شؤون الطفولة المبكرة 2018

دروس في السياسة العامة لتعزيز وتقوية القوى العاملة في مجال مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة

ميشيل نيومان، زميل أول، مارك رولاند، مدير البرامج، النتائج من أجل التنمية، واشنطن العاصمة، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

على الرغم من الزخم المتنامي لتعزيز تنمية الطفولة المبكرة في جميع أنحاء العالم، فإن العديد من البلدان تواصل الكفاح من أجل توفير خدمات تعليمية، وصحية، وحماية اجتماعية جيدة، لجميع الأطفال الصغار وعائلاتهم (اليونسكو، 2017، اليونيسيف، 2017). يعتمد تحسين جودة تجارب الطفولة المبكرة على تعزيز المهارات، والتطوير المهني، وظروف العمل لأولئك الذين يعملون مع الأطفال الصغار. ومع ذلك، غالباً ما يتم التقليل من قيمة العاملين في مجال مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة، ويتقاضون أجوراً متدنية، ويتم إعدادهم بصورة غير كافية (أوربن وآخرون.، 2011؛ منظمة العمل الدولية، 2012؛ نيومان وآخرون.، 2015). وهذا يثير عددًا من الأسئلة حول كيفية دعم العاملين في مجال مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة بفعالية: ما الذي يحتاج إليه مهنيو مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة والموظفون المساعدون في العمل ليتمكنوا من النجاح في أدوارهم؟ ما الذي يحفز أعضاء قوة العمل في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة في عملهم اليومي؟ ما هي السياسات اللازمة لدعم قوة عاملة مؤهلة ومستقرة على نطاق واسع؟

للإجابة على هذه الأسئلة، قامت مبادرة قوة العمل في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة مؤخراً بإجراء ثلاث دراسات قطرية متعمقة حول القوى العاملة في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة في البيرو وجنوب أفريقيا وأوكرانيا. مبادرة قوة العمل في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة هي جهد عالمي مشترك مع أصحاب المصلحة يرأسه كل من “النتائج من أجل التنمية ورابطة خطوة بخطوة الدولية” للترويج لخدمات عالية الجودة ومنصفة من خلال التركيز على أولئك الذين يعملون مع العائلات والأطفال الصغار، وكذلك أولئك الذين يشرفون ويراقبون العاملين في هذا المجال. تدعم مبادرة قوة العمل في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة العمل التحليلي الدقيق، وتطوير أدوات وموارد جديدة، وجهود التواصل القوية لتبادل أفضل الممارسات من خلال مركز المعرفة والندوات عبر الإنترنت، وأنشطة التعلم بين صناع السياسات والممارسين والعلماء، مع التركيز على التبادل بين الجنوب-والجنوب والشمال-والجنوب.

ألقت الدراسات الضوء على التحديات التي تؤثر على جودة وتزويد القوى العاملة في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة وتحديد التوصيات للتغلب على هذه العقبات في كل بلد. ركزت كل دراسة قُطرية على أعضاء محددين من القوى العاملة في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة التي تدعم الأطفال الصغار وعائلاتهم. لقد قمنا بدراسة برنامج الزيارة المنزلية في كونا ماس في بيرو (جوزيفسون وآخرون، 2017)، الخدمات الصحية في 1000 يوم الأولى في جنوب أفريقيا (هاتيبوغلو، 2018)، وبرامج ماقبل المدرسة في أوكرانيا (بوتشا وآخرون.، 2018). في كل بلد، أجرت فرق البحث مقابلات رئيسية ومجموعات نقاش مع مجموعة من العاملين في مجال مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة والأهالي وواضعي السياسات المحليين والوطنيين وممثلي المنظمات التدريبية والمهنية، ثم قامت بتحليل هذه البيانات باستخدام أساليب نوعية. حيثما أمكن، تم دمج بيانات التكلفة في التحليل. معاً، تقدم هذه الدراسات الثلاث مجموعة من الدروس عبر البلاد لإثراء الجهود الهادفة إلى تحسين سياسات القوى العاملة في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة في سياقات متنوعة.

