شؤون الطفولة المبكرة 2018

التعلم من حركة إنقاذ العقول: السياسات المُبَلِغة وتوسيع نطاق الطفولة المبكرة

كيت ميلنر، بروفيسور مساعد، مركز صحة المراهقين والصحة الإنجابية، مدرسة لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي، لندن، المملكة المتحدة، بيا بريتو، مستشار أول، تنمية الطفولة المبكرة، اليونيسيف، نيويورك، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، تارون دوا، مسؤولة طبية ، قسم الصحة العقلية وإدمان المواد المخدرة، منظمة الصحة العالمية، جنيف، سويسرا، كارلي سيلفر، نائب رئيس البرامج، التحديات الكبرى بكندا، تورنتو، كندا، جوي إي لاون، بروفيسور، مدير، مركز صحة المراهقين والصحة الإنجابية، مدرسة لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي، لندن، المملكة المتحدة

إنقاذ العقول شراكة متعددة المؤسسات ومتعددة المانحين تقودها منظمة التحديات الكبرى بكندا التي منحت 84 منحة لمشاريع الابتكار في 31 من البلدان ذات الدخل المنخفض والمتوسط بين عامي 2011 و 2017. الهدف العام لحركة إنقاذ العقول هو تطوير طرق مستدامة وقابلة للتوسع لرعاية نمو الدماغ السليم في أول 1000 يوم من الحياة. من خلال الدعم التقني وتطوير القيادة، توفر حركة “إنقاذ العقول” فرصة إثبات صحة الفكرة، ولمِنح “الانتقال إلى نطاق أوسع”، التي تقدم تدخلات مختارة نحو نطاق واستدامة أكبر.

باعتبارها واحدة من أكبر الاستثمارات في تدخلات الطفولة المبكرة في البلدان ذات الدخل المنخفض والمتوسط (ميلنر وآخرون ، 2016)، إن ملف إنقاذ العقول لديه إمكانيات فريدة لزيادة الفهم بما يتعلق بالعمليات نحو التوسع.

في حين لم يتم تصميم الملف بحيث يستكشف جميع الخطوات من إثبات لفعالية التدخل إلى تنفيذ للسياسات والبرامج، فقد تم تطويره حول نظرية التغيير على مستوى الملف وإطار المراقبة المنظمة لتقييم التقدم على طول هذا المسار. حتى في مِنَح “البذور”، تم تشجيع الفرق على النظر في العوامل ذات الصلة بالتوسع. على هذا النحو، توفر حركة إنقاذ العقول فرصة فريدة لاستكشاف الأسئلة حول تنفيذ تدخلات تنمية الطفولة المبكرة في ظروف متنوعة مع زيادة التركيز على التوسع.

يقوم بذلك في لحظة حرجة لتنمية الطفل المبكرة. يتزايد الاهتمام العالمي، من أهداف التنمية المستدامة (الأمم المتحدة، 2015)، إلى سلسلة لانسيت “التقدم بتنمية الطفولة المبكرة: من العلم إلى المقياس” (بريتو وآخرون، 2017؛ دايلمانس وآخرون، 2017؛ ريختر وآخرون.، 2017)، إلى تقرير اليونيسف اللحظات المبكرة مهمة لكل طفل، وإطار تنمية الرعاية من أجل تنمية الطفولة المبكرة الذي تم إطلاقه، وتقوده اليونيسف ومنظمة الصحة العالمية وبدعم من الشراكة من أجل شبكة العمل المتعلقة بصحة الأم والمولود والطفل وتنمية الطفولة المبكرة (اليونيسيف، 2017؛ منظمة الصحة العالمية واليونيسف، 2018).

هناك الآن فرصة لترجمة هذا الاهتمام العالمي إلى تطبيق واسع النطاق في بلدان متعددة. قام تحليل للسمات التي تؤثر على فعالية شبكات الصحة العامة العالمية في توجيه العمل ضد التحديات المستهدفة بتحديد السياق السياسي العالمي، والنمو في أعداد الجهات الفاعلة والتطورات في مقاييس تنمية الطفولة المبكرة، باعتبارها ملائمة ولكن أيضاً باعتبارها تحديات مستمرة – لا سيما في وضع الأطر اللازمة والحوكمة (شيفمان وآخرون.، 2017؛ شاوار وشيفمان، 2017).

