبلديات – يحتوي البرنامج على لجنة توجيه مشتركة بين القطاعات ومجموعة فنية، إلى جانب هيئة تنسيقية. يتولى المستوى الوطني مسؤولية تنسيق الإجراءات الوطنية، ودعم الولايات، وصياغة استراتيجيات التدريب. وتتحمل الولايات مسؤولية التنفيذ في منطقتها، ومبادرات التوعية، وحشد وتدريب المشرفين البلديين، والرصد. والبلديات مسؤولة عن تنفيذ البرنامج على المستوى المحلي: تدريب الزائرين المنزليين، والتخطيط للزيارات، والإشراف على العمل الميداني، ورصد الزيارات وتقييمها.
بلغت ميزانية البرنامج نحو 98 مليون دولار أمريكي لعام 2017، حيث ارتفع إلى 167 مليون دولار أمريكي في عام 2018. وتحول الحكومة الفيدرالية الأموال إلى الولايات، من خلال الصندوق الوطني للمساعدة الاجتماعية، لتغطية التدريب والمصروفات والتحويلات إلى كل بلدية: 75 ريالاً برازيليًا (حوالي 23 دولارًا أمريكيًا) شهريًا لكل زائر تمت زيارته، شريطة أن يتبع الزائرين المنزليين القواعد المتعلقة بعدد الزيارات لكل الشهر. يجب أن يكون الزائرين المنزليين حاصلين على شهادات الثانوية العامة على الأقل. في استراتيجية بناء القدرات المتتالية، يتم تدريبهم من قبل مشرفين على مستوى البلديات، والذين بدورهم يتم تدريبهم من قبل ما يسمى بالمدربين المضاعفين على مستوى الولاية – في كلتا الحالتين، يحتاج هؤلاء المشرفون إلى شهادات جامعية، ويتم تدريب المدربين المضاعفين على مستوى الولاية من قبل الفنيين الوطنيين. كل مشرف بلدية مسؤول عن ما يصل إلى 15 زائر منزلي، ويمكن لكل زائر منزلي أن يزور ما يصل إلى 30 طفلاً أو امرأة حامل. يُدفَع للمشرفين ما معدله 609 دولارًا أمريكيًا في الشهر، ويدفع للزائرين المنزليين 318 دولارًا أمريكيًا في الشهر. ولوضع ذلك في السياق، فإن متوسط الأجور في البرازيل655 دولارًا أمريكيًا تقريباً والحد الأدنى للأجور 228 دولارًا أمريكيًا.

تهدف Criança Feliz في نهاية المطاف للوصول إلى 3 ملايين طفل و640،000 امرأة حامل، بما في ذلك 75،000 طفل من ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة و 8600 طفل تحت تدابير الحماية الخاصة. ومن بين هؤلاء، ينبغي الوصول إلى حوالي 738000 طفل بحلول كانون الأول / ديسمبر 2018، في المرحلة الأولى؛ و 1.5 مليون بنهاية عام 2019، في المرحلة الثانية.

الصورة: ماورو فيارا/ برنامج Criança Feliz/ وزارة التنمية الاجتماعية

الدروس المستفادة التي تم تعلمها في الوصول إلى النطاق

البرنامج متواجد منذ 16 شهراً أثناء كتابة هذا التقرير. تم تنفيذ معظم التدريب على مستوى الولاية من شباط إلى حزيران 2017. من بين 25 وحدة فيدرالية للبلاد (تضم 26 ولاية والقطاع الفيدرالي)، سجل ما عدده 25 في البرنامج. ومن بين 5570 بلدية، انضم 2614 بحلول كانون الثاني / يناير 2018. من بين هؤلاء، بدأ 1856 بإجراء الزيارات المنزلية، شملت 185,910 طفلاً و 26,383 امرأة حامل. يوضح الشكلان 1 و 2 كيفية تقدم تنفيذ البرنامج، من خلال عدد البلديات التي بدأت الزيارات والأفراد الذين تم التوصل إليهم، على التوالي.