إن أدوار ومسؤوليات العاملين في مجال مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة في كل من الدول التي قمنا بدراستها مختلفة تمامًا – شأنها في ذلك شأن المحيط الذي يعملون به. وهي تختلف من حيث الفئة العمرية المستهدفة، سواء أكانوا يعملون في المنازل أو المراكز أو المدارس، ودرجة شكلية العمل، وأنواع الخدمات المقدمة. على سبيل المثال، في البيرو، يُعد الزائرون المنزليون في برنامج كونا ماس من المتطوعين المعينين محليًا الذين يسافرون إلى المنازل في المناطق الريفية، لتيسير أنشطة غير رسمية وتنموية مع أطفال تقل أعمارهم عن 3 سنوات، في حين أن معلمي رياض الأطفال في أوكرانيا هم من المهنيين المدربين تدريباً عالياً والذين يعملون داخل مؤسسة نظام التعليم المبكر الوطني الممول من القطاع العام. في جنوب أفريقيا، تتطور أدوار العاملين الصحيين المجتمعيين بهدف تنفيذ خدمات ال1000 يوم الأولى من خلال دمج الرسائل الوالدية ورسائل التحفيز المبكر في مهامهم الحالية المتعلقة بصحة الأم والطفل.

على الرغم من هذه الاختلافات، فإن العاملين في مجال الطفولة المبكرة في البلدان الثلاث التي تمت دراستهم يتشاركون في عدة تحديات:

1 توسيع الأدوار والمسؤوليات

في الوقت الذي يتولى فيه العاملون في مجال مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة في الخطوط الأمامية مسؤوليات جديدة مهمة لتعزيز تنمية الطفل، فإنهم يحتاجون إلى أشكال جديدة من الدعم والتوجيه.

في البلدان الثلاثة، تتوسع أدوار أولئك الذين يعملون مع الأطفال الصغار وتصبح مسؤولياتهم أكثر تعقيدًا. في جنوب إفريقيا، على سبيل المثال، يُطلب من العاملين الصحيين المجتمعيين معرفة العديد من الموضوعات التي تتراوح ما بين رعاية ما قبل الولادة وحديثي الولادة وإدارة الأمراض المزمنة. كجزء من التركيز على الأيام الألف الأولى، تدعو السياسة الوطنية للتنمية المتكاملة للطفولة المبكرة التي أُدخلت مؤخراً إلى دمج رسائل وأنشطة التحفيز المبكرة في الزيارات المنزلية والمجتمعية مع الأسر (جمهورية جنوب أفريقيا، 2015). لقد برزت أسئلة حول أفضل السبل لضمان حصول العاملين الصحيين المجتمعيين على المهارات والدعم للقيام بهذه المهام الإضافية بفعالية، بما في ذلك كيفية توسيع نطاق تركيزها من تقديم الخدمات الصحية ورصد النمو لتشمل “تنمية الرعاية”. في أوكرانيا، كان هنالك مؤخراً تحولاً في السياسة العامة حول إدراج الأطفال ذوي الاحتياجات التعليمية الخاصة في رياض الأطفال العادية الأمر الذي كان صعباً على المعلمين أن يحسنوا من أدائهم بدون تدريب مناسب أثناء الخدمة أو عدم وجود عدد كافٍ من مساعدي التدريس. في كل من بيرو وأوكرانيا، حدد العاملون في مجال مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة التواصل وإشراك الوالدين كمجال يحتاجون فيه إلى المزيد من التدريب والتوجيه لتنفيذ أعمالهم بفعالية.

2 الحاجة إلى المزيد من التدريب العملي المستمر والإشراف

إن تحسين الوصول إلى التدريب ومدى صلته بالواقع بالنسبة للعاملين في مجال مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة في الخطوط الأمامية غير كافٍ دون الاهتمام بمشرفيهم ومرشديهم.

