شؤون الطفولة المبكرة 2018

الوصول إلى أصغر الأطفال: نهج لتكامل النظام الصحي

كاتيلين جراي، مساعد أكبر للسياسات والدفاع، برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة، واشنطن العاصمة، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، ماثيو فراي، المدير المساعد لبرنامج صحة وتغذية الأم والطفل، البرنامج العالمي المتكامل لرعاية الطفولة المبكرة/تنمية الرعاية، برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة، واشنطن العاصمة، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، ديبيجيت سن، أخصائي تنمية طفولة مبكرة إقليمي وأخصائي تغذية، برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة، جوهانسبرغ، جنوب أفريقيا

إن حجر الأساس للصحة والرفاه مدى الحياة يوضع خلال السنوات الأولى، من فترة الحمل حتى عيد الميلاد الثالث للطفل. يؤكد العلم الناشئ على الفوائد المتغيرة للحياة في تقديم الرعاية الجيدة، والتحفيز، وفرص التعلم طوال هذه الفترة: من المرجح أن ينمو الأطفال ليكونوا أكثر صحة وأفضل تعليمًا، مع تحسين النتائج الاجتماعية والاقتصادية. ومع ذلك، لا تزال الاستثمارات في تنمية الطفولة المبكرة تركز في معظم المحيطات ذات الموارد المنخفضة في المقام الأول على الأطفال في سن رياض الأطفال وتفوّت الفرصة الحاسمة خلال السنوات الأولى، حيث يمكن التخفيف من التأخير في النمو – أو تجنبه بشكل كامل.

منذ عام 2012 ، عمل برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة على سد هذه الفجوة من خلال دعم نهج يستخدم الأنظمة الصحية لزيادة خدمات تنمية الطفولة المبكرة للأطفال الأصغر سناً. بدأ هذا العمل في عزلة نسبية، حيث غالبًا ما كان برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة صوتًا وحيدًا على المستوى الوطني، مدافعًا عن تغييرات لم يكن صانعو السياسة وغيرهم من المؤثرين مستعدين للعمل بها بشكل حاسم. لكن الأحداث التي حدثت خلال العامين المنصرمين غيرت هذا المشهد بشكل جذري وأثارت تحولًا عالميًا ووطنيًا جماعيًا لضمان أن الأطفال لا ينجون فحسب بل يزدهرون.

الابتكار للوصول إلى الأطفال الأصغر سناً

نظرًا للعمل طويل الأمد الذي قام به برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة لتحسين صحة الطفل وتغذيته، أدركنا فرصة لعنونة تنمية الطفولة المبكرة على نطاق أوسع في سياق النظام الصحي. في عام 2012، أكدت الصورة الأولية لبرامج وسياسات تنمية الطفولة المبكرة في كينيا والموزامبيق وجنوب إفريقيا ما يشتبه به برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة – بأنه خارج القطاع الصحي، هناك عدد قليل من الخدمات التي تم تصميمها للأطفال دون سن 3 سنوات. في العام التالي، بدأنا في تكييف نماذج تطوير الطفولة المبكرة للنظام الصحي وتجريب إطار منظمة الصحة العالمية واليونيسيف رعاية تنمية الطفل لتدريب مقدمي الخدمات في كينيا والموزامبيق.