ما هي أهم العوامل في الوصول إلى هذا الكم في وقت قصير نسبيا؟ مهدت الموافقة على الإطار القانوني للطفولة المبكرة الطريق للمرسوم الرئاسي بإنشاء البرنامج. في كلتا الحالتين، كانت القيادة السياسية أساسية، مع مشاركة كبيرة من الجبهة البرلمانية للطفولة المبكرة. وأصبح أوسمار تيرا إحدى الشخصيات البارزة ومؤلف وثيقة إنشاء الإطار، وزيراً للتنمية الاجتماعية وجعل من برنامج Criança Feliz “الطفل السعيد” أولوية. وكما قال الوزير: “في الأيام الألف الأولى من الحياة، تحدث تحولات في الدماغ مما يجعل هذه الفترة استثنائية للغاية في دورة الحياة بأكملها. وخلال هذا الوقت، تتشكل المهارات الأساسية للتعلم عن العالم الذي نعيش فيه”.

وكانت التوعية والحشد أساسيين: حيث أعقب الإطلاق على مستوى البلاد أحداث على مستويات الولاية وأحداث محلية، بمشاركة حكام ومسؤولين في المدينة. لذا تم إشراك قطاعات مختلفة في ثلاثة مستويات حكومية: الصحة والتعليم والثقافة والمساعدة الاجتماعية وحقوق الإنسان. كما حظي البرنامج بدعم شركاء وطنيين ودوليين، بما في ذلك مؤسسة برنارد فان لير، ومؤسسة ماريا سيسيليا سوتو فيديغال، ومنظمة الصحة للبلدان الأمريكية، ومنظمة الصحة العالمية، وبرنامج الطفولة المبكرة الأفضل، واليونيسيف، ومنظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية. ومنظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلم والثقافة (اليونسكو)، وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي، ومعهد التعليم والبحث. ضمن أمور أخرى، دعم هؤلاء الشركاء تطوير المواد التقنية ومنهجية التدريب، بالإضافة إلى المساهمة في مراقبة البرنامج وتقييمه: فمن غير المنطقي أن يتم إعداد برنامج بهذا الحجم إلا إذا تم تحديده وإعداده بشكل كامل. على سبيل المثال، كان دعم مؤسسة برنارد فان لير حاسماً في بداية بناء قدرات منسقي الولايات.

تم استخدام التكنولوجيا بشكلٍ جيدٍ أيضاً. حيث تم إنشاء منصة محوسبة لتسهيل دخول الولايات والبلديات في البرنامج، الأمر الذي يتطلب موافقة مجلس الرعاية الاجتماعية المحلي. تم مراقبة التنفيذ بشكل يومي وأسبوعي، مع استخدام نظام محوسب يسمى “Prontuário SUAS”. وأثبت برنامج واتساب أنه مفيد للغاية للمنسقين الوطنيين ومنسقي الولايات والبلديات، كما أن الزائرين المنزليين والمشرفين يبقون على تواصل ويتبادلون الخبرات والوثائق والصور ومقاطع الفيديو. وهو أيضاً عامل محفز ومنشط ومعزز للتفاعل بين الهيئات الحكومية، وإضفاء الطابع الإنساني على تنفيذ البرنامج.

التحديات والآفاق

من المهم متابعة التنفيذ، ورصد المؤشرات المشتركة بين القطاعات، وتقييم البرنامج نفسه، من أجل تحديد فرص التحسين المستمر. علاوة على ذلك، في نهاية السنة الأولى من التنفيذ، يمكننا تحديد العديد من التحديات الملحوظة:

  • تحديد استراتيجيات لتدعيمها واستدامتها كسياسة وطنية
  • الاستمرار في التوسع مع الحفاظ على الحد الأدنى من معايير الجودة
  • إنشاء نماذج دائمة لتدريب المشرفين والزائرين المنزليين
  • دعم وزيادة المبادرات المشتركة بين القطاعات، ولا سيما فيما يتعلق بصحة المرأة والطفل والتغذية والأمن الغذائي
  • تقديم تعليم جيد في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة، وتحسين تعليم الوالدين، وتقديم الدعم الاجتماعي للأسر الأكثر ضعفاً
  • الحفاظ على سرعة التوسع في عام (2018) التي يتخللها انتخابات فيدرالية وانتخابات الولايات
  • الحفاظ على تنمية الطفولة المبكرة كأولوية للحكومات القادمة.