يتعلم العاملون في الخطوط الأمامية بشكل أفضل عندما يكون التدريب عمليًا ومفيدًا ويُعَزز بشكل منتظم (ميتر وبوتشا، 2018). في أوكرانيا، حيث يحصل المدرسون في مرحلة رياض الاطفال على التدريب بشكل منتظم أثناء الخدمة كل خمس سنوات، علمنا أنه على الرغم من أن هذه الدورات غالباً ما تعتمد على المحاضرات، فإن المعلمين يهتمون أكثر بفرص التعلم من أقرانهم. في جنوب أفريقيا، حيث تتنوع مستويات العاملين الصحيين الاجتماعيين من حيث مستويات التعليم النظامي، يجب أن تكون مواد التدريب أكثر عملية وأقل نظريّة. بالإضافة إلى تحسين الوصول إلى التدريب المناسب، ليكونوا عاملين مؤثرين في مجال مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة، يستفيد العاملون في الخطوط الأمامية من الدعم المنتظم والفعال من المشرفين والموجهين في هذا المجال. الدعم المستمر، بما في ذلك الإشراف الداعم، والتدريب، والتوجيه، مهم بشكل خاص للمشاركين المساعدين، الذين قد يكون لديهم تعليم محدود وإعداد أولي (ميتر وبوتشا، 2018). ومع ذلك، من الشائع أن يركز المشرفون والمدراء على الامتثال أكثر من التركيز على دعم وتدريب العاملين في الخطوط الأمامية. في أوكرانيا، الخبراء في مجال المنهجيات والذين هم المدرسين ذوي الخبرة الذين يقدمون الدعم والتوجيهات المنتظمة للمعلمين المبتدئين – هم في وضع جيد لتوفير التوجيه التربوي حول مجموعة من الموضوعات، بما في ذلك العمل مع الأطفال ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة، ولكنهم أيضًا بحاجة إلى الوصول إلى المعلومات والتدريب المحدثين. وكما أشار أحد مدربي المدرسين: “خلال سنة، وحتى نصف سنة، يصبح كل ما يُرى أو يُسمع من قبل مدرس رياض الأطفال في الغرفة من الطراز القديم. إنه مثل الهاتف المحمول.” تقدم البيرو نموذجًا محتملاً. أعرب الزائرين المنزليين في دراستنا عن تقديرهم للمحتوى الغني والمشاركة الفعالة في تقديم الدورات التدريبية، وكذلك التركيز على الدعم المستمر والإشراف الذي يتلقونه من الموظفين الإقليميين. يرافق المشرفون الإقليميون الزائرين المنزليين في زيارتين كل شهر لمراقبة عملهم ومناقشة أي تحديات وتقديم الملاحظات والتوجيهات.

الصورة: من برنامج كونا ماس / cunamas.gob.pe

3 ظروف العمل اليومية الصعبة

على الرغم من أن العاملين في مجال مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة عَبّروا عن دافع جوهري قوي للقيام بعملهم، إلا أنهم يواجهون ظروف عمل يومية صعبة.

ينظر العاملون في مجال مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة إلى أنفسهم كعوامل تغيير إيجابية ويرون القيمة والأثر المباشرين من عملهم في تعزيز صحة وتنمية الأطفال الصغار والأسر. وبينما يتم تحفيز العاملين بعوامل غير التعويضات، يجب الحرص على عدم استغلال هذا الدافع. في جميع البلدان الثلاثة، الأجر المنخفض، وأعباء العمل الثقيلة (على سبيل المثال، عبء العمل الكبير للعاملين الاجتماعيين في البيرو وجنوب أفريقيا وأحجام الصفوف الكبيرة في أوكرانيا)، وظروف العمل الصعبة (مثل العقود قصيرة الأمد، والسفر المكثف، ومخاوف السلامة، و ساعات العمل الغير تقليدية) تؤثر على معنويات العاملين وقدرتهم على القيام بمسؤولياتهم بفعالية. واشار العاملون المجتمعيون في بيرو وجنوب أفريقيا على وجود تحديات يومية إضافية، مثل عدم كفاية المواد و / أو عدم ملائمتها (مثل الزي المدرسي والأدوات) والموارد (الهواتف المحمولة غير الملائمة وعدم كفاية بدلات النقل)، في حين أعرب معلمو رياض الأطفال في أوكرانيا عن قلقهم بشأن عبء الاوراق المفرط. في البيرو، يناضل الزائرين المنزليين من أجل الموازنة بين دورهم في برنامج كونا ماس، حيث يحصلون على رواتب قليلة، مع الحاجة إلى كسب دخل آخر للوفاء بمسؤولياتهم العائلية؛ أشار عدد من المستجيبين إلى ارتفاع معدلات تراجع الموظفين نتيجة لذلك. وكما أكد أحد الزائرين المنزليين، “الراتب قليل جدًا… يخبروننا أننا سنعمل لعشر ساعات… لكننا لا نعمل عشر ساعات. إذا أضافوا القليل [على رواتبنا] ، فلن نبحث عن خيارات أخرى.” بالاعتماد على التحدي، هنالك حاجة إلى مستويات مختلفة من الاستثمار المالي (على سبيل المثال، تميل زيادة الرواتب إلى أن تكون أكثر تكلفة من الاستثمار في مواد جديدة ). ومع ذلك، فإن تحسين ظروف العمل اليومية وكذلك معالجة سياسات الأجور ومكانة هذه المهنة من شأنه أن يعزز من معنويات الموظفين ويحسن نوعية برامج تنمية الطفولة المبكرة (منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية، 2012؛ المؤسسة الأوروبية لتحسين ظروف المعيشة والعمل، 2015).

