شؤون الطفولة المبكرة 2018

دعم اللاجئين، دعم الأهالي النازحين داخلياً والمهمشين في المجتمعات المضيفة في المنطقة العربية

غسان عيسى، المنسق العام، لارا عودة ، المنسق الإقليمي لأمراض الطفولة المبكرة، كوزيت معلوف، المنسق الإقليمي للصحة العقلية، يوسف حجار، كبير مستشاري ورشة الموارد العربية، بيروت، لبنان

أدت الاضطرابات الأخيرة في المنطقة العربية، ولا سيما الحرب في سوريا، إلى لجوء الملايين من الناس إلى البلدان المجاورة أو نزوحهم داخل بلدانهم. يعطي النهج الإنساني الأولوية للاحتياجات العاجلة مثل المأوى والغذاء والخدمات الطبية؛ فيما عدا ذلك، لا تحظى الأسر بالعادة بالدعم الدائم لتوفير الرعاية المناسبة لأطفالها الصغار. وللتصدي لهذه الفجوة، سيتم تعزيز برنامج رعاية والدية في مجال الصحة والتعليم المبكر والحماية، وذلك بعد تقييم نموذج حديث في لبنان والأردن.

يبدأ تاريخ تطوير برنامج الرعاية الوالدية في مجال الصحة والتعليم المبكر والحماية بسنوات من العمل من قبل ورشة الموارد العربية على مفاهيم ومبادئ تنمية الطفولة المبكرة، والممارسات الجيدة مثل الدمج ودور اللعب في التعلم. على مدى العقود الثلاثة منذ تأسيسها، نجحت ورشة الموارد العربية في استيعاب مقاربة اللغة العربية بأسلوب شامل ومتكامل في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة. تستضيف ورشة الموارد العربية الآن الشبكة العربية لتنمية الطفولة المبكرة، ويضم أعضاء من المسؤولين الحكوميين الوزاريين والأكاديميين والمنظمات غير الحكومية والخبراء والممارسين من جميع أنحاء المنطقة.

تعني كلمة “شمولية” اعتبار الطفل ككيان موحد، ويعني “التكامل” معالجة احتياجات الأطفال بطريقة متسقة. يستند نهج ورشة الموارد العربية الشامل والمتكامل على مبادئ بيئة الطفل وعلم النفس التنموي وحقوق الطفل، بما في ذلك تطوير قدرات الطفل الجسدية والعاطفية والإدراكية والاجتماعية وغيرها كقدرات مترابطة. أن الطفولة هي مرحلة كاملة من التطور بحد ذاتها؛ وهذا التطور يحدث في تسلسل معروف جيدًا، على الرغم من أن وتيرة ذلك تختلف من طفل إلى آخر.
تم تقريب النهج الشامل والمتكامل في تعليم الكبار والأطفال، وهو دليل تم نشره باللغة العربية في عام 2002. وفي السنوات التالية، انتقل برنامج تطوير الطفولة المبكرة للهيئة العربية لتطوير الطفولة المبكرة لتطوير موارد تدريبية إضافية باللغة العربية للوالدين والعاملين في مجال مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة، سواء الموارد المترجمة والمكيفة أو التي تم إنتاجها من قبل فرق محلية من المهنيين، تشمل نماذج يتم تنفيذها بشكل مباشر في مشاريع بناء القدرات مع المستفيدين المستهدفين.

برنامج الرعاية الوالدية في مجال الصحة والتعليم المبكر والحماية: التعامل مع الآباء والأمهات معاً

قام فريق من خبراء الطفولة المبكرة، والأكاديميين والعاملين في المجال من مصر وفلسطين ولبنان، بتطوير برنامج الرعاية الوالدية في مجال الصحة والتعليم المبكر والحماية وتجربته لأول مرة في المراكز المجتمعية في لبنان ومصر بين عامي 2012 و 2014. اتبع الآباء والأمهات التدريب معًا كوحدة عائلية مع أطفالهم. تم تقسيم الآباء المشاركين إلى مجموعتين وفقا لأعمار أطفالهم، ومجموعة واحدة للحوامل والأطفال إلى سن 3 ومجموعة أخرى لعمر 4-6.