في عام 2016 – 2017 ، أجرت كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي تقييمًا مشتركًا للتأثيرات والعمليات المختلطة في 39 تدخلاً في ملف إنقاذ العقول. وكان هدفها الأساسي هو فهم دروس البرمجة والسياسة والبحث المستفادة لتوسيع نطاق التدخلات عبر السياقات (ميلنار وآخرون.، 2016). باستخدام مصطلحات إطار تنمية الرعاية الخاصة بمنظمة اليونيسيف ومنظمة الصحة العالمية، ركزت نسبة 84٪ من التدخلات في الملف على تقديم الرعاية المستجيبة؛ ومنهم، تم تقديم 63 ٪ من خلال النظام الصحي، و25 ٪ من خلال مرافق التعليم المبكر و12 ٪ في المجتمع. من بين جميع التدخلات، ركز 49 ٪ على التغذية و/أو الصحة، ونسبة أقل (9 ٪) على سلامة الأطفال وأمنهم (ميلنر وآخرون، 2016). نقترح ثلاث طرق يشير لها ملف إنقاذ العقول إلى فرص لتعزيز العمل والتغلب على التحديات المتعلقة بالتطبيق على نطاق واسع.

1 توسيع نطاق الشبكات ودعم تطوير القيادة مع أخذ التوسع في عين الاعتبار

يقوم إنقاذ العقول بالاستثمار بفرق في البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل التي يأتي أعضاؤها من خلفيات مهنية متنوعة تمثل مجموعة من القطاعات، وفي المقترحات التي تدمج النماذج العلمية والاجتماعية والتجارية (إنقاذ العقول، 2018). في حين أن عددًا من شبكات تنمية الطفولة المبكرة الأخرى مدعومة الآن من الممولين الرئيسيين، إلا أن إنقاذ العقول فريد من نوعه في رسمه المتعمد للعناصر الفعالة الجديدة، بما في ذلك الأكاديميين، لاستكشاف التنفيذ والانتقال إلى نطاق اوسع في بيئات متنوعة. تحتاج الشبكات في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة إلى التوسع لتشمل مستهلكي المعلومات، وليس فقط منتجيها، حتى يكون للأدلة تأثير أكبر في التنفيذ.

حيث أن إبداء الرأي والنقد البناء النوعي من خلال تقييم ملف إنقاذ العقول سلط الضوء على قيمة الاستثمار في تطوير القيادة المحلية لتنمية الطفولة المبكرة. قدّم إنقاذ العقول للفرق من البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل برنامج منظم لتطوير القيادة خلال تطوير الاقتراح ودورة المنح. شمل ذلك ندوات وورش عمل، والوصول إلى مجموعة واسعة من الخبراء التقنيين، وبدرجات متفاوتة، التعلم من الأقران من خلال اجتماعات مجتمع إنقاذ العقول. وﻣن أﺟل اﻟﺗﻘدم ﻟﻸﻣﺎم، ﺳﯾﮐون ﻣن اﻟﻣﮭم دﻋم اﻟﻔرص اﻟﻣﺗﺎﺣﺔ ﻟﻟﺗﻌﻟم ﺑﯾن اﻷﻗران واﻻﺳﺗﺛﻣﺎر ﻓﻲ ﺗطوﯾر اﻟﻘﯾﺎدة ﺑﻌﯾدًا ﻋن اﻟﻣواﻋﯾد اﻟزﻣﻧﯾﺔ ﻟدورات اﻟﻣﻧﺢ.