ليتمكن برنامج Criança Feliz من ضمان الدعم السياسي ودعم الموارد المالية للسنوات القادمة، فمن الضروري الاستثمار في نشر المعلومات وحشد المؤسسات والأسر والمجتمع ككل، حتى يدرك الجميع أهمية تعزيز تنمية الطفولة المبكرة.

شكر وتقدير

يود المؤلفون أن ينوهوا بالمساهمات الممتازة لفريق وزارة التنمية الاجتماعية: ماريا دي كارمو برانت ديكارفايو، إيلي هاراساوا، فريدريكو دي الميدا ميريلس بالما، جوليانا رابيلو، لوانا كوزين نونيس، ماريانا ليليس موريرا كاتارينا، بالوما بيلفورت فروتوسو، ريناتا ابريسيدا فيريرا، ادريانا باربوزا دانتا سدا سيلفا، ايرتون ماوريسيو ازيريدو سيلفا، نتاليا سيلفا، وماريا سيسيرا بينيرو؛ والأعضاء من الوزارات المشاركة: تيريزا دي لاماري فرانكو نيتتو، كارولينا هيلينا ميشيليفيلهو، ميشيل ليسا دي اوليفيرا و جيلفاني بيريرا غرانغيرو. نشكر المستشارين والمتعاونين ماري إيمنغ يونغ، جابي فوجيموتو ومريم دياز غونزاليس. وشكر خاص لإدواردو ديكامبوس كويروز، وإدواردو مارينو، ومارينا فريغاتا تشيكارو، و جي. ليوناردو يانز، وسيسيليا فاكا جونز، وفيرناندا ريزندي فيديغال، وامتنانا الخاص لمنسقي الولايات لبرنامج Criança Feliz، وللمدربين المضاعفين ومشرفي الولايات والبلديات والزائرين المنزليين، الذين أعطوا حياةً للبرنامج، وللعائلات التي تعزز من مهارات أطفالها.

يمكن العثور على المراجع في نسخة الPDF من المقالة.

في هذا العدد من "شؤون الطفولة المبكرّة" تجدون أيضًا

Think Future – a gathering of unlike minds in support of early years innovation Innovation Edge is a grantmaking and investment platform focused on the early years. We source and support unconventional ideas that seek to positively transform foundational life experiences for the 4… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
IDELA: leveraging child-centred evidence to change policy, practice and investment As investments in young children increase, fundamental questions remain about which approaches will produce the best outcomes for the most children. Holistic and common metrics are needed to meaningfully compare… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Childcare from the perspective of women informal workers Women informal workers across the world have set out their demands for quality public childcare services through a campaign organised by the research-action-policy network WIEGO (Women in Informal Employment: Globalizing… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Moving the needle on employer- supported childcare: from business case research to action In both developed and developing countries, new parents facing the challenge of accessing reliable and quality childcare often have to make a difficult decision – whether to stay in the… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Why water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) are fundamental to early childhood development WaterAid is an international not-for-profit organisation fighting to make clean water, decent toilets and good hygiene normal for everyone, everywhere. We transform millions of lives every year. But why is… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Pollution and child development Pollution is the largest environmental cause of disease and death in the world today. Pollution is responsible for 9 million deaths per year – 16% of all deaths worldwide –… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Lifelong impact of nutrition in the first thousand days after conception Chronic non-communicable diseases such as Type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease and obesity are reaching epidemic proportions worldwide, accompanied by severe impairment of quality of life and huge cost of medical… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
É preciso o apoio de toda uma cidade: primeira infância é prioridade estratégica em Tel Aviv Quando nosso programa Urban95 começou a atuar em conjunto com o município de Tel Aviv-Yafo, primeiramente consideramos quais programas e atividades a administração municipal poderia implementar. Desde então, entendemos que… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
It takes a city: making early childhood a strategic priority in Tel Aviv When our Urban95 programme began to work with the Municipality of Tel Aviv-Yafo, we initially thought about what programmes and activities the municipality might implement. We have since come to… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Urban95: criando cidades para os mais jovens As cidades podem ser lugares maravilhosos para crescer, mas podem também apresentar sérios obstáculos para o desenvolvimento saudável das crianças. A iniciativa Urban95 da Fundação Bernard van Leer pretende promover… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"