تكوّن النموذج من مجموعة منظمة من 15 جلسة تدريبية تفاعلية أسبوعية، تستغرق كل منها ساعتين إلى ثلاث ساعات، وتتناول موضوعات عدة كالحمل؛ الرضاعة الطبيعية؛ التغذية المتوازنة؛ المشاكل الغذائية ومؤشراتها؛ النظافة الشخصية، بما في ذلك كيفية تدريب الأطفال على استخدام المرحاض؛ السلامة والحوادث؛ التطعيمات؛ والعدوى والأمراض؛ العدالة والإدماج؛ والتواصل بين الوالدين؛ والتواصل مع الأقران؛ تعزيز السلوك الإيجابي؛ “كل طفل لديه ذكاء محدد– ما هو ذكاء طفلك”؛ اللعب؛ التفكير النقدي، ومهارات التعلم والاستعلام، والجاهزية للحضانة ورياض الأطفال والمدرسة.

توفر هذه الدورات معًا إطارًا من المفاهيم والمهارات والتدريبات لتعزيز معرفة الوالدين بأهمية السنوات الأولى؛ ورعاية نهج كلي وشامل تجاه تربية الأطفال؛ وتشجيع احترام إمكانيات ومهارات ووتيرة التنمية المتنوعة للأطفال؛ وتطوير الممارسات الجيدة في مجالات الصحة والتغذية والتعليم المبكر وإدارة المخاطر؛ وتعزيز ممارسات الرعاية الإيجابية، والحد من التوتر وتجنب العنف؛ وتحسين تأثير المجتمع على صحة الأطفال وتعليمهم وأمانهم؛ وبناء قدرة الوالدين بأن يصبحوا قدوة ويدعموا الأهالي الآخرين.

برنامج الرعاية الوالدية في مجال الصحة والتعليم المبكر والحماية ابتكاري في المنطقة العربية لأنه:

  • يعتمد نهجاً شاملاً ومتكاملاً وكلياً يشمل الصحة والتغذية والتعليم المبكر والرعاية الاجتماعية والحماية المادية بطريقة متسقة وتفاعلية.
  • يعالج استمرارية الطفل من قبل الولادة إلى عمر 6 سنوات.
  • يتعامل مع تحديات إشراك الآباء والأمهات كزوجين معا كمقدمي الرعاية والمربين الأساسيين.
  • يدمج الأهداف الاستراتيجية للاكتشاف المبكر والتدخل المبكر والتحفيز المبكر.

ويتمثل جزء من الخطة في توسيع نطاق التنفيذ من خلال مقاربة الاهالي عن طريق إشراك مجموعة من الأزواج المتخرجين (يُطلق عليهم اسم سند) في العمل المدفوع الأجر، بعد تزويدهم بتدريب إضافي على كيفية المساعدة، مما يمنحهم شعوراً بالقيمة، بالإضافة إلى الدخل المتواضع. وبهذه الطريقة، ستزيد أعداد المستفيدين وستنخفض تكلفة الوحدة بشكل كبير بعد عدة جولات من التنفيذ.

واستُكمِلت الدروس المستفادة من التجارب الأسبوعية والمناقشات مع الأهالي المشاركين في التجربة بإجراء دراسة لتقييم فعالية برنامج الرعاية الوالدية في مجال الصحة والتعليم المبكر والحماية باستخدام استبيانات قبل وبعد التنفيذ، ومجموعات تركيز مع الأهالي، والتقارير المقدمة من المدربين. ووجد التقييم أثرًا واضحًا على معرفة المشاركين وممارساتهم ومواقفهم في معظم الموضوعات، وحددوا طرقًا مختلفة لتحسين البرنامج. وشملت هذه المناقشات في كل جلسة مناقشات أولية مع جميع الاهالي قبل تقسيمهم إلى مجموعتين عاملتين وفقا لأعمار أطفالهم، والتأكد من أن كل مجموعة لديها مدرب واحد ومدربة واحدة، لعرض المساواة بين الجنسين للأزواج المشاركين.

التكيّف للعمل مع العائلات اللاجئة

في الوقت الحالي، أوضحت أزمة اللاجئين المتنامية في المنطقة الحاجة إلى التكيف مع برنامج الرعاية الوالدية في مجال الصحة والتعليم المبكر والحماية أيضًا للأهالي الذين هم من اللاجئين أو النازحين داخليًا أو الأشخاص المستضعفين في المجتمعات المضيفة. وبالتعاون مع الشركاء، أضافت ورشة الموارد العربية خمس دورات إضافية لدمج عنصر الرعاية والدعم النفسيين لمقدمي الرعاية، بما في ذلك الصحة العقلية والرفاه؛ كالكآبة؛ والحزن؛ والاضطرابات النفسية؛ والعنف.