2 ﺗﺣدﯾد اﻟﺗﺣدﯾﺎت ﺑوﺿوح أﮐﺑر واﻟﺳﻌﻲ ﻧﺣو اﻟﺣﻟول

تم تحديد “الأطر اللازمة” أو “توليد الإجماع الداخلي حول تعريف المشكلة والحلول” على أنه تحدٍ لفعالية شبكات تنمية الطفولة المبكرة العالمية في التقدم (شاوار وشيفمان، 2017). يمتلك هذا المجال تاريخًا من التسميات المتضاربة، والتعريفات المتغيرة، والثنائيات المصطنعة (مثل الصحة مقابل التعليم، والتطور مقابل العجز، وتنمية بقاء الطفل على قيد الحياة). كانت القوة الرئيسية في ملف إنقاذ العقول، التي تنعكس في إبداء الرأي والنقد البناء النوعي ، هي أنها قدمت “لغة مشتركة” من خلال متطلبات التدريب والتقارير.

وكما قال أحد مديري برامج الطفولة المبكرة في إحدى المنظمات غير الحكومية الدولية الرائدة، فإن “إنقاذ العقول قد هز الميدان حقًا… ساعدنا على التحدث بلغة مشتركة.” على سبيل المثال، تقاسم المعرفة حول أجندة “رأس المال البشري” والأساس المنطقي للاستثمار في تنمية الطفولة المبكرة حيث كان يعتبر عدد من أصحاب المصلحة أن تأييده مهم عبر القطاعات داخل سياقات بلدانهم (ميلنار وآخرون.، 2016)..

ومع ذلك، لا يزال هنالك عدم وضوح في بعض القضايا، مع وجود تحدٍ خاص يتمثل في الانفصال بين اللغة المستخدمة من قبل الباحثين والمشاركين في التنفيذ. على سبيل المثال، يميل الباحثون لمناقشة أنواع التدخل واسعة النطاق (على سبيل المثال “البرامج الوالدية”) أو المناهج المحددة، في حين أن المنفذين حريصون على الحديث عن مكونات تدخل محددة (ميلنر وآخرون ، 2016 ؛ بريتو وآخرون ، 2017). كما سبق ليوسفزاي وعبود أن اقترحوا (2014)، حيث أن التركيز على السياسات والتحولات في البرامج بحاجة إلى تعريف أوضح لـ “ماذا” و “كيفية” التنفيذ. يجب وصف مكونات التدخل الحرجة عملياً وبقدر أكبر من التفاصيل.

سيكون من المهم الحصول على إجماع أكبر على التعاريف الرئيسية لكل من التحدي والحلول، ودمجها في “حزم” موصوفة بوضوح لإمكانية تكييفها مع السياق، لضمان أن “الطلب” لصانعي السياسات والمبرمجين الذين يتحملون المسؤولية الأساسية عن التنفيذ واضح. إن تقرير اللحظات المبكرة مهمة لكل طفل (منظمة الأمم المتحدة للطفولة، 2017) وإطار تنمية الرعاية من أجل تنمية الطفولة المبكرة (منظمة الصحة العالمية واليونيسيف، 2018) فرصتان مهمتان لتوحيد صوتنا.

3 تحسين المعايير من أجل التأثير والمساءلة

ساهم إنقاذ العقول في التقدم مؤخراً في المقاييس العالمية لتنمية الطفل، بما في ذلك دعم تطوير التدابير على مستوى التعداد السكاني مثل المؤشرات التي تقودها منظمة الصحة العالمية لتنمية الرضّع والأطفال الصغار ومؤشر التنمية المبكرة المُبلغ عنه (ماك-كوي وأخرون.، 2016). وﻣﻊ ذﻟك، ﻻ ﯾزال المقياس ﻋﺑر ﻣﺧﺗﻟف اﻷﻣﺎﮐن ﯾﺷﮐل ﺗﺣدﯾﺎً ﮐﺑﯾراً ﻣﻊ اﻟﺗرﮐﯾز ﻋﻟﯽ اﻟﺗﻧﻔﯾذ ﻋﻟﯽ ﻧطﺎق واﺳﻊ وھﻧﺎلك ﺣﺎﺟﺔ إﻟﯽ اﺳﺗﮐﺷﺎف ووﺻف وﻗﯾﺎس ﻋﻣﻟﯾﺔ اﻟﺗﻧﻔﯾذ (ﯾوﺳﻔزاي وﻋﺑود، 2014).