4 المسارات المهنية المحدودة

تقوم المسارات المهنية المحدودة بتقييد التوظيف وتقيد التحسين المستمر لجودة القوى العاملة.

في البلدان الثلاثة، لا يرتبط التدريب والخبرات الإضافية بزيادات الأجور أو الفرص للتقدم الوظيفي. بجانب انخفاض الأجور والمكانة، أدت المسارات المهنية المحدودة إلى ظهور مشاكل في توظيف والاحتفاظ بالعمال المؤهلين. في أوكرانيا، على سبيل المثال، من الصعب توظيف مرشحين مؤهلين للتدريس في رياض الاطفال، لا سيما في المناطق الحضرية حيث توجد بدائل توظيف أكثر جاذبية وأفضل أجراً. حيث يقوم عدد كبير من المعلمين المدربين على نظام التعليم قبل المدرسي بتجنب دخول ذلك المجال على الإطلاق بعد التخرج. على الرغم من وجود مسارات للمدرسين وموظفي الدعم للتقدم في نظام التعليم قبل المدرسي، إلا أنه من الناحية العملية، هنالك فرص قليلة للتقدم الوظيفي. على الرغم من أن بعض الزائرين المنزليين في البيرو عبروا عن رأي مفاده أنهم ينمون بشكل شخصي ومهني فقط من خلال العمل مع البرنامج، إلا أن هناك حوافز قليلة بالعادة (مثل فرص التقدم وأن يصبحوا موظفين محترفين في البرنامج) لا تشجع العاملين الاجتماعيين على الاستثمار في تحسين مهاراتهم بمرور الوقت. أن بناء المسارات المهنية المرتبطة بالاعتراف المالي وغير المالي أمر مهم لتوظيف القوى العاملة والاحتفاظ بها وتحسين جودتها بشكل مستمر (ميتر وبوتشا ، 2018).

مواجهة التحديات

مع تزايد عدد البلدان التي تسعى إلى توسيع وتحسين خدمات الطفولة المبكرة، لم يعد من الممكن تجاهل الدور الأساسي للقوى العاملة. قد تبدو قضايا القوى العاملة الأربعة هذه مهمة صعبة، خاصة إذا كان صانعو السياسات يعملون في كثير من الأحيان في إطار قيود الميزانية المقيدة. في حين أن كل من هذه المجالات مهم لضمان قوة عاملة قوية ومدعومة، فعلى كل دولة أن تتخذ قرارات صعبة في تحديد المجالات ذات الأولوية.

لحسن الحظ، من المتوقع أن تؤدي الاستثمارات الإضافية في التدريب، وتقديم تعويضات أفضل، والدعم المستمر إلى خلق بعض الكفاءات من خلال تقليل معدل تراجع الموظفين وخسارة العمال المدربين الذين يغادرون (أو لا يدخلون) هذا المجال. وفي الوقت نفسه، من المرجح أن يقوم العمال المتحفزين والذين يتم تعويضهم بشكل أفضل بتنمية العلاقات المستقرة والإيجابية مع الأطفال الصغار التي تعتبر شديدة الأهمية للنهوض بالتنمية الصحية والتعليم المبكر.

يمكن العثور على المراجع في نسخة الPDF من المقالة.