وكان هنالك تغيير آخر يعكس العمل مع اللاجئين وهو فتح البرنامج أمام الآباء أو الأمهات الوحيدين وأفراد الأسرة الممتدة الذين يعملون كمقدمي رعاية. عندما كان كلا الوالدين متواجدين، كان إشراكهم بشكل متساوٍ كزوجين يمثل تحديًا بالنظر إلى الثقافة السائدة، ومع ذلك فقد ثبت أنه ممكن، ويعزز من الأنماط الإيجابية في تربية الأبناء وممارسات المساواة بين الجنسين.

تم تنفيذ الجولة الأولى من البرنامج مع عائلات اللاجئين بين عامي 2016 و 2018 في لبنان (بالعمل مع منظمتين غير حكوميتين، جمعية البرامج النسائية وجمعية براعم) وفي الأردن (مع منظمة بلان انترناشيونال). وقد تضمنت اللاجئين السوريين والفلسطينيين من سوريا والاهالي من المجتمعات المضيفة اللبنانية والأردنية الفقيرة، الذين أصبحوا أكثر ضعفاً من جراء تدفق اللاجئين.

الصورة: ورشة الموارد العربية

ما مجموعه، 110 من الأهالي تم تدريبهم خلال المرحلة الأولى من البرنامج: 70 منهم في أربع مجموعات في مركزين في لبنان، و 40 منهم في الأردن عبر مجموعتين في مركز واحد. ومن بين هؤلاء، تم اختيار 12 من الآباء المتخرجين ليصبح كل منهم سند- ثمانية في لبنان وأربعة في الأردن – وتم تدريبهم على مهارات المساعدة الأساسية. في المرحلة الثانية، قاموا بتدريب 120 مشاركًا جديدًا باستخدام مقاربة الاهالي.

تم إجراء تقييم لكلتا المرحلتين، حيث يتكون هذا التقييم من ثلاثة أجزاء. أولاً، استبيان مع الأهالي لجمع بيانات كمية عن أربعة متغيرات: الحالة الصحية العقلية المؤخرة للوالدين (وفقًا لقياس مؤشر الرفاه لمنظمة الصحة العالمية – 5)؛ ومستويات التوتر لديهم (باستخدام – مؤشر الإجهاد الأبوي)؛ والأسلوب التأديبي الذي يتبعونه مع أطفالهم (استبيان النمط التأديبي)؛ والسلوك العاطفي والسلوكي للطفل (الوضع الاجتماعي-العاطفي: استبيان نقاط القوة والصعوبات). وثانياً، تم إجراء ﻣﻧﺎﻗﺷﺗﯾن ﻟﻣﺟﻣوﻋﺔ اﻟﺗرﮐﯾز (ﻣﺎ ﻗﺑل اﻟﺗﻧﻔﯾذ وﺑﻌد اﻟﺗﻧﻔﯾذ) ﻣﻊ الأهالي ﻟﻟﺣﺻول ﻋﻟﯽ ﺑﯾﺎﻧﺎت ﻧوﻋﯾﺔ أﮐﺛر ﺗﻔﺻﯾﻼً ﻋن اﻟﺗﻐﯾرات الحاصلة ﻓﻲ معرفتهم وﻣﻣﺎرﺳاﺗﮭم.

وأخيرًا، للتحكم في الاختلافات المحتملة في المتغيرات عبر المجموعات، استكشف “تقييم الإخلاص” ما إذا كانت الرسائل الرئيسية للمشروع تُعطى لجميع المتدربين بالطريقة نفسها. وبشكل عام، يختبر التقييم فعالية نهج برنامج الرعاية الوالدية في مجال الصحة والتعليم المبكر والحماية من خلال قياس التأثير على الجوانب المختلفة لمعارف الأهالي المشاركين ومواقفهم وممارساتهم. في وقت كتابة هذا التقرير، يتم تجميع البيانات وإعدادها ليتم تحليلها.

خطط مستقبلية

وفقًا لنتائج التقييم، سيقوم فريق ورشة الموارد العربية بإعادة زيارة برنامج الرعاية الوالدية في مجال الصحة والتعليم المبكر والحماية لتحديد مجالات التحسين من حيث محتوى البرنامج ومنهجيته وطرق تسليمه. كما ستنظر ورشة الموارد العربية في كيفية تنقيح أدوات البحث – على سبيل المثال، لتمكين التقييم الكمي المنفصل للأمهات والآباء، والمزيد من التقييم الكمي لتنمية الطفل باستخدام استبيان المراحل والأعمار، وتقييم معدل الاستبقاء.