على الرغم من تقدم برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة في إثبات جدوى هذا النهج الجديد وزيادة حجم البرنامج تدريجيًا، إلا أن هذه التدخلات للأطفال الصغار لم يتم النظر إليها على نطاق واسع باعتبارها مشكلة بالنسبة لقطاع الصحة، والتوسع الكبير المدعوم بإلتزام وسياسات حكومية واضحة كان اقتراحاً على المدى البعيد. ومع ذلك، في عام 2016، أكدت سلسلة لانسيت الخاصة بالتنمية المبكرة للطفل أن النظام الصحي هو نقطة الدخول الرئيسية للوصول إلى الأطفال الصغار والقائمين على رعايتهم. كما أدخلت مفهوم “تنمية الرعاية” – الذي يشمل الصحة والتغذية والرعاية سريعة الاستجابة والتعليم المبكر والأمن والسلامة – كمجموعة حرجة من التدخلات المتصلة ببعضها البعض واللازمة لتحقيق نتائج إنمائية مثالية. سلطت السلسلة الضوء على الحاجة الملحة لإدماج هذه التدخلات في الخدمات الصحية الروتينية. كما ساهمت في تسريع عمل برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة، مما حفزت الشراكات مع منظمة الصحة العالمية واليونيسف والعديد من الحكومات الوطنية التي أصبحت مهتمة بشكل متزايد بهذا الجهد.

نموذج التكيُف

بناء على الأدلة والخبرة واحتياجات الدولة، يستخدم برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة النظام الصحي كمدخل لدعم العائلات لتمكين أطفالها من الازدهار، من خلال نهج ثلاثي المحاور:

  • دمج خدمات الطفولة المبكرة في جميع عناصر النظام الصحي، من تدريب مقدمي الخدمات، إلى توفير الدعم والإشراف، لضمان قيام نظم المعلومات بالتقاط البيانات ذات الصلة
  • ﺗﻮﺳﻴﻊ ﻗﺎﻋﺪة اﻷدﻟﺔ لتوحيد ﻗﻄﺎع اﻟﺼﺤﺔ ﻟﺒﺮﻣﺠﺔ ﺗﻄﻮﻳﺮ اﻟﻄﻔﻮﻟﺔ اﻟﻤﺒﻜﺮة ﻓﻲ الأوضاع ﻤﻨﺨﻔﻀﺔ اﻟﻤﻮارد وﻧﺸﺮ اﻟﺪروس اﻟﻤﺴﺘﻔﺎدة
  • تعزيز البيئة التمكينية عن طريق تضمين محتوى تنمية الطفولة المبكرة في السياسات والمبادئ التوجيهية والمناهج التدريبية وخطط العمل والميزانيات الحكومية.

ما بين عامي 2011 و 2017 قام برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة بتطبيق برنامج كبير لتقوية الأنظمة الصحية في جنوب أفريقيا، حيث كانت التنمية في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة عنصراً حاسماً في الحد الأدنى من مجموعة الخدمات المقدمة من خلال الخدمات المجتمعية. يدعم برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة حالياً الجهود الحكومية الرامية إلى توسيع نطاق خدمات تنمية الطفولة المبكرة القائمة على النظم الصحية في ساحل العاج(كوت ديفوار) وكينيا والموزامبيق وزامبيا. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة ساهم في دمج الرعاية في 11 نظامًا صحيًا في كينيا والموزامبيق. يعمل كلا البلدين على تكثيف الدمج، ليصل في نهاية المطاف إلى ما لا يقل عن 2 مليون نسمة بحلول عام 2020. وفي تنفيذ هذا النهج الخاص بالنظم الصحية، يعمل برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة بشكل وثيق مع صناع السياسات والموظفين الفنيين والمجتمع المدني لمواءمة التدخلات مع الهياكل والموارد الموجودة، وضمان أن تكون الحكومة في مقعد السائق.

إنشاء أنظمة قوية لتقديم التنمية و الرعاية

غالباً ما يكون العاملون في مجال الرعاية الصحية هم مقدمو الخدمات الأوليون والوحيدون الذين يتفاعلون بانتظام مع الأطفال الأقل من 3 سنوات والقائمين على رعايتهم. يهدف منهج برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة إلى تزويد هؤلاء الموظفين بالتدريب والأدوات والموارد اللازمة لدمج الرعاية في الخدمات الصحية المجتمعية والمرافق. أولاً، يبني برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة كادر من المدربين والمشرفين الحكوميين من خلال دمج المعلومات حول تنمية الطفولة المبكرة في التدريب على حزم الرعاية المعيارية، مثل برنامج الإدارة المتكاملة لأمراض الطفولة في منظمة الصحة العالمية. بالإضافة إلى كونه فعّالاً من حيث التكلفة، يعزز هذا النموذج ملكية الحكومة ويعزز إدراج تنمية الرعاية كعنصر أساسي في النظام الصحي.