طوَّرَ إنقاذ العقول إطار للرصد والتقييم للمستفيدين من المنح منظمًا حول “نظرية التغيير” على مستوى الملف والذي تضمن عوامل سياقية ومدخلات ومخرجات ونتائج في تنفيذ التدخلات، وتطلّب من متلقي المنح تتبع المؤشرات. وكانت ردود الفعل النوعية من الفرق هي أن هذا الأمر كان مهماً وأدى إلى النظر في عوامل (مثل سياق السياسات) والتي لا يمكن أن تؤخذ بعين الاعتبار في مرحلة مبكرة من تصميم التنفيذ. ومع ذلك، تم تحديد العديد من التحديات أيضًا، بما في ذلك الاعتماد المفرط على تقرير الرعاية الوالدية لقياس النتائج، والعمليات المتضاربة لاستخدام أدوات القياس عبر الإعدادات، والقيود في نطاق النتائج التي تم قياسها، والتأكيد على نتائج المقطع العرضي قصيرة الأجل ( ميلنر وآخرون، 2016). سمح الإطار بإشارات مبكرة للتأثير المحتمل الذي يمكن التحقق منه في مراحل لاحقة أكبر من الدعم (رادنير وآخرون.، 2018).

كما أبرز أصحاب المصلحة في تقييم إنقاذ العقول أهمية توصيل نتائج تنمية الطفل بطريقة دقيقة ولكن ذات مغزى لأصحاب المصلحة الغير منغمسين في مجال الطفولة المبكرة. وعلى وجه التحديد، اعتبرت التدابير المؤقتة لإحراز تقدم في المسار نحو التأثير ذات أهمية، بالنظر إلى أن قياس النتائج طويلة الأمد في مجال تنمية الطفل يستغرق وقتاً طويلاً. يجب أن تكون القياسات دقيقة وممكنة على نطاق واسع.

الصورة: جووب روبينز/ كيدوغو

شراكة متنامية

منذ تقييم الملف المبيّن في هذا التقرير، نمت شراكة إنقاذ العقول (إنقاذ العقول، 2018): مع المزيد من الاستثمارات، يجري الآن تصميم واختبار أكثر من 50 تدخلاً إضافياً. يوفر إنقاذ العقول تعلمًا مفيدًا، ولكن لا يوجد حلول سحرية: لتحسين الارتقاء بتدخلات تنمية الطفولة المبكرة مع تأثيرها في بيئات متنوعة تتطلب المشاركة خارج نطاق الشبكات التقليدية، بما في ذلك السياسة غير المتخصصة ومجتمع البرمجة، بالإضافة إلى تعريف نقاط القرار في تصميم البرنامج والتنفيذ. هناك حاجة إلى أدلة لإثراء نقاط القرار لتوجيه الأسئلة الشائعة التي يثيرها المسؤولون عن التنفيذ، بما في ذلك الكوادر ومحتوى التدخل والتكاليف وكيفية قياس التغطية والجودة والنتائج بشكل روتيني لتحسين المساءلة في تتبع التقدم نحو تحقيق الأهداف.

يمكن العثور على المراجع في نسخة الPDF من المقالة.