ومع ذلك، فإن قيمة البرنامج واضحة بالفعل بما فيه الكفاية أن المزيد من الوكالات المانحة قد تقدمت لدعم ورشة الموارد العربية لتنفيذ برنامج الرعاية الوالدية في مجال الصحة والتعليم المبكر والحماية على نطاق أوسع. ستعمل الشبكة العربية لتنمية الطفولة المبكرة كأداة مثالية لتعزيز التوسع بين المزيد من البلدان العربية، والوصول إلى اللاجئين في مواقع جديدة وتطوير العدد اللازم من الأسر التي تتعامل مع نهج برنامج الرعاية الوالدية في مجال الصحة والتعليم المبكر والحماية.

يمكن العثور على المراجع في نسخة ال PDF من المقالة.

في هذا العدد من "شؤون الطفولة المبكرّة" تجدون أيضًا

Think Future – a gathering of unlike minds in support of early years innovation Innovation Edge is a grantmaking and investment platform focused on the early years. We source and support unconventional ideas that seek to positively transform foundational life experiences for the 4… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
IDELA: leveraging child-centred evidence to change policy, practice and investment As investments in young children increase, fundamental questions remain about which approaches will produce the best outcomes for the most children. Holistic and common metrics are needed to meaningfully compare… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Childcare from the perspective of women informal workers Women informal workers across the world have set out their demands for quality public childcare services through a campaign organised by the research-action-policy network WIEGO (Women in Informal Employment: Globalizing… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Moving the needle on employer- supported childcare: from business case research to action In both developed and developing countries, new parents facing the challenge of accessing reliable and quality childcare often have to make a difficult decision – whether to stay in the… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Why water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) are fundamental to early childhood development WaterAid is an international not-for-profit organisation fighting to make clean water, decent toilets and good hygiene normal for everyone, everywhere. We transform millions of lives every year. But why is… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Pollution and child development Pollution is the largest environmental cause of disease and death in the world today. Pollution is responsible for 9 million deaths per year – 16% of all deaths worldwide –… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Lifelong impact of nutrition in the first thousand days after conception Chronic non-communicable diseases such as Type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease and obesity are reaching epidemic proportions worldwide, accompanied by severe impairment of quality of life and huge cost of medical… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
It takes a city: making early childhood a strategic priority in Tel Aviv When our Urban95 programme began to work with the Municipality of Tel Aviv-Yafo, we initially thought about what programmes and activities the municipality might implement. We have since come to… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
É preciso o apoio de toda uma cidade: primeira infância é prioridade estratégica em Tel Aviv Quando nosso programa Urban95 começou a atuar em conjunto com o município de Tel Aviv-Yafo, primeiramente consideramos quais programas e atividades a administração municipal poderia implementar. Desde então, entendemos que… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"
Urban95: creating cities for the youngest people Cities can be wonderful places to grow up, but they can also pose serious challenges for healthy child development. The Bernard van Leer Foundation’s Urban95 initiative seeks to make lasting… لقراءة المزيد إقرأ المقال الكامل في "شؤون الطفولة المبكّرة"

Early Childhood Matters 2018

Supporting refugee, internally displaced and marginalised host community parents in the Arab region

Ghassan Issa, General Coordinator, Lara Aoudeh, Regional ECD Coordinator, Cosette Maalouf, Regional Mental Health Coordinator, Youssef Hajjar, Senior Advisor, Arab Resource Collective, Beirut, Lebanon

Recent upheavals in the Arab region, particularly the war in Syria, have led to millions of people taking refuge in neighbouring countries or being displaced within their own countries. The humanitarian approach prioritises urgent needs such as shelter, food and medical services; beyond these, families typically have no sustained support to provide appropriate care for their young children. To address this gap, the Health, Early learning and Protection Parenting Programme (HEPPP) is to be scaled up following an evaluation of a recent pilot in Lebanon and Jordan.

The history of HEPPP’s development starts with years of work by the Arab Resource Collective (ARC) on the concepts and principles of early childhood development, and good practices such as inclusion and the role of play in learning. Over the three decades since it was founded, ARC has succeeded in assimilating into the Arabic discourse a holistic and integrated approach to early childhood. ARC now hoststhe Arab Network for Early Child Development (ANECD), with members including government ministerial officials, academics, NGOs, experts and practitioners from across the region.