يقوم هؤلاء الموظفون المدربون ببناء قدرة مقدمي الخدمات على دمج المحتوى حول تنمية الرعاية في تقديم الخدمات الروتينية – بما في ذلك الرعاية السابقة للولادة وما بعد الولادة، وتطعيمات الأطفال ورصد النمو، وخدمات طب الأطفال، والتدخلات المجتمعية. فعلى سبيل المثال، يتعلم موظفو المرافق الصحية تقديم المشورة بشأن أنشطة اللعب والتواصل الملائمة للعمر، وتقييم مراحل التطور، وإحالة الأطفال الذين يشتبه بتأخرهم في النمو إلى الأخصائيين. كما يصل مقدمو الخدمات المجتمعية إلى الأطفال ومقدمي الرعاية خلال الزيارات المنزلية ودورات اللعب المنظمة في مناطق الانتظار في المرافق الصحية.

تدريب مقدمي الخدمات ليس سوى الخطوة الأولى. كما يدعم برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة التوجيه المنظم، حيث يراقب الموجهون مباشرة مهارات الإرشاد الخاصة بالموظفين المدربين ويوفرون التدريب في مجالات الضعف. في كينيا والموزامبيق، نعمل مع الحكومة على الدمج الرسمي للإشراف على تطوير الطفولة المبكرة في النظام الصحي من خلال تحديث معايير وأدوات الإشراف الداعمة.

تعزيز الأدلة والتعلم من أجل تنمية الطفولة المبكرة في القطاع الصحي

لا تزال قاعدة الأدلة لتقديم خدمات تنمية الطفولة المبكرة من خلال القطاع الصحي محدودة، وقد لا تكون العديد من الدراسات الحالية قابلة للتطبيق لأنها تحدث في إطار بحث يخضع لرقابة صارمة. علاوة على ذلك، تركز القليل من البحوث التي تم إنجازها حتى الآن على أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى. يعمل برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة لمعالجة هذه الفجوات. في الموزامبيق، أجرينا ثلاثة تقييمات على جدوى وقابلية دمج المحتوى على تنمية الرعاية في الزيارات المنزلية والخدمات القائمة على المرافق، وكذلك تنفيذ جلسات اللعب في مناطق انتظار المرافق الصحية. ووفقاً للنتائج، فإن التكامل ليس مجدياً فقط في الأوضاع منخفضة الموارد، بل إنه يحسّن تصورات مقدمي الرعاية لجودة الخدمة. وقد ولّد ذلك الإرادة السياسية لتوسيع نطاق هذه الخدمات المتكاملة على الصعيد الوطني. كما أنها خلقت اهتمامًا دوليًا.

بالتعاون مع شركاء محليين في كينيا، يقوم برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة بإجراء المزيد من الأبحاث لتقييم أثر تكامل القطاع الصحي على معرفة وسلوكيات وممارسات مقدمي الرعاية، فضلاً عن نمو الطفل والنتائج التنموية. كما ستقوم الدراسة بتقدير فاعلية التكامل من حيث التكلفة وتقديم التعليم من أجل التوسع المتوقع، بقيادة الحكومات الوطنية، إلى مناطق وبلدان جديدة.