Early Childhood Matters 2018

‘Criança Feliz’: A programme to break the cycle of poverty and reduce the inequality in Brazil

Halim Antonio Girade, National Secretary for the Promotion of Human Development, Ministry of Social Development, Brasilia, Brazil

Is it possible to implement a programme for early childhood development in a short time frame, particularly one designed for comprehensive child development, in a continental country such as Brazil, with 27 states and 5570 municipalities? Through the ‘Criança Feliz’ (‘Happy Child’) programme, we have been gradually learning that it is.

Brazil has over 207 million people and about 11% of those are young children under the age of 6 – and about 42% of them are from families with monthly incomes below the poverty line (Instituto Brasileiro de Geografia e Estatística (IBGE), 2017). Over the last 30 years, the country has witnessed a growing movement on behalf of early childhood. Decentralised social policies have had a significant impact on reducing child mortality. An important legal framework has taken shape: the Federal Constitution of 1988, the 1990 Child and Adolescent Statute, and the 2016 Legal Framework for Early Childhood, aimed at guaranteeing the rights of children.

‘Criança Feliz’ was instituted on 5 October 2016, through a presidential decree, to promote comprehensive development of children in their early years. Nine months later, on 14 July 2017, the programme’s first home visit was officially recorded, in Pacatuba Town in the State of Sergipe.

Given the need to overcome inequalities in Brazil, the Ministry of Social Development (MDS) chose to prioritise the most vulnerable families – those served by the income transfer programme ‘Bolsa Família’.

Criança Feliz has two main pillars:

  • Home visits aim to promote the strengthening of family skills – in particular, the skills of the most vulnerable children. Home visitors are trained using technical material based on the Care for Child Development method developed by UNICEF, the World Health Organization and the Pan American Health Organization, with an additional home visit handbook prepared by the MDS. Pregnant women receive one visit per month; children from birth to 3 years, one visit per week; and children aged 3–6 years, one visit every 15 days.
  • Intersectoral initiatives seek to strengthen regional policies for social assistance, healthcare, education, culture, human rights and children’s rights. It is important, for example, that all children have their Caderneta da Criança (Child’s Booklet) updated with nutritional follow-up and vaccination records.

While coordinated by the National Secretariat for the Promotion of Human Development (SNPDH), within the MDS, the implementation of Criança Feliz is developed by states and municipalities. At each of the three levels of government – federal, state and municipal – the programme has an intersectoral steering committee and a technical group, alongside a coordinating body. The national level is responsible for coordinating national actions, supporting states, and formulating training strategies. States are responsible for implementation in their area, awareness-raising initiatives, mobilising and training municipal supervisors, and monitoring. Municipalities are responsible for implementing the programme at local level: training home visitors, planning visits, supervising the field work, and monitoring and assessing the visits.