في هذا العدد من "شؤون الطفولة المبكرّة" تجدون أيضًا

Think Future – a gathering of unlike minds in support of early years innovation Innovation Edge is a grantmaking and investment platform focused on the early years. We source and support unconventional ideas that seek to positively transform foundational life experiences for the 4… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
IDELA: leveraging child-centred evidence to change policy, practice and investment As investments in young children increase, fundamental questions remain about which approaches will produce the best outcomes for the most children. Holistic and common metrics are needed to meaningfully compare… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Childcare from the perspective of women informal workers Women informal workers across the world have set out their demands for quality public childcare services through a campaign organised by the research-action-policy network WIEGO (Women in Informal Employment: Globalizing… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Moving the needle on employer- supported childcare: from business case research to action In both developed and developing countries, new parents facing the challenge of accessing reliable and quality childcare often have to make a difficult decision – whether to stay in the… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Why water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) are fundamental to early childhood development WaterAid is an international not-for-profit organisation fighting to make clean water, decent toilets and good hygiene normal for everyone, everywhere. We transform millions of lives every year. But why is… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Pollution and child development Pollution is the largest environmental cause of disease and death in the world today. Pollution is responsible for 9 million deaths per year – 16% of all deaths worldwide –… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Lifelong impact of nutrition in the first thousand days after conception Chronic non-communicable diseases such as Type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease and obesity are reaching epidemic proportions worldwide, accompanied by severe impairment of quality of life and huge cost of medical… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
É preciso o apoio de toda uma cidade: primeira infância é prioridade estratégica em Tel Aviv Quando nosso programa Urban95 começou a atuar em conjunto com o município de Tel Aviv-Yafo, primeiramente consideramos quais programas e atividades a administração municipal poderia implementar. Desde então, entendemos que… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
It takes a city: making early childhood a strategic priority in Tel Aviv When our Urban95 programme began to work with the Municipality of Tel Aviv-Yafo, we initially thought about what programmes and activities the municipality might implement. We have since come to… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Urban95: criando cidades para os mais jovens As cidades podem ser lugares maravilhosos para crescer, mas podem também apresentar sérios obstáculos para o desenvolvimento saudável das crianças. A iniciativa Urban95 da Fundação Bernard van Leer pretende promover… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"

Early Childhood Matters 2018

Learning from Saving Brains: informing policies and scale-up for early childhood

Kate Milner, Assistant Professor, Maternal Adolescent & Reproductive Health (MARCH) Centre, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, London, UK, Pia Britto, Senior Advisor, Early Childhood Development, UNICEF, New York, USA, Tarun Dua, Medical Officer, Department of Mental Health & Substance Abuse, World Health Organization, Geneva, Switzerland, Karlee Silver, Vice President Programs, Grand Challenges Canada, Toronto, Canada, Joy E. Lawn, Professor, Director, MARCH Centre, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, London, UK

Saving Brains is a multi-institution, multi-donor partnership led by Grand Challenges Canada which awarded 84 grants to innovation projects across 31 low- and middle-income countries between 2011 and 2017. The overall aim of Saving Brains is to develop sustainable and scalable ways of nurturing healthy brain development in the first 1000 days of life. Through technical support and leadership development, Saving Brains provides an opportunity to demonstrate proof of concept, to ‘transition to scale’ grants, which progress selected interventions towards larger scale and sustainability.

As one of the largest investments in early childhood interventions in low- and middle-income countries (Milner et al., 2016), the Saving Brains portfolio has unique potential to inform understanding of processes towards scaling.

While the portfolio was not designed to explicitly explore all steps from demonstration of intervention effectiveness to policy and programme implementation, it was developed around a portfolio-level theory of change and structured monitoring framework to assess progress along this pathway. Even in ‘seed’ grants, teams were encouraged to consider factors relevant to scaling. As such, Saving Brains provides a unique opportunity to explore questions around implementation of early childhood development interventions in diverse settings with increased focus on scale.

It does so at a critical moment for early child development. Global attention is increasing, from the Sustainable Development Goals (United Nations, 2015), to the Lancet series ‘Advancing Early Childhood Development: from Science to Scale’ (Britto et al., 2017; Daelmans et al., 2017; Richter et al., 2017), to UNICEF’s Early Moments Matter for Every Child report and the launched Nurturing Care Framework for Early Childhood Development, led by UNICEF and the World Health Organization (WHO) and supported by the Partnership for Maternal Newborn and Child Health and Early Childhood Development Action Network (UNICEF, 2017; WHO and UNICEF, 2018).

There is now an opportunity to translate this global attention into large- scale implementation in multiple countries. Analyses of the features of global public health networks which influence their effectiveness in driving action against target challenges have identified the global political context, growth in number of actors and developments in early childhood development metrics, as favourable, but also significant ongoing challenges – notably framing and governance (Shiffman et al., 2016; Shawar and Shiffman, 2017).