بناء بيئة سياسة تمكينية

الإرادة السياسية والتزام الحكومة على جميع المستويات أمر ضروري لوضع خدمات تنمية الطفولة المبكرة داخل النظام الصحي على نطاق واسع. من خلال الدعوة، يهدف برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة إلى دمج تنمية الرعاية في السياسات والمبادئ التوجيهية الوطنية ذات الصلة. ففي كينيا، على سبيل المثال، ركزت الاستراتيجيات والمبادئ التوجيهية السابقة لصحة الطفل في المقام الأول على بقاء الطفل. دعا برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة لتطوير سياسة صحة الأطفال حديثي الولادة والمراهقين كدليل شامل لجميع خدمات صحة الطفل، وتأكيد أن تشمل السياسة محتوى عن تنمية الرعاية للأطفال من الولادة إلى سن 3.

لترجمة تغيير السياسة إلى تقديم الخدمات، كان من الضروري تعديل المناهج الدراسية ومساعدة الوظائف. في الموزامبيق، أسفرت جهود الدعوة التي أطلقها برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة عن إدراج محتوى تنمية الطفولة المبكرة في مناهج التدريب السابقة على الخدمة للممرضين والعاملين الصحيين الاجتماعيين، والتي تخضع الآن للمراجعة. وهذا مهم بشكل خاص لتحقيق الاستدامة والوصول إلى نطاق واسع، لأن التدريب أثناء الخدمة يكون مكلفًا. كما سهّل برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة سلسلة من المشاورات في كينيا والموزامبيق من أجل تعزيز المحتوى المتعلق بالفحص والمشورة التنموية في مجموعات البرامج المعدلة الخاصة بالإدارة المتكاملة لأمراض الطفولة، التي توجه تقديم الخدمات الصحية.

الصورة: جوب روبنز/مؤسسة كونراد إن. هيلتون

أخيرا، يدافع برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة عن دمج خدمات الرعاية في نظم جمع البيانات الروتينية. على سبيل المثال، عملنا مع وزارة الصحة في الموزامبيق لمراجعة سجلات بيانات صحة الأم والطفل لتشمل المؤشرات ذات الصلة. لهذا أهمية ثنائية. أولاً، سيمكن الحكومة وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين من تتبع – ولأول مرة – عدد الأطفال الذين يتلقون خدمات تنمية الطفولة المبكرة، فضلاً عن عدد الأطفال الذين يشكون من تأخر في النمو. ثانياً، يساعد جهاز وزارة الصحة المعتمد رسمياً مقدمي الخدمات في رؤية تنمية الطفولة المبكرة كجزء من عملهم الروتيني، بدلاً من التدخل المُروج من قبل الشركاء بالإضافة إلى جمع البيانات.

الزخم العالمي والالتزام الوطني

على المستويين العالمي والوطني، التحول في المنظور واضح: فالتنمية في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة تُعتبر على نحو متزايد محوراً هاماً لقطاع الصحة. تستعد العديد من الحكومات لقيادة إدخال أو توسيع نطاق دمج الرعاية في النظام الصحي، وهي على استعداد لتخصيص الموارد لأجندة “الازدهار”. يقدم منهج برنامج التكنولوجيا الملائمة في مجال الصحة خريطة طريق للحكومات والشركاء المهتمين بهذا العمل.

نحن ندرك أن الأنظمة الصحية لا يتم إصلاحها بين عشية وضحاها. لكن الدلائل الناشئة والقيادة القطرية والمجتمع العالمي المتوائم تمكّن من إحراز تقدم كبير في الوصول إلى الأطفال والقائمين على رعايتهم في سنواتهم الأولى.

يمكن العثور على المراجع في نسخة الPDF من المقالة.