The programme had a budget of about USD 98 million for 2017, rising to a projected USD 167 million in 2018. The federal government transfers funds to the states, through the National Social Assistance Fund, to cover training, expenses, and transfers to each municipality: R$ 75 (about USD 23) per month per visited individual, provided that home visitors follow the rules regarding number of visits per month. Home visitors must have at least high school degrees. In a cascading capacity-building strategy, they are trained by municipal-level supervisors, who in turn are trained by the so-called state-level multipliers – in both cases, these supervisors require college degrees, and the state-level multipliers are trained by the national technicians. Each municipal supervisor is responsible for up to 15 home visitors, and each home visitor can attend to up to 30 children or pregnant women. Supervisors are paid an average of USD 609 per month, and home visitors USD 318 per month. To put that into context, Brazil’s average wage is around
USD 655 and the minimum wage is USD 228.

Criança Feliz ultimately aims to reach 3 million children and 640,000 pregnant women, including 75,000 children with disabilities and 8600 children under special protection measures. Of these, around 738,000 children should be reached by December 2018, in phase one; and 1.5 million by the end of 2019, in phase two.

Photo: Mauro Vieira/Criança Feliz programme/MDS

Provisional lessons learned in reaching scale

At the time of writing, the programme has been in existence for 16 months. Most of the training at the state level was carried out from February to June 2017. Of the country’s 27 federal units (comprising 26 states and the federal district), 25 enrolled in the programme. Of the 5570 municipalities, 2614 had joined by January 2018. Of those, 1856 had started conducting home visits, involving 185,910 children and 26,383 pregnant women. Figures 1 and 2 show how programme implementation has advanced, by number of municipalities that initiated the visits and by individuals reached, respectively.

What factors were most significant in reaching such a scale in a relatively short time? The approval of the Early Childhood Legal Framework paved the way for the Presidential Decree creating the programme. In both cases political leadership was key, with significant involvement of the Parliamentary Front for Early Childhood. One of its leading figures and an author of the bill creating the framework, Osmar Terra, became Minister for Social Development and made Criança Feliz a priority. As the Minister stated: ‘In the first thousand days of life, transformations happen in the brain which make this the most extraordinary period of the whole cycle of life. During this time the basic skills for learning about the world we live in are formed.’

Awareness raising and mobilisation were fundamental: the nationwide launch was followed by state and local events, with the participation of governors and city officials. So was the involvement of different sectors at three levels of government: health, education, culture, social assistance and human rights. The programme also had the support of national and international partners, including the Bernard van Leer Foundation, the Maria Cecília Souto Vidigal Foundation, PAHO and WHO, the Better Early Childhood programme (‘Primeira Infância Melhor’), UNICEF, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and the Institute of Education and Research (INSPER). Among other things, these partners supported the development of technical material and the training methodology, as well as contributing to the monitoring of the programme and its evaluation: starting a programme of this magnitude makes sense only if these are fully defined and prepared. For instance, the Bernard van Leer Foundation’s support was crucial to the beginning of capacity building of state coordinators.

Technology was also put to good use. A computerised platform was established to facilitate states and municipalities enrolling in the programme, which requires the approval of the local social welfare council. Implementation monitoring has been carried out daily and weekly, with the use of a computerised system called Prontuário SUAS. WhatsApp has proved extremely useful for national, state and municipal coordinators, home visitors and supervisors to keep in contact and exchange experiences, documents, photos and videos; it is also a stimulating, motivating and strengthening factor for interaction among government bodies, humanising the implementation of the programme.

Challenges and prospects

It is important to constantly follow up on implementation, to monitor intersectoral indicators, and to assess the programme itself, in order to identify opportunities for continuous improvement. Beyond this, at the end of its first year of implementation we can identify several notable challenges:

  • defining strategies for its consolidation and sustainability as a national policy
  • continuing to expand while maintaining minimum quality standards
  • establishing permanent models for training supervisors and home visitors
  • sustaining and increasing intersectoral initiatives, in particular concerningwomen and child health and food and nutrition security
  • offering quality early childhood education, improving parental schooling, and providing social support to the most vulnerable families
  • maintain the speed of the scaling up in a year (2018) of federal and state elections
  • maintain early childhood development as priority for the next governments.