In 2016–2017, the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine undertook a participatory mixed-methods impact and process evaluation of 39 interventions across the Saving Brains portfolio. Its primary aim was to understand programming, policy and research lessons learned for scaling interventions across contexts (Milner et al., 2016). Using the UNICEF and WHO Nurturing Care Framework terminology, 84% of interventions in the portfolio focused on responsive caregiving; of them, 63% were delivered through the health system, 25% through early learning facilities and 12% in the community. Among all interventions, 49% focused on nutrition and/or health, and a smaller proportion (9%) on child safety and security (Milner et al., 2016). We suggest three ways in which the Saving Brains portfolio points towards opportunities to strengthen action and overcome challenges related to implementation at scale.

1 Extending networks and supporting leadership development with scaling in mind

Saving Brains invests in teams in low- and middle-income countries whose members come from diverse professional backgrounds representing a range of sectors, and in proposals which integrate scientific, social and business models (Saving Brains, 2018). While a number of other early childhood development networks are now supported by major funders, Saving Brains is unique in its deliberate drawing-in of new actors, including academics, to explore implementation and transition to scale in diverse settings. Networks in early childhood need to expand to include consumers of information, not just generators, so that evidence can have a greater impact in implementation.

Qualitative feedback through evaluation of the Saving Brains portfolio also highlighted the value of investing in local leadership development for early childhood development. Saving Brains offered teams from low- and middle-income countries a structured leadership development programme during proposal development and the grant cycle. This included webinars and workshops, access to a broad range of technical experts and, to varying degrees, peer-to-peer learning through Saving Brains Community meetings. Moving forward, increased opportunities for peer-to-peer learning and investment in leadership development beyond the time limitations of grant cycles will be important to support scaling.

2 Framing challenges with greater clarity and striving towards solutions

‘Framing’ or ‘the generation of internal consensus on the definition of the problem and solutions’ has been identified as a challenge to the effectiveness of global early childhood development networks in driving progress (Shawar and Shiffman, 2017). The field has a history of inconsistent nomenclature, variable definitions and arguably artificial dichotomies (such as health ‘vs’ education, development ‘vs’ disability, child survival ‘vs’ development). A key strength of the Saving Brains portfolio, reflected in qualitative feedback, was that it provided a ‘common language’ through training and reporting requirements.

As one manager of early childhood programmes at a leading international NGO put it, ‘Saving Brains really shook the field up … helped us to speak a common language.’ For example, shared knowledge around the ‘human capital’ agenda and rationale for investment in early childhood development was considered by a number of stakeholders as important to advocacy across sectors within their country contexts (Milner et al., 2016).

However, there remained lack of clarity on some issues, with a particular challenge being a disconnect between language used by researchers and those involved in implementation. For example, researchers tend to discuss broad intervention types (for example ‘parenting programmes’) or specific curricula, whereas implementers are keen to talk about specific intervention components (Milner et al., 2016; Britto et al., 2017). As Yousafzai and Aboud have previously suggested (2014), as emphasis in policy and programming shifts there is a need for clearer definition of the ‘what’ and ‘how’ of implementation. Critical intervention components need to be described practically and with greater granularity.

Greater consensus on key definitions of both the challenge and solutions, wrapping these into clearly described ‘packages’ which can be adapted to context, will be important to ensure that the ‘ask’ for policymakers and programmers with primary responsibility for implementation is clear. The Early Moments Matter for Every Child report (UNICEF, 2017) and the Nurturing Care for Early Childhood Development framework (WHO and UNICEF, 2018) are important opportunities towards unifying our voice.

3 Improving measurement for impact and accountability

Saving Brains has contributed to recent progress in global child development metrics, including support for development of population-level measures such as the WHO-led Indicators for Infant and Young Child Development and the Caregiver Reported Early Development Index (McCoy et al., 2016). However, measurement across diverse settings remains a major challenge as emphasis shifts to implementation at scale and there is a need to explore, describe and measure the process of implementation (Yousafzai and Aboud, 2014).