في هذا العدد من "شؤون الطفولة المبكرّة" تجدون أيضًا

Think Future – a gathering of unlike minds in support of early years innovation Innovation Edge is a grantmaking and investment platform focused on the early years. We source and support unconventional ideas that seek to positively transform foundational life experiences for the 4… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
IDELA: leveraging child-centred evidence to change policy, practice and investment As investments in young children increase, fundamental questions remain about which approaches will produce the best outcomes for the most children. Holistic and common metrics are needed to meaningfully compare… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Childcare from the perspective of women informal workers Women informal workers across the world have set out their demands for quality public childcare services through a campaign organised by the research-action-policy network WIEGO (Women in Informal Employment: Globalizing… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Moving the needle on employer- supported childcare: from business case research to action In both developed and developing countries, new parents facing the challenge of accessing reliable and quality childcare often have to make a difficult decision – whether to stay in the… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Why water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) are fundamental to early childhood development WaterAid is an international not-for-profit organisation fighting to make clean water, decent toilets and good hygiene normal for everyone, everywhere. We transform millions of lives every year. But why is… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Pollution and child development Pollution is the largest environmental cause of disease and death in the world today. Pollution is responsible for 9 million deaths per year – 16% of all deaths worldwide –… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Lifelong impact of nutrition in the first thousand days after conception Chronic non-communicable diseases such as Type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease and obesity are reaching epidemic proportions worldwide, accompanied by severe impairment of quality of life and huge cost of medical… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
É preciso o apoio de toda uma cidade: primeira infância é prioridade estratégica em Tel Aviv Quando nosso programa Urban95 começou a atuar em conjunto com o município de Tel Aviv-Yafo, primeiramente consideramos quais programas e atividades a administração municipal poderia implementar. Desde então, entendemos que… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
It takes a city: making early childhood a strategic priority in Tel Aviv When our Urban95 programme began to work with the Municipality of Tel Aviv-Yafo, we initially thought about what programmes and activities the municipality might implement. We have since come to… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Urban95: criando cidades para os mais jovens As cidades podem ser lugares maravilhosos para crescer, mas podem também apresentar sérios obstáculos para o desenvolvimento saudável das crianças. A iniciativa Urban95 da Fundação Bernard van Leer pretende promover… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"

Early Childhood Matters 2018

Policy lessons for strengthening and supporting the early childhood workforce

Michelle Neuman, Senior Fellow, Mark Roland, Program Director, Results for Development (R4D), Washington DC, USA

Despite growing momentum to promote early childhood development around the world, many countries continue to struggle with providing quality education, health, and social protection services for all young children and their families (UNESCO, 2017; UNICEF, 2017). Improving the quality of early childhood experiences depends on strengthening the skills, professional development, and employment conditions of those who work with young children. Yet often early childhood workers are undervalued, underpaid, and inadequately prepared (Urban et al., 2011; International Labour Organization (ILO), 2012; Neuman et al., 2015). This raises a number of questions about how to effectively support early childhood workers: what do early childhood professionals and paraprofessionals need to know and be able to do in order to succeed in their roles? What motivates members of the early childhood workforce in their day-to-day work? What policies are needed to support a qualified, stable workforce at scale?

To address these questions, the Early Childhood Workforce Initiative (ECWI) recently carried out three in-depth country studies of the early childhood workforce in Peru, South Africa, and Ukraine. ECWI is a global, multi- stakeholder effort co-chaired by R4D and the International Step by Step Associaton (ISSA) to promote high-quality, equitable services through a focus on those who work with families and young children, as well as those who supervise and mentor practitioners. ECWI supports rigorous analytical work, the development of new tools and resources, robust communication efforts to share best practices through an online knowledge hub and webinars, and learning activities among policymakers, practitioners and scholars, with an emphasis on both South–South and North–South exchange.

The studies shed light on the challenges affecting the quality and supply of the early childhood workforce and identify recommendations to overcome these bottlenecks in each country. Each country study focused on specific members of the early childhood workforce who support young children and their families. We studied the Cuna Más home visiting programme in Peru (Josephson et al., 2017), the First 1000 Days health services in South Africa (Hatipoglu, 2018), and preschool programmes in Ukraine (Putcha et al., 2018). In each country, the research teams carried out key informant interviews and focus groups with a mix of early childhood practitioners, parents, local and national policymakers, and representatives of training and professional organisations, and then analysed these data using qualitative methods. Where feasible, cost data were incorporated into the analysis. Together, these three studies offer a set of cross-country lessons to inform efforts to improve policies for the early childhood workforce in diverse contexts.

The roles and responsibilities of the early childhood workers in each country we studied are quite different – as are the settings in which they work. They vary in terms of the target age group served, whether they work in homes, centres or schools, the degree of formality of their role, and the types of services delivered. For example, in Peru home visitors in the Cuna Más programme are locally recruited volunteers who travel to homes in rural areas facilitating non-formal, developmental activities with children under age 3, whereas kindergarten teachers in Ukraine are highly trained professionals working within an established, publicly funded national early education system. In South Africa, the roles of community health workers (CHWs) are evolving with the goal of implementing the First 1000 Days services by integrating parenting and early stimulation messages into their existing maternal and child health tasks.