For Criança Feliz to ensure political support and financial resources for the coming years, it is necessary to constantly invest in informing and mobilising institutions, families and society at large for everyone to recognise the importance of promoting early childhood development.

Acknowledgements

The authors wish to acknowledge the excellent contributions of the Ministry of Social Development team: Maria do Carmo Brant de Carvalho, Ely Harasawa, Frederico de Almeida Meirelles Palma, Juliana Rabelo, Luana Kozen Nunes, Mariana Lelis Moreira Catarina, Palloma Belfort Frutuoso, Renata Aparecida Ferreira, Adriana Barbosa Dantas da Silva, Ayrton Maurício Azeredo Silva, Natália Silva, and Maria Cícera Pinheiro; and the members of partnering ministries: Thereza De Lamare Franco Netto, Carolina Helena Micheli Velho, Michele Lessa de Oliveira and Gilvani Pereira Grangeiro. We thank the consultants and collaborators Mary Eming Young, Gaby Fujimoto and Miriam Días González. Our special thanks to Eduardo de Campos Queiroz, Eduardo Marino, Marina Fragata Chicaro, J. Leonardo Yánez, Cecilia Vaca Jones, Fernanda Rezende Vidigal, and our special gratitude to the Criança Feliz State Coordinators, the multipliers, state- and municipal-level supervisors and home visitors, who gave life to the programme, and to the families that strengthen the skills of their children.

References can be found in the PDF version of the article.

Also in this edition of Early Childhood Matters

Think Future – a gathering of unlike minds in support of early years innovation Innovation Edge is a grantmaking and investment platform focused on the early years. We source and support unconventional ideas that seek to positively transform foundational life experiences for the 4… Read more Read full ECM article
IDELA: leveraging child-centred evidence to change policy, practice and investment As investments in young children increase, fundamental questions remain about which approaches will produce the best outcomes for the most children. Holistic and common metrics are needed to meaningfully compare… Read more Read full ECM article
Childcare from the perspective of women informal workers Women informal workers across the world have set out their demands for quality public childcare services through a campaign organised by the research-action-policy network WIEGO (Women in Informal Employment: Globalizing… Read more Read full ECM article
Moving the needle on employer- supported childcare: from business case research to action In both developed and developing countries, new parents facing the challenge of accessing reliable and quality childcare often have to make a difficult decision – whether to stay in the… Read more Read full ECM article
Why water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) are fundamental to early childhood development WaterAid is an international not-for-profit organisation fighting to make clean water, decent toilets and good hygiene normal for everyone, everywhere. We transform millions of lives every year. But why is… Read more Read full ECM article
Pollution and child development Pollution is the largest environmental cause of disease and death in the world today. Pollution is responsible for 9 million deaths per year – 16% of all deaths worldwide –… Read more Read full ECM article
Lifelong impact of nutrition in the first thousand days after conception Chronic non-communicable diseases such as Type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease and obesity are reaching epidemic proportions worldwide, accompanied by severe impairment of quality of life and huge cost of medical… Read more Read full ECM article
It takes a city: making early childhood a strategic priority in Tel Aviv When our Urban95 programme began to work with the Municipality of Tel Aviv-Yafo, we initially thought about what programmes and activities the municipality might implement. We have since come to… Read more Read full ECM article
É preciso o apoio de toda uma cidade: primeira infância é prioridade estratégica em Tel Aviv Quando nosso programa Urban95 começou a atuar em conjunto com o município de Tel Aviv-Yafo, primeiramente consideramos quais programas e atividades a administração municipal poderia implementar. Desde então, entendemos que… Read more Read full ECM article
Urban95: מתכננים ערים לבני האדם הצעירים ביותר ערים יכולות להיות מקום נפלא לגדול בו, אך הן מהוות אתגר רציני להתפתחות בריאה של ילדים. יוזמת Urban95 של קרן ברנרד ון ליר מבקשת לייצר שינויים קבועים בנופים העירוניים ובהזדמנויות… Read more Read full ECM article