في هذا العدد من "شؤون الطفولة المبكرّة" تجدون أيضًا

Think Future – a gathering of unlike minds in support of early years innovation Innovation Edge is a grantmaking and investment platform focused on the early years. We source and support unconventional ideas that seek to positively transform foundational life experiences for the 4… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
IDELA: leveraging child-centred evidence to change policy, practice and investment As investments in young children increase, fundamental questions remain about which approaches will produce the best outcomes for the most children. Holistic and common metrics are needed to meaningfully compare… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Childcare from the perspective of women informal workers Women informal workers across the world have set out their demands for quality public childcare services through a campaign organised by the research-action-policy network WIEGO (Women in Informal Employment: Globalizing… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Moving the needle on employer- supported childcare: from business case research to action In both developed and developing countries, new parents facing the challenge of accessing reliable and quality childcare often have to make a difficult decision – whether to stay in the… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Why water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) are fundamental to early childhood development WaterAid is an international not-for-profit organisation fighting to make clean water, decent toilets and good hygiene normal for everyone, everywhere. We transform millions of lives every year. But why is… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Pollution and child development Pollution is the largest environmental cause of disease and death in the world today. Pollution is responsible for 9 million deaths per year – 16% of all deaths worldwide –… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Lifelong impact of nutrition in the first thousand days after conception Chronic non-communicable diseases such as Type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease and obesity are reaching epidemic proportions worldwide, accompanied by severe impairment of quality of life and huge cost of medical… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
É preciso o apoio de toda uma cidade: primeira infância é prioridade estratégica em Tel Aviv Quando nosso programa Urban95 começou a atuar em conjunto com o município de Tel Aviv-Yafo, primeiramente consideramos quais programas e atividades a administração municipal poderia implementar. Desde então, entendemos que… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
It takes a city: making early childhood a strategic priority in Tel Aviv When our Urban95 programme began to work with the Municipality of Tel Aviv-Yafo, we initially thought about what programmes and activities the municipality might implement. We have since come to… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Urban95: criando cidades para os mais jovens As cidades podem ser lugares maravilhosos para crescer, mas podem também apresentar sérios obstáculos para o desenvolvimento saudável das crianças. A iniciativa Urban95 da Fundação Bernard van Leer pretende promover… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"

Early Childhood Matters 2018

Reaching the youngest children: an approach for health system integration

Katelin Gray, Senior Policy and Advocacy Associate, PATH, Washington DC, USA, Matthew Frey, Associate Director, Maternal Child Health and Nutrition Program, Global Integrated ECD/Nurturing Care Program Lead, PATH, Washington DC, USA, Debjeet Sen, Regional ECD and Nutrition Specialist, PATH, Johannesburg, South Africa

The foundation for lifelong health and well-being is laid during the earliest years, from pregnancy through a child’s third birthday. Emerging science underscores the life-altering benefits of providing good care, stimulation, and opportunities for learning throughout this period: children are more likely to grow up to be healthier, better-educated adults, with improved socioeconomic outcomes. In most low-resource settings, however, early childhood development investments still focus primarily on preschool-age children and miss the critical window of opportunity during the early years, when developmental delays may be mitigated – or avoided altogether.

Since 2012, PATH has been working to fill this gap by championing an approach that uses health systems to scale-up early childhood development services for the youngest children. This work began in relative isolation, with PATH often a lone voice at the national level, advocating for changes that policymakers and other influencers were not yet ready to act on decisively. But events over the past two years have dramatically altered this landscape and sparked a collective global and national shift to ensure that children not only survive, but thrive.

Innovating to reach the youngest children

Because of PATH’s long-standing work to improve child health and nutrition, we recognised an opportunity to address early childhood development more broadly in the context of the health system. In 2012, an initial landscaping of early childhood development programmes and policies in Kenya, Mozambique and South Africa confirmed what PATH suspected – that beyond the health sector, few services existed that were designed for children under 3 years old. The following year, we began adapting early childhood development models for the health system and piloting the World Health Organization’s (WHO) and UNICEF’s Care for Child Development framework to train service providers in Kenya and Mozambique.

Although PATH made progress in demonstrating the feasibility of this new approach and gradually increasing programme size, these interventions for young children were still not widely seen as an issue for the health sector, and a major expansion supported by clear government policies and commitment was a distant prospect. In 2016, however, The Lancet’s landmark series on early child development affirmed the health system as the primary entry point to reach young children and their caregivers. It also introduced the concept of ‘nurturing care’ – comprising health, nutrition, responsive caregiving, early learning, and security and safety – as a critical set of linked interventions needed to achieve optimal developmental outcomes. The series highlighted the urgent need to integrate these interventions into routine health services. It also accelerated PATH’s work, spurring partnerships with WHO, UNICEF, and many national governments who were becoming increasingly interested in this effort.