Despite these differences, the early childhood workers we studied in these three countries share several challenges:

1 Expanding roles and responsibilities

As frontline early childhood workers take on important new responsibilities to promote child development, they need new forms of support and guidance.

In all three countries, the roles of those who work with young children are expanding and their responsibilities are becoming more complex. In South Africa, for example, CHWs are required to know about and cover topics ranging from prenatal and newborn care to the management of chronic diseases. As part of the emphasis on the first 1000 days, the recently introduced National Integrated Early Childhood Development Policy calls for the integration of early stimulation messages and activities into home and community visits with families (Republic of South Africa, 2015). Questions have emerged about how best to ensure that CHWs have the skills and support to effectively carry out these additional tasks, including how to expand their focus from providing health and growth monitoring services to include ‘nurturing care’. In Ukraine, a recent policy shift toward the inclusion of children with special education needs within mainstream kindergartens has been challenging for teachers to do well without relevant in-service training or sufficient numbers of teaching assistants. In both Peru and Ukraine, early childhood workers identified engaging and communicating with parents as an area where they needed more training and guidance to carry out their work effectively.

2 More practical ongoing training and supervision needed

Improving access to and relevance of training for frontline early childhood workers is inadequate without attention to their supervisors and mentors.

Frontline workers learn best when training is practical, hands-on, and reinforced on a regular basis (Mitter and Putcha, 2018). In Ukraine, where preschool teachers have regular access to in-service training every five years, we learned that while these sessions are often lecture-based, teachers are much more interested in opportunities to learn from their peers. In South Africa, where CHWs have varied levels of formal education, training material needs to be more practical and less theoretical. In addition to better access to relevant training, to be effective early childhood practitioners, frontline workers benefit from regular, effective support from supervisors and mentors in the field. Ongoing support, including supportive supervision, coaching, and mentoring, is particularly important for paraprofessionals, who may have limited education and initial preparation (Mitter and Putcha, 2018). Yet, it is common for supervisors and managers to focus more on compliance than on supporting and coaching frontline workers. In Ukraine, methodologists – experienced teachers who provide regular classroom guidance and support to more novice teachers – are well positioned to provide pedagogical guidance on a range of topics, including working with children with special needs, but they too need access to updated information and training. As one teacher trainer noted, ‘In a year, even in half a year, everything seen or heard by the preschool teacher in the room becomes already old-fashioned. It’s like a cell phone.’ Peru offers a potential model. Home visitors in our study expressed their appreciation for the rich content and engaging delivery of training sessions, as well as the focus on continuous support and supervision they received from regional staff. Regional supervisors accompany home visitors on two visits each month to observe their work, discuss any challenges, and provide feedback and guidance.

Photo: Cuna Más programme/cunamas.gob.pe

3 Challenging day-to-day working conditions

Although early childhood workers expressed strong intrinsic motivation to do their jobs, they face challenging day-to-day working conditions.

Early childhood workers view themselves as positive change agents and see value and direct impact from their work in fostering the health and development of young children and families. While workers are motivated by factors other than compensation, care must be taken not to exploit this motivation. Across all three countries, low pay, heavy workloads (for example, large caseloads for community workers in Peru and South Africa and large class sizes in Ukraine), and challenging working conditions (such as short contracts, extensive travel, safety concerns, non-traditional working hours) affect workers’ morale and their ability to carry out their responsibilities effectively. Community workers in Peru and South Africa cited additional day-to-day challenges, such as insufficient and/or inadequate materials (for example uniforms, kits) and resources (inadequate cell phone and transportation allowances), whereas kindergarten teachers in Ukraine expressed concerns about the burden of excessive paperwork. In Peru, home visitors struggle to balance their Cuna Más role, for which they receive only a small stipend, with the need to earn other income and meet their family responsibilities; several respondents cited increasing turnover rates as a result. As one home visitor asserted, ‘The stipend is very little … the ten hours they tell you … we don’t work ten. If they added a little more [to our stipend], we wouldn’t look for other options.’ Depending on the challenge, differing levels of financial investment are needed (for example, wage increases tend to be more costly than investment in new materials). However, improving day-to-day working conditions as well as addressing remuneration and status of the profession would probably boost staff morale and improve the quality of early childhood development programmes (OECD, 2012; Eurofound, 2015).