Saving Brains developed a monitoring and evaluation framework for grant recipients structured around a portfolio-level ‘theory of change’ which included contextual factors, inputs, outputs and outcomes in intervention implementation, and required grant recipients to track indicators. Qualitative feedback from teams was that this was important and led to consideration of factors (such as policy context) that would not otherwise have been taken into account at an early stage of implementation design. However, many challenges were also identified, including an over-reliance on parental report for measuring outcomes, inconsistent processes for the use of measurement tools across settings, limitations in the range of outcomes measured, and emphasis on short-term cross-section outcomes (Milner et al., 2016). The framework did allow for early signals of potential impact that could be validated with subsequent, larger phases of support (Radner et al., 2018).

Stakeholders within the Saving Brains evaluation also highlighted the importance of communicating child development outcomes in a way that is accurate yet meaningful to stakeholders who are not immersed in the early childhood field. Specifically, interim measures to communicate progress on the pathway towards impact were considered important, given that it takes time to measure long-term outcomes in child development. Measurements need to be both accurate and feasible at scale.

Photo: Joop Rubens/Kidogo

A growing partnership

Since the portfolio evaluation outlined in this paper, the Saving Brains partnership has grown (Saving Brains, 2018): with further investments, over 50 additional interventions are now being designed and tested. Saving Brains provides useful learnings, but no silver bullets: to improve scale-up of early childhood development interventions with impact in diverse settings requires engagement beyond traditional networks, including the non-specialist policy and programming community, as well as definition of decision points in programme design and implementation. Evidence to inform decision points is needed to guide common questions raised by those responsible for implementation including cadres, intervention content, costs and how to routinely measure coverage, quality and outcomes for improved accountability in tracking progress towards targets.

References can be found in the PDF version of the article.

Also in this edition of Early Childhood Matters

Think Future – a gathering of unlike minds in support of early years innovation Innovation Edge is a grantmaking and investment platform focused on the early years. We source and support unconventional ideas that seek to positively transform foundational life experiences for the 4… Read more Read full ECM article
IDELA: leveraging child-centred evidence to change policy, practice and investment As investments in young children increase, fundamental questions remain about which approaches will produce the best outcomes for the most children. Holistic and common metrics are needed to meaningfully compare… Read more Read full ECM article
Childcare from the perspective of women informal workers Women informal workers across the world have set out their demands for quality public childcare services through a campaign organised by the research-action-policy network WIEGO (Women in Informal Employment: Globalizing… Read more Read full ECM article
Moving the needle on employer- supported childcare: from business case research to action In both developed and developing countries, new parents facing the challenge of accessing reliable and quality childcare often have to make a difficult decision – whether to stay in the… Read more Read full ECM article
Why water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) are fundamental to early childhood development WaterAid is an international not-for-profit organisation fighting to make clean water, decent toilets and good hygiene normal for everyone, everywhere. We transform millions of lives every year. But why is… Read more Read full ECM article
Pollution and child development Pollution is the largest environmental cause of disease and death in the world today. Pollution is responsible for 9 million deaths per year – 16% of all deaths worldwide –… Read more Read full ECM article
Lifelong impact of nutrition in the first thousand days after conception Chronic non-communicable diseases such as Type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease and obesity are reaching epidemic proportions worldwide, accompanied by severe impairment of quality of life and huge cost of medical… Read more Read full ECM article
It takes a city: making early childhood a strategic priority in Tel Aviv When our Urban95 programme began to work with the Municipality of Tel Aviv-Yafo, we initially thought about what programmes and activities the municipality might implement. We have since come to… Read more Read full ECM article
É preciso o apoio de toda uma cidade: primeira infância é prioridade estratégica em Tel Aviv Quando nosso programa Urban95 começou a atuar em conjunto com o município de Tel Aviv-Yafo, primeiramente consideramos quais programas e atividades a administração municipal poderia implementar. Desde então, entendemos que… Read more Read full ECM article
Urban95: מתכננים ערים לבני האדם הצעירים ביותר ערים יכולות להיות מקום נפלא לגדול בו, אך הן מהוות אתגר רציני להתפתחות בריאה של ילדים. יוזמת Urban95 של קרן ברנרד ון ליר מבקשת לייצר שינויים קבועים בנופים העירוניים ובהזדמנויות… Read more Read full ECM article