An adaptive model

Based on evidence, experience and country need, PATH uses the health system as an entry point for supporting families to enable their children to thrive, through a three-pronged approach:

  • integrating early childhood services into all elements of a health system, from training service providers, to providing support and supervision, to ensuring that information systems capture relevant data
  • expanding the evidence base for health sector integration of early childhood development programming in low-resource settings and disseminating lessons learned
  • strengthening the enabling environment by including early childhood development content in policies, guidelines, training curricula, and government work plans and budgets.

Between 2011 and 2017, PATH implemented a large health systems strengthening programme in South Africa, where early childhood development was a critical component of the minimum package of services provided through community-based services. PATH currently supports government efforts to scale-up health systems-based early childhood development services in Côte d’Ivoire, Kenya, Mozambique, and Zambia. Notably, PATH has contributed to the integration of nurturing care into 11 district health systems in Kenya and Mozambique. Both countries are scaling-up integration, ultimately reaching a population of at least 2 million by 2020. In implementing this health systems approach, PATH works closely with policymakers, technical staff and civil society to align interventions with existing structures and resources, and to ensure that government is in the driver’s seat.

Establishing strong nurturing care service delivery systems

Healthcare workers are often the first and only service providers who regularly interact with children under 3 and their caregivers. PATH’s approach aims to give these staff the training, tools and resources necessary to integrate nurturing care into community- and facility-based health services. First, PATH builds a cadre of government trainers and supervisors by incorporating information on early childhood development into training on standard packages of care, such as WHO’s Integrated Management of Childhood Illness (IMCI). In addition to being cost-effective, this model enhances government ownership and reinforces the inclusion of nurturing care as an essential component of the health system.

These trained staff then build the capacity of service providers to integrate content on nurturing care into routine service delivery – including antenatal and postnatal care, child immunisations and growth monitoring, paediatric services, and community-based interventions. Health facility staff, for example, learn to provide counselling on age-appropriate play and communication activities, assess developmental milestones, and refer children with suspected developmental delays. Community-based service providers also reach children and caregivers during home visits and structured play sessions in health facility waiting areas.

Training service providers is just the first step. PATH also supports structured mentoring, whereby mentors directly observe the counselling skills of trained staff and provide coaching on areas of weakness. In Kenya and Mozambique, we are working with the government to formally incorporate supervision on early childhood development into the health system by updating supportive supervision norms and tools.

Bolstering evidence and learning for early childhood development in the health sector

The evidence base for delivering early childhood development services through the health sector is still limited, and many existing studies may not be applicable because they take place in tightly controlled research settings. Moreover, little research completed to date focuses on sub-Saharan Africa. PATH is working to address these gaps. In Mozambique, we have conducted three evaluations on the feasibility and acceptability of integrating content on nurturing care into home visits and facility-based services, as well as implementing play sessions in health facility waiting areas. According to findings, not only is integration feasible in low-resource settings, it improves caregivers’ perceptions of service quality. This has generated the political will to scale-up such integrated services nationally. It has also created interest internationally.

Working with local partners in Kenya, PATH is conducting further research to evaluate the impact of health sector integration on the knowledge, attitudes and practices of caregivers, as well as child growth and developmental outcomes. The study will also estimate the cost-effectiveness of integration and offer learnings for anticipated expansion, led by national governments, into new regions and countries.

Building an enabling policy environment

Political will and government commitment at all levels are essential to
place early childhood development services within the health system at scale. Through advocacy, PATH aims to integrate nurturing care into relevant national policies and guidelines. In Kenya, for example, previous child health strategies and guidelines primarily focused on child survival. PATH advocated for the development of the Neonatal, Child and Adolescent Health Policy as an overarching guide for all child health services, and ensured that the policy included content on nurturing care for children from birth to age 3.