4 Limited career pathways

Limited career pathways constrain recruitment and continuous quality improvement of the workforce.

Across the three countries, additional training and experience are not clearly linked with remuneration increases or opportunities for career advancement. Along with low pay and status, limited career pathways have led to problems in recruiting and retaining qualified workers. In Ukraine, for example, it is difficult to recruit qualified candidates to teach in preschool, particularly in urban areas where there are more attractive, better-paid employment alternatives. A substantial number of trained preschool teachers choose not to enter the field at all after graduating. Despite the existence of pathways for teachers and support staff to advance within the preschool education system, in practice there are few opportunities for career progression. Although some home visitors in Peru expressed the view that they were growing both personally and professionally just by working with the programme, there are typically few incentives (such as opportunities to advance and become professional programme staff) for community workers to invest in improving their skills over time. Building career pathways that are linked to both financial and non-financial recognition is important for recruitment, retention, and continuous quality improvement of the workforce (Mitter and Putcha, 2018).

Addressing the challenges

As more and more countries seek to expand and improve early childhood services, the essential role of the workforce can no longer be overlooked. These four workforce issues may seem daunting to address, especially given that policymakers are often working within constrained budget envelopes. While each of these areas is important for ensuring a strong and supported workforce, individual countries will need to make difficult decisions in determining which ones to prioritise.

Fortunately, additional investments in training, better compensation, and ongoing support are expected to create some efficiencies by reducing turnover and the loss of trained workers who leave (or never enter) the field. At the same time, well-compensated and motivated workers are more likely to foster stable, positive relationships with young children that are critical to promoting healthy early development and learning.

References can be found in the PDF version of the article.

Also in this edition of Early Childhood Matters

Think Future – a gathering of unlike minds in support of early years innovation Innovation Edge is a grantmaking and investment platform focused on the early years. We source and support unconventional ideas that seek to positively transform foundational life experiences for the 4… Read more Read full ECM article
IDELA: leveraging child-centred evidence to change policy, practice and investment As investments in young children increase, fundamental questions remain about which approaches will produce the best outcomes for the most children. Holistic and common metrics are needed to meaningfully compare… Read more Read full ECM article
Childcare from the perspective of women informal workers Women informal workers across the world have set out their demands for quality public childcare services through a campaign organised by the research-action-policy network WIEGO (Women in Informal Employment: Globalizing… Read more Read full ECM article
Moving the needle on employer- supported childcare: from business case research to action In both developed and developing countries, new parents facing the challenge of accessing reliable and quality childcare often have to make a difficult decision – whether to stay in the… Read more Read full ECM article
Why water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) are fundamental to early childhood development WaterAid is an international not-for-profit organisation fighting to make clean water, decent toilets and good hygiene normal for everyone, everywhere. We transform millions of lives every year. But why is… Read more Read full ECM article
Pollution and child development Pollution is the largest environmental cause of disease and death in the world today. Pollution is responsible for 9 million deaths per year – 16% of all deaths worldwide –… Read more Read full ECM article
Lifelong impact of nutrition in the first thousand days after conception Chronic non-communicable diseases such as Type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease and obesity are reaching epidemic proportions worldwide, accompanied by severe impairment of quality of life and huge cost of medical… Read more Read full ECM article
It takes a city: making early childhood a strategic priority in Tel Aviv When our Urban95 programme began to work with the Municipality of Tel Aviv-Yafo, we initially thought about what programmes and activities the municipality might implement. We have since come to… Read more Read full ECM article
É preciso o apoio de toda uma cidade: primeira infância é prioridade estratégica em Tel Aviv Quando nosso programa Urban95 começou a atuar em conjunto com o município de Tel Aviv-Yafo, primeiramente consideramos quais programas e atividades a administração municipal poderia implementar. Desde então, entendemos que… Read more Read full ECM article
Urban95: מתכננים ערים לבני האדם הצעירים ביותר ערים יכולות להיות מקום נפלא לגדול בו, אך הן מהוות אתגר רציני להתפתחות בריאה של ילדים. יוזמת Urban95 של קרן ברנרד ון ליר מבקשת לייצר שינויים קבועים בנופים העירוניים ובהזדמנויות… Read more Read full ECM article