‘Holistic’ means considering the child as a unified entity, and ‘integrated’ means addressing children’s needs in a coherent way. ARC’s holistic and integrated approach is based on principles of child ecology, developmental psychology and children’s rights, including that the child’s physical, emotional, cognitive, social and other capacities develop as an interrelated whole; that childhood is a complete phase of development by itself; and that development takes place in a well-known sequence, though its pace varies from one child to another.

The holistic and integrated approach was distilled in Adults and Children Learning, a manual published in Arabic in 2002. In the following years, ARC’s early childhood development programme moved on to develop further training resources in Arabic for parents and early childhood workers, either translated and adapted or produced by local teams of professionals, involving pilots through direct implementation in capacity-building projects with the targeted beneficiaries.

HEPPP: approaching fathers and mothers together

Developed by a team of early childhood experts, academics and practitioners from Egypt, Palestine and Lebanon, HEPPP was first piloted in community centres in Lebanon and Egypt between 2012 and 2014. Fathers and mothers followed the training together, as a family unit with their children. Participating parents were divided in two groups according to the age of their children, one group for pregnancy to age 3 and the other for age 4–6.

The pilot consisted of a structured set of 15 weekly interactive training sessions, lasting two to three hours each, on the subjects of pregnancy; breastfeeding; balanced nutrition; nutritional problems and indicators; personal hygiene, including toilet training; safety and accidents; immunisations, infections and disease; equity and inclusion; communication between parents; communication with peers; reinforcing positive behaviour; ‘every child has intelligence – what
is your child’s?’; play; critical thinking, learning and inquiry-based skills; and nursery, kindergarten and school readiness.

Together, these sessions provide a framework of concepts, skills and exercises to enhance parents’ knowledge about the importance of the early years; nurture a holistic and inclusive approach towards raising children; encourage respect for children’s diverse potential, skills and pace of development; develop good practice in health, nutrition, early learning and risk management; promote positive caregiving practices, minimise stress and avoid violence; improve the community’s impact on children’s health, education and safety; and build parents’ capacity to become role models and support other parents.

HEPPP is innovative in the Arab region because:

  • it adopts a holistic, integrated and inclusive approach covering health, nutrition, early learning, social welfare and physical protection in a coherent and interactive way
  • it addresses the continuum of the child’s age from before birth to 6 years
  • it deals with the challenges of engaging fathers and mothers as couples together as the primary caregivers and educators
  • it integrates the strategic objectives of early detection, early intervention and early stimulation.

Part of the plan is to scale-up the implementation with a parent-to-parent approach by engaging selected graduate couples (to be called sanad) into paid work, after providing them with additional training on facilitation, thus giving them a sense of worth as well as a modest income. In this way the numbers of beneficiaries will increase and the unit cost will decrease exponentially after several rounds of implementation.

Lessons learned from weekly experiences and discussions with parents participating in the pilot were complemented by a study which evaluated HEPPP’s effectiveness using pre- and post-implementation questionnaires, focus groups with parents, and reports submitted by the trainers. The evaluation found a clear impact on participants’ knowledge, practices and attitudes in most topics, and identified various ways to improve the programme. These included in each session an initial group discussion with all parents before dividing them into two working groups according to their children’s age, and making sure each group had one male and one female trainer, to model gender equity to the couples participating.

Adaptation for working with refugee families

In the meantime, the developing refugee crisis in the region made clear the need to adapt HEPPP also for parents who are refugees, internally displaced or vulnerable people in host communities. In collaboration with partners, ARC added five more sessions to integrate an element of psychosocial care and support for the caregivers, covering mental health and well-being; depression; grief; psychosomatic disorders; and violence.

Another change to reflect operating in the refugee context was opening the programme to single parents and extended family members acting as caregivers. When both fathers and mothers were available, engaging them equally as couples was a challenge given the dominant culture, yet it is proving to be feasible and to enhance positive patterns in responsive parenting as well as gender equity practices.

The first round of implementation with refugee families was carried out between 2016 and 2018 in Lebanon (working with two NGOs, the Women Programs Association and Baraeem (Buds) Association) and Jordan (with Plan International). It involved Syrian and Palestinian refugees from Syria and parents from underprivileged Lebanese and Jordanian host communities, who are being made increasingly vulnerable by the influx of refugees.