To translate policy change into service delivery, it is critical to modify curricula and job aids. In Mozambique, PATH’s advocacy efforts resulted in the inclusion of early childhood development content in the pre-service training curricula of nurses and community health workers, which are now under revision. This is particularly important for sustainability and reaching scale, as in-service training is expensive. PATH also facilitated a series of consultations in Kenya and Mozambique to strengthen content on developmental screening and counselling in revised IMCI programme packages, which guide the delivery of health services.

Photo: Joop Rubens/Conrad N. Hilton Foundation

Finally, PATH advocates for the integration of nurturing care services into routine data collection systems. For example, we worked with the Ministry of Health in Mozambique to revise maternal and child health data registers to include relevant indicators. The significance of this is twofold. First, it will enable the government and other stakeholders to track – for the first time – the number of children receiving early childhood development services, as well as the number of children with suspected developmental delays. Second, a formally approved Ministry of Health tool helps service providers view early childhood development as a part of their routine work, rather than a partner- promoted intervention with parallel data collection.

Global momentum and national commitment

At global and national levels, a shift in perspective is clear: increasingly, early childhood development is viewed as an important focus of the health sector. Many governments are poised to lead the introduction or expansion of nurturing care integration into the health system and are prepared to commit resources to the ‘thrive’ agenda. PATH’s approach offers a road map for governments and partners interested in this work.

We recognise that health systems are not overhauled overnight. But emerging evidence, country leadership and an aligned global community are enabling significant progress to be made in reaching children and their caregivers in their earliest years.

References can be found in the PDF version of the article.

Also in this edition of Early Childhood Matters

Think Future – a gathering of unlike minds in support of early years innovation Innovation Edge is a grantmaking and investment platform focused on the early years. We source and support unconventional ideas that seek to positively transform foundational life experiences for the 4… Read more Read full ECM article
IDELA: leveraging child-centred evidence to change policy, practice and investment As investments in young children increase, fundamental questions remain about which approaches will produce the best outcomes for the most children. Holistic and common metrics are needed to meaningfully compare… Read more Read full ECM article
Childcare from the perspective of women informal workers Women informal workers across the world have set out their demands for quality public childcare services through a campaign organised by the research-action-policy network WIEGO (Women in Informal Employment: Globalizing… Read more Read full ECM article
Moving the needle on employer- supported childcare: from business case research to action In both developed and developing countries, new parents facing the challenge of accessing reliable and quality childcare often have to make a difficult decision – whether to stay in the… Read more Read full ECM article
Why water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) are fundamental to early childhood development WaterAid is an international not-for-profit organisation fighting to make clean water, decent toilets and good hygiene normal for everyone, everywhere. We transform millions of lives every year. But why is… Read more Read full ECM article
Pollution and child development Pollution is the largest environmental cause of disease and death in the world today. Pollution is responsible for 9 million deaths per year – 16% of all deaths worldwide –… Read more Read full ECM article
Lifelong impact of nutrition in the first thousand days after conception Chronic non-communicable diseases such as Type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease and obesity are reaching epidemic proportions worldwide, accompanied by severe impairment of quality of life and huge cost of medical… Read more Read full ECM article
It takes a city: making early childhood a strategic priority in Tel Aviv When our Urban95 programme began to work with the Municipality of Tel Aviv-Yafo, we initially thought about what programmes and activities the municipality might implement. We have since come to… Read more Read full ECM article
Urban95: creating cities for the youngest people Cities can be wonderful places to grow up, but they can also pose serious challenges for healthy child development. The Bernard van Leer Foundation’s Urban95 initiative seeks to make lasting… Read more Read full ECM article
A Better Start: tackling inequity through community-wide action on early childhood development Developmental scientist Clyde Hertzman famously documented how ‘social environments and experiences get under the skin early in life in ways that affect the course of human development’ (Hertzman and Boyce,… Read more Read full ECM article