Foto: Arab Resource Collective

In total, 110 parents were trained during the first phase of the programme: 70 across four groups in two centres in Lebanon, and 40 in Jordan across two groups in one centre. Of these, 12 graduate parents were then selected to become sanads – eight in Lebanon and four in Jordan – and were given training on basic facilitation skills. In a second phase, they trained 120 new participants using a parent-to-parent approach.

An evaluation of both phases has been carried out, consisting of three parts. First, a questionnaire with parents to gather quantitative data on four variables: parents’ recent mental health state (as measured by the World Health Organization’s WHO-5 Wellbeing Index); their levels of stress (using the PSI – Parental Stress Index); the disciplinary style they adopt with their child (DSQ – Disciplinary Style Questionnaire); and the child’s emotional and behavioural conduct (SDQ – Socio-Emotional Status: Strengths and Difficulties Questionnaire). Second, two focus group discussions (pre-implementation and post-implementation) were conducted with parents to obtain more in-depth qualitative data about changes in their knowledge and practice.

Finally, to control for potential differences in variables across groups, a ‘fidelity rating’ explored whether the same key messages of the project were being given to all the trainees in the same way. Overall, the evaluation tests the effectiveness of the HEPPP approach by measuring the impact on different aspects of participating parents’ knowledge, attitudes and practices. At the time of writing, the data are being compiled and prepared for analysis.

Future plans

According to the results of the evaluation, ARC’s team will re-visit HEPPP to identify areas for improvement in terms of programme content, methodology and methods of delivery. ARC will also consider how to refine research tools – for example, to enable separate quantitative evaluation of mothers and fathers, more quantitative evaluation of child development using ASQs, and evaluation of retention rate.

Nonetheless, the value of the programme is already sufficiently clear that more donor agencies have stepped forward to support ARC to implement HEPPP on a larger scale. ANECD will serve as a perfect vehicle to promote scaling-up among more Arab countries, reaching refugees in new sites and developing a critical mass of families engaged with the HEPPP approach.

References can be found in the PDF version of the article.

Also in this edition of Early Childhood Matters

Think Future – a gathering of unlike minds in support of early years innovation Innovation Edge is a grantmaking and investment platform focused on the early years. We source and support unconventional ideas that seek to positively transform foundational life experiences for the 4… Read more Read full ECM article
IDELA: leveraging child-centred evidence to change policy, practice and investment As investments in young children increase, fundamental questions remain about which approaches will produce the best outcomes for the most children. Holistic and common metrics are needed to meaningfully compare… Read more Read full ECM article
Childcare from the perspective of women informal workers Women informal workers across the world have set out their demands for quality public childcare services through a campaign organised by the research-action-policy network WIEGO (Women in Informal Employment: Globalizing… Read more Read full ECM article
Moving the needle on employer- supported childcare: from business case research to action In both developed and developing countries, new parents facing the challenge of accessing reliable and quality childcare often have to make a difficult decision – whether to stay in the… Read more Read full ECM article
Why water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) are fundamental to early childhood development WaterAid is an international not-for-profit organisation fighting to make clean water, decent toilets and good hygiene normal for everyone, everywhere. We transform millions of lives every year. But why is… Read more Read full ECM article
Pollution and child development Pollution is the largest environmental cause of disease and death in the world today. Pollution is responsible for 9 million deaths per year – 16% of all deaths worldwide –… Read more Read full ECM article
Lifelong impact of nutrition in the first thousand days after conception Chronic non-communicable diseases such as Type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease and obesity are reaching epidemic proportions worldwide, accompanied by severe impairment of quality of life and huge cost of medical… Read more Read full ECM article
It takes a city: making early childhood a strategic priority in Tel Aviv When our Urban95 programme began to work with the Municipality of Tel Aviv-Yafo, we initially thought about what programmes and activities the municipality might implement. We have since come to… Read more Read full ECM article
Urban95: creating cities for the youngest people Cities can be wonderful places to grow up, but they can also pose serious challenges for healthy child development. The Bernard van Leer Foundation’s Urban95 initiative seeks to make lasting… Read more Read full ECM article
A Better Start: tackling inequity through community-wide action on early childhood development Developmental scientist Clyde Hertzman famously documented how ‘social environments and experiences get under the skin early in life in ways that affect the course of human development’ (Hertzman and Boyce,… Read more Read full ECM article